We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay and great landlords”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Our Cosy Cottage

The front of the cottage, plenty of parking to both sides.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the cottage, plenty of parking to both sides.
Our lovely characterful kitchen. All you need in the kitchen to create a lovely meal while enjoying a glass of wine and a chat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The front of the cottage, plenty of parking to both sides.
Our lovely characterful kitchen.
All you need in the kitchen to create a lovely meal while enjoying a glass of wine and a chat.
Second bedroom on the lower floor, so cosy, so comfy!
Main bedroom,  comfy - cosy!
Main bedroom with bags of character.
Living room on the middle floor, sit and chill /play games/listen to music/watch a film - you choose
If you visit in the cooler months, imagine snuggling up in front of the wood burner reading a book.
Secluded guest garden with BBQ,childs bench and additional deck chairs for lounging!
Great views across the countryside from the guest garden. The view changes all year round.
Why not have a BBQ?!
The chateaux in Lassay les Chateaux, great tours, well worth a visit and very close by!
Lassay les Chateaux centre, incl Bars, restaurants, bakers and weekly market, buy some local cheese
A beautiful town to visit just 7 km from the cottage.
Mont St Michel lots to see, places to eat & lots of shops and don't forget your camera.!
Spa town of Bagnoles De L'orne, this is the Casino with restaurant, theatre, park and lake.
Mezangers beach in the middle of a forest, lots of activities, great for children and adults.
Bastille Day celebrations in Lassay les Chateaux -14 July each year. Different every year!
Ambrieres les Vallees, lovely local town with riverside restaurants and great fishing.
Kayaks at the Parc de Vaux, Ambrieres les Vallees - also has an open air swimming pool and bar.
Auberge (traditional French inn) in Poulay - an easy 15 minute walk. Have a night off cooking.
Our lovely old village church. Now used for funerals / weddings / mass every 2 months only.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mayenne, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
slparker1...
Ellisville, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and great landlords”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here last year and returned eagerly this August, 2016. We were not disappointed.

Located a few minutes north of the city of Mayenne and equal time south of Lassay-les-Château (with three ancient châteaux!) it's a quiet site amid beautiful towns and countryside. I'd awake, go across the road to the small store (where the owner always had our reserved baguette and chocolate croissants) and have morning coffee. Just ask him and he'll have your baguette waiting each day.

I love peace and quiet so our stay delighted me (and my wife).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kindness and friendliness of the locals
Liked least: having to return from vacation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review Stephen. It was good to see you both again and we are glad you had a nice time again. Sorry for the delay in my response but we have just returned from a short holiday of our own. Regards to both of you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fell in love with the cottage as a whole.
Liked least: That I haven't stayed here in the summer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
Thank you for lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you both stay. So pleased you had a lovely stay,
thanks again
Jan an Duncan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bill-Juli...
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Cosy”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The cottage was extremely Cosy & Charming.
Jan & Duncan were great hosts, very helpful but not intrusive.
The welcome provisions of bread, butter, cheese, cider & wine were most appreciative.
The cottage was well equipped, well maintained and nicely decorated.
It was in a quiet rural village (which we liked) but close to larger towns for shopping & in easy reach to places such as Le Mans, Mont St Michel, Rennes.
After exploring the sights on very cold days it was always a pleasure to return to Our Cosy Cottage, open a bottle of Vin Rouge and relax before cooking dinner with produce we sourced from local markets.
On our last day we awoke to a village covered in snow (our wish come true).
Thank you Jan & Duncan for a memorable week in your Cosy Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage decor.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2016
Wow, you certainly had a good time! It is always fantastic to hear that your guests have had a good time so we are delighted! It was a delight meeting you both and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind Regards Jan and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiketheBi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and Cosy”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Great little cottage, friendly hosts, comfy beds, UK TV, good Wifi. Very interesting place to stay. Village a bit quiet, but easy to get to nearby towns. Excellent cycling all around.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you stay. We hope enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind regards

Jan and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart P
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome and stay at Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After a long journey we arrived at Cosy Cottage at midnight, with Jan and Duncan there to welcome us. The cottage is small, but for two people there was plenty of space. Located in a small village, it was easy to get to all the local attractions, we LOVED the lake at Sille Le Guillaume, wonderful beach and great mountain bike trails. The whole area is so beautiful, and we especially enjoyed a visit to Bagnoles De L'Orne, a quaint town, where we enjoyed a delicious lunch then had fun playing crazy golf. Jan and Duncan were the perfect hosts. They didn't disturb us, but were there to answer any questions, and were very knowledgeable about the local area. One comment I would make, is the church bells chime on the hour and half hour, all day and night, which was a bit annoying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really good location
Liked least: Loud church bells
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
We are glad you had a good time it was lovely to have you both stay. We are surprised that the church bells bothered you as the majority of our guests don't even hear them and sleep through them, as we do. I was sorry to not have been here to get to know you both better. Hopefully we will see you again one day. Kind Regards Jan and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad you had a cosy warm stay. We hope to see you again one day on your return visit to France. Good Luck with everything!
Kind Regards Jan and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2014
Glad you had a good break it was great to see you again! On your recommendation we went to see the lights in Laval and the lazer light show and thoroughly enjoyed it! We know you will be busy at Christmas but try and have a relaxing time and hope to see you again one day. Regards Jan and Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing