We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute bliss!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Our Cosy Cottage

The front of the cottage, plenty of parking to both sides.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the cottage, plenty of parking to both sides.
Our lovely characterful kitchen. All you need in the kitchen to create a lovely meal while enjoying a glass of wine and a chat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The front of the cottage, plenty of parking to both sides.
Our lovely characterful kitchen.
All you need in the kitchen to create a lovely meal while enjoying a glass of wine and a chat.
Second bedroom on the lower floor, so cosy, so comfy!
Main bedroom,  comfy - cosy!
Main bedroom with bags of character.
Living room on the middle floor, sit and chill /play games/listen to music/watch a film - you choose
If you visit in the cooler months, imagine snuggling up in front of the wood burner reading a book.
Secluded guest garden with BBQ,childs bench and additional deck chairs for lounging!
Great views across the countryside from the guest garden. The view changes all year round.
Why not have a BBQ?!
The chateaux in Lassay les Chateaux, great tours, well worth a visit and very close by!
Lassay les Chateaux centre, incl Bars, restaurants, bakers and weekly market, buy some local cheese
A beautiful town to visit just 7 km from the cottage.
Mont St Michel lots to see, places to eat & lots of shops and don't forget your camera.!
Spa town of Bagnoles De L'orne, this is the Casino with restaurant, theatre, park and lake.
Mezangers beach in the middle of a forest, lots of activities, great for children and adults.
Bastille Day celebrations in Lassay les Chateaux -14 July each year. Different every year!
Ambrieres les Vallees, lovely local town with riverside restaurants and great fishing.
Kayaks at the Parc de Vaux, Ambrieres les Vallees - also has an open air swimming pool and bar.
Auberge (traditional French inn) in Poulay - an easy 15 minute walk. Have a night off cooking.
Our lovely old village church. Now used for funerals / weddings / mass every 2 months only.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mayenne, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shaztrip
1 review
“Absolute bliss!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

'Janet and Duncans cosy cottage is absolute bliss! It is well furnished, very well stocked with whatever a family or couple could need. I arrived to a
warm clean cottage and a warm welcome. The provisions left for me took the strain and worry out of the first shop and the glass of red was very welcome
after the journey. There are plenty of places to visit within a reasonable drive and Janet and Duncan left lots of information for visitors to peruse
through or you could just do what I did, relax in the cottage with a good book and a couple of DVD's. I can honestly say I wanted for nothing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2013
So so glad you managed to 'chill' and did exactly what you wanted, that is always a result! It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the requirements needed were availale in the cottage.The peace and quiet.
Liked least: The stairs and room onfiguration re our age, lovely though!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are so glad you had a good time despite the weather! We only wish had a control over the weather, we are always so disappointed when it's wet for our guests! But if you can still have a good time despite the dodgy weather it can only be good. Hope to see you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much to see and do in the area
Liked least: Ferry Port on the way home - Calis
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2013
Wow what a lovely review, thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you had a such a good time again and it was lovely seeing you and your lovely family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2013
Thank you so much for lovely comments, it was so nice to meet all of you and feel almost proud that your baby broke his teeth and stood up for the first time in our cottage! LOL!
Hopefully we will see you again one day. Regards Jan and DuncanX
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kindness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely words. It was a pleasure to meet you and as we said to you, it was a pleasure to be able to assist you. We hope to see you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden with the lovely view and the swifts that circled the square all day long
Liked least: The stairs, but only because I was recovering from a knee injury
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are really pleased you had a good time. It is unfortunate that you missed the frying pan, it is kept in the cupboard under the sink. We have mentioned the stairs on the website and make it clear that it may not be suitable for the infirm. We hope your knee is healing well and hope that we see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Le Pecq, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quaint, perfect and the price was right for what we wanted
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review!, it was lovely to meet you and your family. We are so pleased you had a good time and we hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing