We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable with an excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Grand Hotel de Mayenne
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mayenne
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed one night one the way back from Le Mans, my husband has stayed here on a number of occasions on business and always praises the fantastic food he has eaten so I was keen to try - I was not disappointed. This is a comfortable hotel in the centre of Mayenne, quiet despite the busy road outside and overlooking the river, nice decor with character and with an excellent restaurant and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobywasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel 7 years ago while purchasing a village cottage in the area.
Since then we have returned to the restaurant every year and never been dissapointed.
The food is excellent and the service very good without being intrusive.
We always receive a welcome from the owner who remembers us.
The room's that us and our French friends stayed in are spotless.
The lounge/bar area is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michaelallaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

What a great hotel. It looks dated but the room was spotless, huge and had an excellent bed and large bathroom and separate toilet.
But what set it apart was the staff - they were all, without exception, very friendly. I am vegetarian, which is often a curse in France. However, in the restaurant they not only explained everything in English but ensured I got a fantastic vegetarian meal. And all with smiles.
I have stayed in loads of French hotels on business, mainly four and five star and getting a warm welcome is not something I have come to expect at French hotels. This one could teach them all a lesson.
And the WIFI is free.
And so is the parking!
And they have 100 different malt whiskies in the bar!
I can't recommend it enough. Shame I was only here one night.
PS not sure about the town though. I was in Mayenne on business so didn't get time to explore fully, but what i saw wasn't great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The hotel is located near the centre of Mayenne and, although it is on a busy road with lorries rushing by, the soundproofing of the rooms meant that we hardly heard the traffic at all. The rooms were brilliant - spacious and with everything that a traveller needs for a comfortable stay and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The standard of the food in the restaurant was excellent and English speakers don't worry, they also have menus in English. This hotel is definitely worth a visit if you're staying or passing through the area. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinminto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy37170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank MarionB2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelmayenne, Propriétaire at Le Grand Hotel de Mayenne, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hammer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotelmayenne, Responsable réception at Le Grand Hotel de Mayenne, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayenne
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Beau Rivage
0.3 mi away
La Tour des Anglais
La Tour des Anglais
#3 of 5 in Mayenne
28 reviews
15.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Villaines la Juhel
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Croix Couverte
La Croix Couverte
#4 of 5 in Mayenne
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#1 of 5 in Mayenne
2 reviews
1.5 mi away
Campanile Mayenne
Campanile Mayenne
#5 of 5 in Mayenne
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel de Mayenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel de Mayenne

Address: 2 rue Ambroise de Lore, 53100 Mayenne, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Mayenne > Mayenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mayenne
Price Range: $105 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel de Mayenne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Grand Hotel de Mayenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing