We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Paradise Lodge
1 review
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Surprising scope at a magic location. Beautiful garden with flowers, geese and ducks, located on the 45th parallel. Here we found a confortable and tidy room with a large bed in an inspiring setting. Very nice hosts. Relaxed enviroment. Shared kitchen, shared bathroom. We'll plan to stay a bit longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinseiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mons, Belgique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I escape Queenstown and the backpakers to relax and enjoy something different. I found a piece of paradise.
Thomas and his wife have been living there for 20 years and he is the one who created all the property. The gardens are just amazing and he also used an incredible imagination to decorate the house. From the kitchen to the toilet, everything is just stunning!
I have never seen something so original and I hoghly recommend it to all the people who want to experience something different and genuine.
The owners share the life of the guest house, eat with us for breakfast, are around all day for all our questions, they are really open and pationate by there job. It was so easy to sit around a good glass of wine and meet the other guests. Such a great time!
One little negative point, it is almost impossible to get any internet connexion. But after all, who needs internet in a place like that!!!

Room Tip: The have a litlle cottage, location away from the house and the road. It is really quiet. The only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julyd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is really a fantastic place to stay. It's a 30 min drive from Queenstown, but absolutely worth the drive. The inside and the outside are full with handcrafted arty bits. Superfriendly owners, clean and quiet.Located next to the lake, with fantastic views.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tockwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed for only one night, but with it was longer. Nice clean tidy rooms and a very impressive garden with some unique sculptures and lots of plants and animals. Owners were very friendly and encouraged me to walk around the garden which I am glad I did (I'm not really into gardens).
Located a little way out of town, which makes it nice and peaceful, no good if you want a party in town ! But great for relaxing. Every room is different, moss in the bathroom (intentionally) fish in the toilet (intentionally) and lots and lots of wood and pebbles. Love the quirkiness of the place. Make it a fun place to stay !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our party stayed in the double room and the three-bed room on the 1st January 2013. We desperately needed to find accommodation after heavy rain and gale force winds caused us to turn back from the Routeburn Track and thus leaving us without accommodation during the peak tourist season. We were fortunate enough to find out through the grapevine about a last-minute cancellation at this place.

WOW! Were we blown away when we got there. DO NOT MISS THE OPPORTUNITY to stay at this little gem. This beautiful, unique place has been built by a amazing Swiss man and his wife. Every nook and cranny radiates creativity, and there has been so much care and thought put into this place. It's amazing to see.

Our rooms were beautiful and spick and span. Clean linen and towels, comfy mattresses, and an amazing view. The shared kitchen has everything you need, and Thomas and Christy are very welcoming when you arrive, showing you around and having a chat. This is a huge contrast from the industrial and impersonal accommodation which are slowly becoming the trend these days.

I'm a kiwi and have stayed in ALOT of accommodation (ranging from campsites, dorms, motels, hotels you name it) and this is THE BEST and most unique place i've ever stayed in. I highly recommend this place. If you're a tourist travelling around the South Island, I can guarantee you will love this place. It's not pretentious, so if you're a backpacker on a budget, and have a few extra dollars, just do it!

Skip the circus that is Queenstown and find some peace and tranquility at this place. This is a great place to stop on your way to Glenorchy, and don't miss walking around the beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hools007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had the most amazing experience when we stayed for 2 nights at Little Paradise Lodge in Queenstown in December 2012.
This place is situated on Glenorchy-Queenstown road about 28kms away from Queenstown- so you are away from the bustle and crowds of Queenstown and experiencing nature. Yet Queenstown is only a 20 min drive away. This place is managed by Thomas and Christy all by themselves and they have built a paradise here. The lodge has so much character- with each room having an identity. We stayed in the Whispering Swan room. Rooms have a view of Lake Wakatipu and the mountains. Hosts are extremely warm and helpful. They have set up a 5 hectare garden with some amazing plants, roses and birds. Well worth exploring.
Came across this place in Lonely Planet and we are so glad we chose this over other places in Queenstown. Glenorchy which is very beautiful and not swamped by tourists yet is a short15 min drive away from the motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi150581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for just one night in December 2012 and had a wonderful evening. The best part was a walk through the very impressive huge garden full of roses and lilies, ducks and peacocks with their feathered glory on full display. Thomas is extremely handy, judging from the hand carved furniture and artwork and sculptures!

Do stay here if you are around the area!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttmjdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Creighton
8.2 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
14.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
10.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
10.9 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Paradise Lodge

Property: Little Paradise Lodge
Address: 2600 Glenorchy Rd | Meiklejohnes Bay, Mount Creighton 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Little Paradise Guesthouse)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mount Creighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Creighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost every day we hear from our visitors that this place really deserves its name "little paradise". The house and its surrounding were created by its Swiss owner with great passion for the beauty of nature and life. He used natural materials from the nearby environment to express his inspiration and ideas. If you want to escape the square world, absorb new dimensions in the fairytale garden of little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Little Paradise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing