We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Certificate of Excellence
Wallington, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super place to stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We first stayed in this Logis de France in 2011 (en route for the south of France) after searching out alternative places to stay, We have tried Orleans, Tours, Saumur, Blois and Vierzon in the past years.
That first visit we had a double room on the front of the hotel and it was a little noisy. The service was excellent, the dinner good and we had a nice breakfast. Since then, in 2012 and 13 we have had two adjoining double rooms at the back overlooking the swimming pool. This is because we now take our grand daughter with us for the holidays. Having demi-pension for the three of us is great value. She enjoys the stay, with the large pool and room just through the door to us and we feel relaxed as well because there is plenty of space.
Recently the hotel has been re-decorated and it is bright and welcoming. The food continues to be good, with a choice of dining room or terrace for the evening.
I am pleased to say we are booked in again for this August 2014 as the hotel suits us perfectly with easy access to all routes south.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river at the rear of the hotel, especially the adjoining family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeybun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Located opposite the entry to the beautiful Chateau de Chaumont-sur-Loire, the Hostellerie is perfectly situated. It is a handsome building, and the interior did not disappoint. The lobby is spacious, light and airy; the staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. My smallish twin room on the second floor was attractively decorated and comfortably furnished. There was a stand for my bag, a desk and two chairs, a small robe and a functional bathroom, with the shower over the bath. The bed proved to be comfortable. We had drinks on the terrace before an excellent three course dinner, well prepared and presented, with excellent local wines. Breakfast next morning was good with a good selection to set us up for our walk to Amboise. Note that there is no lift to the accommodation up stairs. The steps are easier than many and well lit. The free wifi is quick.

Room Tip: Most look to be very good. Ask for one facing north towards the Chateau; my friend's room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near ASCOT, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The second year we have stayed here - so it was convenient for the International Garden Festival in Chaumont. Perfectly adequate rooms, had we had time, there was a good looking outdoor pool. We had the marche meal on the first night - very good. Hotel a touch of shabby chic - but very convenient - also have their own car park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenSunninghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Whenever we are in France we try to stay in logis because of the welcome and the quality of the restaurants. L'hostellerie du Chateau did not disappoint us. On arrival we were welcomed and escorted to our room. The room was overlooking the road and the steps up to the chateau. A previous reviewer has mentioned the 120 steps but worry not if you don't fancy the walk just drive up the hill and there is a large free car park by the other entrance to the chateau.

We ate 1 night in the hotel and on the 2nd night walked down the street to a very nice restaurant La Madeleine de Proust close to the bridge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-London-Townie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

That's the number up to the chateau and gardens from this hotel! The gardens are superb and very different so worth a vist more so than the chateau itself.
This hotel did not disappoint although the rooms are small. Very pleasant staff and Pascal the patron cannot be more helpful. Dining room looks over the swimming pool and the Loire. Food was good and well cooked. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Those at the rear overlook the Loire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've now stayed here on two different nights and eaten here once. The place is clean, well-maintained and feels like it was built as a posh hotel sometime before 1940. The rooms & decor reflect this so don't expect a Modern place. The food was a delightful surprise. It stuck to the standard dishes but it really did them well; you could tell someone in the kitchen really cares about the food they produce. The front of house staff were all very kind & helpful; when we arrived after a 5 mile walk through a heavy rainstorm their first reaction was to offer help with drying our clothes and ask if we needed hot drinks. Good, well run and worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteHala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went there for dinner, so I cannot judge on the quality of the rooms. We were off season, the restaurant was almost empty. The ambiance in the dining room was uncomfortable (lighting too bright, cold, etc.), the whole place felt like one of those tourist traps. The food itself was deplorably bad, not something I would expect being in France. The service was at best average, of the condescending kind, if you get my drift.
Looking at the more enthusiastic reports that suggest a much better experience about this establishment, perhaps the owner just had a bad hair day or something. Well, do not go there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaumont-sur-Loire
1.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau des Tertres
2.9 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
3.9 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Relais du Silence Domaine des Thomeaux
2.1 mi away
Golf Hotel de la Carte
Golf Hotel de la Carte
#1 of 1 in Chouzy-sur-Cisse
51 reviews
9.0 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hostellerie du Chateau

Property: L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Address: 2 rue du Mal de Lattre de Tassigny, 41150 Chaumont-sur-Loire, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Chaumont-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chaumont-sur-Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hostellerie du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hostellerie du château is located in the charming village of Chaumont sur Loire, listed in the World Heritage list of UNESCO and famous for his International Garden Festival. The hotel rated 3 stars, includes 15 rooms (3 family rooms), a restaurant with traditional meals using seasonal products. In the summer, the meals are served on the terrace, and in the winter you can enjoy the heat of the chimney in a room filled with character ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your L'Hostellerie du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hostellerie Du Chateau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing