We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chateau and wine in the Loire Valley - a great 3 days.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loire Valley - Day Tours

Loire Valley - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.45*
and up
Small-Group Day Tour of Loire Valley: Chenonceau Amboise and Clos Lucé with...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 2003, Loire Valley Tours organises great tours to the Chateaux and vineyards of the Loire Valley. Everyday, join one of or licenced Guide and board in our comfortable minibus of 8 passengers maximum. Our tours include Chateaux entrance fees, wine tasting lunches, tour of wineries. We will be happy to assist you in the organisation of your day tours, packaged tours, bike tours and private tours to the Loire Valley.We look forward to welcoming you for a great Loire Valley Tours experience.
Hokitika, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chateau and wine in the Loire Valley - a great 3 days.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Not wanting to drive in France, but wanting to visit the chateau of the Loire Valley and do some wine and food tasting this was a great option. We were based in Tours and had 3 days of visiting different chateau and wineries. The groups were small and guides good value and provided colourful accounts of the history of the chateau. The days were not rushed and were well planned. We struck superb September weather and really enjoyed our visit. Definitely a stress free few days, a great start to our months holiday in Europe. I found this tour via the internet when checking out options for a visit to the Loire

Visited September 2012
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Surico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    21
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the Loire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I found this tour on the Val de Loire tourism website, and it is definitely one of the highlights of our summer trip. There was only 1 other family on the tour with us - 6 of us in the group all in all - so the tour felt very exclusive and personalized. It was an all day tour, only visiting 3 castles - which I thought at first may not be enough, but the castles we visited (Chambord, Cheverny, and Blois) were all unique. Our guide, Simon, was very knowledgeable and personable - absolutely superb at what he does. I felt it was a close friend who was giving us the tour, since he really took his time in regaling us with the history of all of the castles we visited. A pleasant surprise was the wine tasting at the modern winery of Cheverny, followed by an al fresco lunch at the bistro outside the castle grounds. The lunch was quaint, but the conversation and company were lovely. August is a peak tourism month for the French, so it was tremendously helpful having a private guide since parking and entrance fees were all included, not to mention we got to skip the line on all of the tours. I'm a DIY traveller, and enjoy the challenge of exploring new destinations on my own, but I'm so glad that I arranged this tour. The transportation (and directions) getting to these castles alone, makes taking this tour worth every penny (or Euro, in this case). Hands down, this was the best part of our trip. Forget the stifling crowd of Versailles - a visit to any of the castles of the Loire Valley will be more meaningful and truly beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MarjeMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our Loire Valley Day Tour and selected it based on a recommendation in Rick Steve's tour guide. The tour guides were prompt and very engaging throughout the tour. I did not want to rent a car so this was an excellent way to see the countryside and have a solid itinerary. It was stress free and very enjoyable. We visited the chateau in Blois, Cheverney and Chambord. I did not find Blois that interesting but, Cheverney and Chambord are amazing and will be very memorable. Overall, if you are in the area this is a great option to see the Loire Valley.

Visited October 2012
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank matha1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a great day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I usually don't like organized tours, but we were short on time and without a car so this turned out to be the perfect way to see Blois, Cheverny and Chambord in one day. The sights are fantastic, that goes without saying, but thanks to our guide Simon the tour was great too. He was very informative and funny, but not in an annoying way. Just perfect! The only weak point was the wine tasting. It was okay, but a bit rushed and average while everything else was excellent. Thanks for a great day!

Visited March 2012
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Ivek090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to see the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first trip to the Loire Valley and the Loire Valley Day Tour was the perfect way to explore the region. We saw castles, drank great wine at a local vineyard and toured a beautiful garden. All three of us said this was our favorite part of our trip to France. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly and the entire group had a lot of fun together. It is an easy day trip from Paris as the tour departs across the street from the train station. I highly recommend doing this.

Visited September 2012
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewMorris77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loire Valley - Day Tours also viewed

 
Chaumont-sur-Loire, Loir-et-Cher
 

Been to Loire Valley - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing