We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort was awesome. restaurant was awful”
Review of Elk Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Ridge Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waskesiu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We very much enjoyed Elk ridge resort. The staff was friendly, the cleaners did a great job and the rooms were nice. A little pricey for a room with no Jacuzzi or anything fancy but still nice. The view from our room onto the pond was beautiful. The downfall for us at the resort was the restaurant in the lodge. it was terrible to say the least! It took the waitress 20 min to get our order, she only got us one drink and never asked us if we wanted another. She didn't even come back to the table one time after serving us our food! Not even to bring us the bill. ( there were 3 tables other than us) NOT BUSY !She was not friendly, she didn't smile...awful. The food tasted very good but when I pay nearly 30$ for ravioli I would expect to get more than 3 ravioli, but maybe that's just me. So all in all we had over a $100 bill, and I did not tip ( I always tip. ALWAYS!) ....we headed back to our room and ate chips. Also this resort could improve by having room service since It is supposed to be fairly high end, and we definitely paid enough for the service. Oh ya and we were unable to get into the spa at all for the entire three days we were there it was completely booked. so maybe a few more people working in the spa?

Room Tip: stay in waskesiu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank natasha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 359 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Northern Saskatchewan may not be the first location that comes to mind for a golf holiday and that's a shame because this is a fabulous place. Just outside Prince Albert National Park, it has 3 9 hole courses, in great shape. Room was big, comfortable; service attentive & friendly. And don't let mosquito talk deter you, we've encountered much worse in Parry Sound. If you want fine accommodation in a remote setting, Elk Ridge is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I just recently stayed here on the long weekend for a getaway and booked the romance package. The 3 course meal that was served up in our room to us every night was beyond amazing, best meals we had ever had, loved all of it, spa was great, location is absolutely perfect to go spend a day in Waskesui. We highly recommend this place to anyone and will definitely be back! All of the staff is so so friendly and the service fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Spent a few nights here recently. Probably the most remarkable aspect of Elk Ridge is that it feels like something you wouldn't expect in Saskatchewan. So in a sense, the experience felt as if I was out of province on vacation!

The golf course boasts some of the nicest greens I have ever encountered. The food at the restaurant inside of the main lodge is absolutely fantastic with an exquisite menu. If you feel like something a little more on the simple side, head over next door to Walleye's which is a pub that has a great selection of food as well.

Inside of the main lodge there is also a few amenities worth noting: Swimming pool with a large slide and hot tub; an exercise room right off of the pool area and a spa close by as well.

All in all, I was here for a few memorable days. I lived in Saskatchewan my entire life but never took the opportunity to check out Elk Ridge until just recently and have felt that I have missed out on something special for many years. The staff and quality of service was top notch from beginning to end and I look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rylan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had an amazing time at Elk Ridge. Rooms were very well cleaned and cozy. We had the chance to golf everyday and meet some of the staff. Very friendly Pro-shop staff, helped me with everything and anything i needed. The 27 hole golf course is in magnificent shape, very well maintained and the workers are very polite while playing. We went to both restaurants, the food was absolutely everything we could ask for. From classy dining to pub style food, amazing staff and beautiful courses, hands down a MUST stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Thank you so very much for such a wonderful experience. Our stay was fantastic! What a beautiful get away. The hotel is fantastic, we tried to take in all that it had to offer. Beautiful golf course, spa, swimming pool and water slide. Very clean and quiet rooms. Excellent dining and great food. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. We also took in an extra day to visit Waskesiu National Park since it is so close and beautiful in itself. I would rate Elk Ridge on the top of my list of get away's for any occasion.

Room Tip: Over look the pond. It is great to watch the sun go down over the Majestic scenery of the forest and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaneZ638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom townhouse for $319+taxes per night with a minimum 2 night rental and were told that included wi-fi. It did not include wi-fi. It was a bonus to learn that instead of 2 twin beds there was 2 double beds in 2nd bedroom (townhouse #1).
The place advertisied it slept 6 however there was only 4 bath towels. When we called at 10:30AM for more we were told there was a $10 surcharge and that there was currently no towels available until at least 6:00PM. It was then suggested that we wash and dry the towels to use again since we had a w/d unit in the townhouse. There was 2 small boxes of detergent provided in a large name brand that our families cannot use because of allergic reactions.
We also were not told that townhouses were privately owned and rented through Elk Ridge so we were on our own until we left. For example, the rental came with 2 bags of coffee - 1 decaf and 1 regular Starbucks. We never had them replenished.
The townhouse area would benefit from having a small park or kid friendly station by Townhouse #1 instead of simply barren space.
Tried to have brunch in Copper Ridge Saturday morning - and we were told there was no ham or spinach. I could see a kitchen running low on a Monday but not on a Saturday. 2 people at our table ordered te sourdough french toast dusted with powdered sugar and sides of fruit compote and maple syrup came just with syrup. When we asked server she came back with 1 plate for the 2 people to share that had pineapple and strawberries on it. There was no compote to be had. All told it was a 45 minutes wait for service with only 2 other tables in the entire place.
It seemed that the menu, while reading quite appealing was not executed. It made one wonder if the kitchen staff were in the proper positions and if the pay scale matched the duties.
The swimming pool with slide and hot tub was clean and there were plenty of towels. It was a bit odd to enter the pool through the change room and surprise as well as be surprised by the person caught nude. There are no angles to create a private change area so anyone with body issues or who doesn't want small children peering at you might want to change in your room before coming down.
That said, the views are beautiful and the courses were in great shape. Lots of wildllife to see and the hiking trails were wonderful no matter that there was an average of 50 mosquitoes per yard.
We did take in the spa which has wonderful high-end products and great staff who were kind and polite.
The front desk staff was helpful in providing bags for ice from the machine. It was quirky when we asked about prices for the "Elkridge Resort Kids Golf Free" tote bags on the wall - we were told they weren't for sale but gifts for kids - we had 2 children with us. It still didn't clue in with the staff until we actually said we do have small children. We received 1 bag. The bag contained a water bottle and a frisbee which was fun and there is a space behind the townhouses to play.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroon townhouses have less living space than the 2 bedroom although the 3 bedroom has 2 bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Ridge Resort

Address: Hwy 264, Waskesiu, Saskatchewan S0J 2Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Waskesiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waskesiu
Price Range: $177 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elk Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Ridge Resort is the premier destination/lifestyle resort located in the province of Saskatchewan, Canada, deep in the heart of the boreal forest. The nearest city, Prince Albert, is 40 minutes by car. Recognized by the Audubon Society and under consideration for its Golf Course Accreditation Program, Elk Ridge has taken great care in the use and management of the forest to build its championship golf course and resort. Elk Ridge Resort has earned a reputation as a four season paradise. Nature and outdoor experiences are abundant at Elk Ridge and in the surrounding areas of the Lakeland region and Prince Albert National Park. For visitors who want to make a permanent move into nature, real estate is available at Elk Ridge in the form of luxury villas or residential building lots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elk Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Ridge Hotel Waskesiu
Elk Ridge Resort Waskesiu, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing