We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic south Indian food”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #37 of 1,073 Restaurants in Thane
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: One of the two restaurants in Korun Mall, Thane; located adjacent to the crowded food court. Good option for a relaxed meal, away from the crowd and noise of the food court. Excellent south Indian vegetarian cuisine.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic south Indian food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a good restaurant which offers south Indian dishes. Menu has lot of varieties to choose according to choice. Mulligatawny soup is a good option to start with. Not expensive and food items were value for money. Butter soft uttapam and methi garlic dosa were good in taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    46
    20
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food south indian food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is pure veg south indian restaurant in Korum mall. Food was good. As this is in Korum parking facility is also available. I would also recommend it for breakfast once in a while

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GauravNabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Arguing Staff and Not so impressive food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had visited the restaurant for south Indian dinner. They boast of a great variety of south Indian dishes on the Menu Card. When we went in there were quite a few tables empty. Expecting quick service, we felt happy on visiting at such time. The Menu card came in quicker that water and the cutlery though. After 3-4 "Excuse Me" shouts from yours tryly and a request to the guy who brought water, one gentleman appeared to take order but he sasheyed to the next table, pointing to another of his colleague, who to my amusement went to another table.
The gentleman finally appeared and upon asking clarified that the first guy has a different area so even if he was free and the customer waiting he cannot take order. This guy was in the kitchen (don't know why ??) and per him he saw the other table first and hence he has to take the order. QUITE A COURT ROOM PROCEEDING I MUST SAY.

Lets get to the food. Some of the fancy named dosas were as average in taste as the political condition of the country and the best tasting was Udipi Masal Dosa. We had "Rajni" dosa and I must say "rajni " did a poor job !!!.

Mysore Cheese Masala Dosa has its own story. It seemed they got it from Mysore (Post clarifying 10 mins after taking order) as it would take as long for one to travel from Mysore to Thane and perhaps in the hurry the crispiness and masala was missing.

All in all not a good experience !!! Not recomended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iabhinavdwivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best south indian food”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Banana leaf offers very delicious south indian (kerala) food at reasonable and affordable prices. Restaurant is very hygienic and service is very good.

Try methi garlic dosa. It's awesome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pradeep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
365 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Excellent South Indian food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I came down to the Banana Leaf with my wife and parents with quite a lot of expectations. The restaurant was located at the Korum mall in Thane. Unlike the typical Udupi style food served in most restaurants of Thane, Bana Leaf had a wide variety of South Indian items on their menu which are very uncommonly seen in Thane or Mumbai. We had coconut water as a refresher cum appetizer. For the first course we had an idly platter which consisted of different varieties of idlys (tomato, lemon, kanchipuram, spinach, mini) served with sambar and two types of chutneys. The idlys were well cooked and tasted really nice. For the second course, we had a masala dosa, paratha kurma and appam avaial. The three dishes were very good, not too oily and quite filling.The taste was definitely not 100% genuine (as I have stayed in the Southern states for quite some time), but had a regional twist to them. The service, ambience and location were all good as well. The rates are on the higher side, but a bill of around 300 - 500 per person for a family of four on a special occasion may not feel that high. Overall a very good restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Thane, Thane District
 
Thane, Thane District
Thane, Thane District
 
Thane, Thane District
Thane, Thane District
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing