We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard, The Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Thane B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2014

am a gr8 fan of sea sand and fish but unfortunately there was only fish ( limited) the sea was too far and once i reached the beach the sand was dirty !
the resort was lovely but i will stop at that as the rooms were unkept , shabbily made beds and the linen and towels were pathetic!
the gardens were beautiful and well kept
swimming pool was like a new bride she could be used only on request!
we stayed in the deluxe room which was too small
average stay

Room Tip: ask for bigger and brighter rooms which are on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shilpisoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This is my first review on TA because I couldn't not write about this horribly maintained hotel.

It's beautifully designed but it's full of pests. Starting with ants, cockroaches, spider webs, lizards/chameleons and worst of all rats in the rooms!

When asked for a rat trap, we were told to not be silly and think of what a small rat could do to us. The staff started arguing about how we're being unreasonable. We finally got a room change. They said they'd cleaned the room.

The room was lovely but they hadn't cleaned it. It had dirty ear buds, more ants, more cockroaches and the highlight - a dead rat in the shower being attacked by some more ants. This room had beetles too.

The swimming pool is filthy! The water is not clean and the pool tiles are slimy.

Crazy crab was a restaurant we were looking forward to but they didn't have any crabs. We pre ordered crabs for dinner, that was the best part of the trip. Food was good.

I will never come back to this place again. I chose this basis the reviews on trip advisor and I'm so surprised at my experience being so contrary to the reviews written here.

The hotel is filthy! Not looked after at all which is sad for a property that was beautifully designed.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This resort is nearby the beach. The rooms and toilets were clean and the tariff is affordable to all. There is no other restaurant in bordi except the Crazy Crab restaurant of the Orchard resort. The quality and taste of the bar-restaurant serving both veg-nonveg food is good. The swimming pool is small compared to other resorts and it seems that they do not change the water frequently as the pool water was not clear. I hope that the management pay attention in this regard.Tea and breakfast are served in the rooms only as the restaurant opens only in noon.
Overall, we had a very good time at this resort. It was much more than we expected as it was our first trip to bordi. I would recommend everyone to stay at this resort

Room Tip: for family with 2 children, go for suite room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandipNavsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited last week end and had a terrible experience. The service is absolutely poor actually no rating is worth. Restaurant does not provide breakfasts only room service provided from a pantry in the main building which is so dirty that rats move around. When we went to the Crazy Crab restaurant that is time we were told about it. Ordered tea which arrived after a couple of hours. Breakfasts ordered never delivered, finally on checking what happened they just started blaming the kitchen staff. After lot of argument we said OK pls send it now to which the reply was sorry we cannot serve now at it is past 10.00 am. So we had to stay without breakfasts. No cleanliness / hygiene. Swimming pool is small and dirty, seemed like it was not cleaned for months...tiles of the pool were very slippery. No shades near the pool for parents to sit and watch their children take a dip. Owners do not pick up when called to complaint... no check on staff. Worst is the dormitory with no facility whatsoever, just had 5 double beds with no table or chair. So if you are served bfst in the dormitory the only place you have is on the bed only. No place to put your bags. Absolutely terrible at the price that they charge. Showers are bad, no hot water in the bathroom although we do not take hot water bath. Restaurant staff & service is extremely slow. Ordered Goan Prawn Curry, we got prawn curry and the waiter instead of accepting his mistake by writing wrong order and changing the same insisted that we had ordered Prawn Curry. When requested to change it refused to do so. Owners have taken guests for granted as there are no other Restaurants in the vicinity. Having said that must say food was good but very slow service as they were not able to service the crowd. In house customers do not get the preference of reserved tables as there is a huge walk in clientele. Overall it was a pathetic experience and would definately not reccommend Dormitory stay.

Room Tip: Please do not take back side rooms as they are very dark. Front rooms are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adarsheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good for a short trip..excellent location. Nice beach nearby..145kms drive from mumbai..really refreshing for a small holiday with friends or family..roads are good..nice rooms available as per requirements.clean place..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo18k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A great place to chill, with good food ,ambience. Very helpful and pleasant team. The owners personal care helps the stay to be comfortable. good value for money.rooms are neat and clean. would help if swimming pool was bigger and deeper.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhaveris2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Orchard the Resort is 500 metres from Gholvad railway station. It is 160 km by road from Bandra, Mumbai.

Our room was on the first floor, facing a chikkoo orchard. There was a spacious balcony too. The room had a window air conditioner. The attached bathroom had shower, WC and wash basin. Hot and cold water was available. TV with cable channels was provided. The room was clean and well-maintained.

Breakfast timing is from 8 to 10 am. It is served either on the lawn or in the room. Breakfast menu is limited.

Lunch and dinner are served at the Crazy Crab restaurant. It is about 100 metres from the main building. The menu includes Indian and Chinese dishes. There is a well-stocked bar too. The restaurant is well-patronised with many visitors from across the Gujarat border. On a dry day, I found the restaurant nearly empty. Vapi is 50 kilometres by road.

The swimming pool is popular. It is open from 8 am to 1 pm and from 3 to 6 pm. Bordi beach is 3.5 km away. Other attractions in Gholvad include Jain Temple and Asavali Dam.

Room Tip: Guests could select rooms facing either the hotel grounds or chikkoo orchard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ambalavattom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thane
17 mi away
Pluz Resort
Pluz Resort
#5 of 6 in Silvassa
112 reviews
59.1 mi away
Srushti Farms
Srushti Farms
#4 of 74 in Thane
260 reviews
59.1 mi away
The Byke Suraj Plaza
The Byke Suraj Plaza
#7 of 28 in Thane
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.3 mi away
GCC Northside Hotel
GCC Northside Hotel
#6 of 28 in Thane
21 reviews
63.4 mi away
Ratna Palace Residency
Ratna Palace Residency
#18 of 51 in Thane
47 reviews
63 mi away
Ginger Thane
Ginger Thane
#3 of 28 in Thane
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard, The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard, The Resort

Address: Owala Takkarada Road, Thane 400607, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane District > Thane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Thane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing