We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food... Good Resort!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchard, The Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard, The Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Thane B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food... Good Resort!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

One of the most memorable stays in Bordi... though the resort is not too close to Bordi Beach but it is one of the best resorts in the vicinity with excellent food and good stay.
People who would like to booze and eat non-veg (esp. Crabs & sea-food) would find this place, heaven on earth.
none of us in our family were into boozing and non-veg but we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay. unfortunately, we didn't get accommodation in premium rooms and had to settle for A/C super deluxe but the rooms were decent enough (you might find it average if you are too fussy about cleanliness)
Service provided by the resort staff was good, the food served in the restaurant is amazing and was delivered on the table in no time...
all-in-all this resort gives u a perfect holiday experience
Try going for premium rooms on 1st floor... they are very good rooms with just a little price difference

Room Tip: Try going for the Premium Room 1st Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishi2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

As this place is not too far from the Hustle and Bustle of Mumbai lifestyle, it is a great stress buster for an ideal weekend.
Very warm Parsi Family who tends to your needs and makes you feel at home.
If you are a foodie - the Crazy Crab resturant will surely satisfy your taste bud.

You will find the weekend 'Value for Money"

Cheers Bina and keep up the good job.
Thanks Jeero for the personal touch in making our short stay comfortable.

Room Tip: The front view rooms with a balcony attached is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shardarebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhinagar, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

the best break i had ever had after a long time.Special thanks to Orchard Resort. This resort is very well maintained and beautiful. With really few resources they were able to give an excellent service. Even though we were there for few hours but still we enjoyed. And I hope that we will be able to come there next holidays with a bigger group and for longer period. Special thanks to Jeroo Aunty for the excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miriam212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was nice spending 2 days of my life in orchard resort.
The experience staying was awsome & the hospitality shown by the people was really commendable.
The food served was too good & the service provided was very good in all measures.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vilkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

we just came from the orchard resort ......we was in group of 20 ppl ....we all had a amazing time there .....sp thanks to mrs.jeroo for being such a nice host........this property is owned by Parsi Family.....food was good....service was quick ......will be going again soon.....keep this standard ......

Room Tip: take room on 1 st floor to have better view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rasesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went to Bordi first when this resort was under completion and the lodging was yet to open, back in January 2010. However, the restaurant at the entrance of the property named “Crazy Crab” was open.

We stayed in the ‘Goolkhush resort’ , which was practically the only place to stay at that time, at Bordi. However, the place was unclean and the food- pathetic. So on the second day, we ventured out and discovering Crazy Crab, decided to have lunch there. The ambience was great with south-Asian style décor and the food was really good. Only issue was that the restaurant was open from the sides and non air conditioned. At that point of time we decided to come back again once the resort was functional. We made two more trips in 2013, one family trip in May and another with a large group of friends with their families in August. So, here’s my summary after the trips -

Bordi is 150km from Kandivali/ Borivali and can be reached by train. The rail stations are Gholvad and Dahanu road. However it is best recommended for a weekend drive trip. It takes 2 hours via Mumbai-Ahmedabad highway (NH8) and a left turn at Kasa. The Dahanu-Jewhar road via Malyan is a scenic drive along the sea shore. From Kara to Dahanu there are bad patched, especially during monsoon.

The resort is clean, green and very family and kid friendly. The owners Mrs Micky Irani and her husband are very good host and are personally involved in managing the resort’s operations. The resort has an unpretentious and homely charm, mainly due to its relaxed atmosphere and non interference of any resort staff. The main entry of the resort doesn’t even have a gatekeeper! We stayed in the adjoining deluxe cottages, two on first floor and two rooms on the ground floor. These are the best rooms in this resort with spacious room, toilet with bathtub, air-conditioning. The cottages are ‘honeymoon’, which explains the glass door of the bathrooms and an additional open to sky shower area with the ground floor rooms. There are lots of birds- ducks, cocks, male and female turkeys who stroll around in the lawns. There a small Emu farming behind the swimming pool, but the place is very dirty. However all the birds including the Emus are very camera friendly. The kids generally have a good time with the birds sharing their breakfast with them. During evening, there’s nothing much to do, especially during monsoon. There’s intermittent power cut all around the day, but the resort switches to DG sets within a minute. Its recommend to carry candle and torchlight especially during stormy monsoon, as the power cuts can be of longer duration. During monsoon, the lawns being wet, attracts insects inside the rooms and toilets ( nothing dangerous- centipedes, worms etc) which one should be careful about.

Bordi to me, is a place to relax with family and friends without an intention to do much. There’s a swimming pool in the resort, which is always crowded, especially during summer months. The beach is around a km away. Unlike Kashid, there are not much commercial activities on the beach saving a coconut water stall and a horse ride. It’s a hard beach and during low tide the sea recedes by miles. The huge open beach is great for having a fun time and photography.

Crazy Crab restaurant offers wide choices of Indian tandoori, mughlai and Chinese dishes. The fish and sea food preparations are better. The portions are large, so while ordering it’s better to consult with the waiter (especially if you are coming from Mumbai). Please get hold of George, the very agile and hard working Tibetan to take your order. The restaurant also serves chilled beer and other hard liquors. During weekends the resort runs full capacity and there’s additional diners throng from nearby Dahanu road and other towns, so the restaurant gets very crowded. If you are a large group please ask George to book a large table during lunch and dinner time to save on waiting time. As the restaurant is non air conditioned, during humid summer it’s not very comfortable. Do try the chicken handi, grilled pomphrets, gauti chicken and the prawns- yummy ! The breakfast panty is separate from the main kitchen, that the reason they don’t serve breakfast at Crazy Crab- which is a bit disappointing. You have to either have an in room breakfast or outside using plastic tables/ chairs under an umbrella !
While booking you have to pay 50% advance in cash (through NEFT) and the balance to be paid while checking out. Unfortunately, the resort doesn’t accept credit cards, so it’s better to carry cash.

My rating-
Property- 7.5/10
Food- 8/10
Recommended for couples/ families/ large groups for a drive trip, suitable for weekend/ extended stay for 2-3 nights.

Room Tip: For a family of Four, best is to go for the AC deluxe rooms. Please note the ground floor has an ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Photosynthetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed one day, excellent service, live music...was a bit dead. Pool was excellent, ozone cleaned, no chlorine. Dined on the top floor, food clean and a delight. Staff all overly pleasant. Some areas look a bit dishevelled at the back of the pool. Security good. Room small but pleasant, with a bath tub. Five of the seven lights in my room didn't work .

Overall well worth the stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in 359, pleasant but small, overlooked the driveway. Nice & quiet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KevJohnClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thane
19.3 mi away
Lords Resort Silvassa
Lords Resort Silvassa
#3 of 7 in Silvassa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
24.9 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Resort Daman
23.8 mi away
The Deltin Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anand Resort
Anand Resort
#4 of 5 in Bordi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
30.7 mi away
Greenarth Lakeview Resort
58.9 mi away
Srushti Farms
Srushti Farms
#2 of 65 in Thane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard, The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard, The Resort

Property: Orchard, The Resort
Address: Bordi Road, Thane 400607, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Thane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing