We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, decent hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard, The Resort
Ranked #13 of 51 Thane B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Amongst the hotels in Bordi, this is one of the better ones. The food was amazing. While the service is strictly ok but overall a decent stay for its cost. Dont miss the fish and chicken is the restaurant (the matka chicken is ho hum). There is a seating at the window and the super deluxe doesnt have this but has a balcony. Very close to the beach as well as the railway station (walking distance). Please carry odomos

Room Tip: AC rooms are good but you need not get super Delux, I personally thought the delux was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UVed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 91 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

1. Worst Service ever, Employees do not know how to talk to any customer. No employee uniform was enforced, No employee Greeted us, there was a miserable lack of soft skills, Employees were extremely rude and shabby. Too much attitude in the staff. 0 politeness.

2. Service: Room service was pathetic. No extra towels were provided. The provided towels were of the worst possible quality. Blankets and bed sheets were very dusty causing sleeepless nights. One member of our family couldn't breathe, but luckily we had an inhaler with us. Horrible lack of 24 hour reception.

3. Timings: Worst possible customer friendliness. This isn't an army school, its a resort. People come here to unwind, but end up getting stressed and more wound up than ever. Morning tea isnt served before 9.00; whereas dinner ends before 10.30 at night. Extra beddings were not put up, we had to make a lot of visits, and phone calls to the reception. When after dinner we were playing in the lawn quietly the lights were switched off without any information.

4. Pool: Slimy water filled with all possible chlorine.

Room Tip: Don't go here if you value your fun and life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avaneesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We four went there on 13 & 14th April 2013,The place was awesome & the surrounding too.
We stayed in Villas on first floor,nice rooms with all amenities.
Bath tub n transparent glass door bathroom was something different & difficult to find in such price range.
Room service was up to the mark & very quick.Crazy crab resto was also good...They were having variety of food range.
Also the beaches nearby were too calm & clean.
We had amazing time & remembering weekend.

Room Tip: Villas or you can call cottages are too good to stay & worth the money you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RadhikaBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was suddenly planned trip: While i had never heard about this place earlier, my friend who had vistited a fortnight ago recommended this place to us. It is just around 2 hr+ drive from Mumbai.. The drive is lovely especially the coastal road from Dahanu to Gholvad: Orchard resort is atleast 2 kms away frm Bordi beach and half a km frm Gholvad stn: we checked into the premium ground floor room: for INR2400 per night it was a steal considering the room was like a 4star plus type with open air shower, a bath tub, a big room and an LCD.. The staff is very coureous and so are the owners. Since i was checking in on saturday evening and checking out on monday afternoon i was given a Weekday rate, which was so nice of them: the resort has a lovely lawn and a nice pool.. It is extremely clean and my 1 yr old son had a gr8 time playing with the geese, turkey and hens which live at the orchard: the food at restaurant was good: only fliside was the food for my 1 yr old since they did not make chapattis neither did they offer to make food sepearetley fot the kid: for whcih we had to visit dahanu:
the beach at dahanu is beautiful while the one at bordi reminded of the beaches at mauritius.. overall i would recommend this resortfor families:

JP

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jatin_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hi to all the weekend travellers looking for a calm, quite, serene and unique getaway from Mumbai...Orchard The Resort is definitely an option to be considered...resort is perfect if you are travelling with youngsters or small children...reason being they keep a collection of birds like ducks, turkeys, titir, cocks and very interestingly emus...these birds (except emus) roam freely all across the well maintened lush green lawns of the resort and a delight to observe...resort is well maintened...neatly kept...we opted to stay in the premium room...the room was fairly well sized as well as well designed...bathroom was with a sunk bath tub which is something not usually found in the budget range resorts...overall the Resort layout is beautiful...to top it up...resort also has a clean outdoor swimming pool...Bordi beach is just few minutes drive from the resort...one must visit here to witness a breath catching sunset...Resort has a restraunt in the premises which was average as per our tastes...but one may always venture outside...we discovered a great eating joint at nearby Dahanu...Restraunt at Pearline Resort...it was a delight...over all Orchard The Resort is a great getaway destination for a day or two from Mumbai...we definitely look forward to come back again...!!!

Room Tip: If possible choose a room on the first floor or if in their main block...even above...you will be ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rinksthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Orchard Resort is actually 400 meters from Gholvad Railway Station. The resort is about 130 kms from Mumbai ( about 2 hrs and 30 minutes drive by road). Orchard Resort is pretty decently maintained and is good for a weekend break. There are different rooms to suit ones taste and requirement. The food in the Crazy Crab is good and reasonably priced. There are typical two views from the hotel rooms- One facing the lawn & swimming pool and the other the Chikoo gardens- both have their own advantages.
Bordi Beach has black sand with is sticky and swimming is ruled out... There is not much shopping or entertainment either at Bordi or at Gholvad, so another reason to just chill out and do some reading or just relax. The resort has some emu birds, ducks, turkeys etc which will keep children entertained.The staff is courteous and attend to your needs promptly.

Room Tip: Both garden view rooms and Chikoo garden view have their own advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hari-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I visited the Restaurant "Crazy Crab" with my family friends while on the way to Bordi beach for lunch. We reached around 1.00 m and ordered for food...the food was served after 40 mins with only the starters (which was not cooked properly) ..The food was not so great and the service and management was terrible out there...I am glad we we did not opt to stay in this resort or else we would have a bad weekend...

Room Tip: Better find a different place to spend your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mysterious01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thane
17 mi away
Pluz Resort
Pluz Resort
#4 of 6 in Silvassa
114 reviews
59.1 mi away
Srushti Farms
Srushti Farms
#4 of 75 in Thane
268 reviews
63.1 mi away
Shangrila Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Saya Grand Club and Spa Resort
59.1 mi away
The Byke Suraj Plaza
The Byke Suraj Plaza
#9 of 28 in Thane
69 reviews
57.3 mi away
GCC Northside Hotel
GCC Northside Hotel
#6 of 28 in Thane
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard, The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard, The Resort

Address: Owala Takkarada Road, Thane 400607, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane District > Thane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Thane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing