We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard, The Resort
Ranked #9 of 48 Thane B&B and Inns
Bilimora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had first visited the resort in 2010 and since then I visit Orchard Resort every year, its literally a heaven on earth with absolute nature surrounding you. The swimming pool, kids pool, play area are very well maintained. A perfect place to relax and to calibrate your body, mind and taste buds. The Resort's restaurant "Crazy Crab" is just superb, serving a wide variety of brilliantly prepared cuisines. A definitely recommended weekend getaway and a 10 on 10 deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravPanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baroda, India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

As in previous reviews, I have to affirm that it is a well-maint. and clean hotel plus real VFM both in terms of stay and food. Even the swimming pool was cleaned regularly. It is 400 metres from Gholvad rly. stn. and 2 km. from Bordi beach. We really enjoyed our stay there. Families with kids would love the several ducks, geese, turkeys wandering about plus emus in their enclosure. The restaurant also had very good, tasty food and had lots of space with a wonderful ambience.
A few minor complaints/suggestions. There seems to be a lack of co-ordination between the owners and the person at the reception counter. We had paid advance several days prior but the person at the reception counter was neither aware of the advance nor how many days we were going to stay. I had to show him the advance bank pay-in-slip which was a bit annoying. Secondly, every bathroom has to be provided with a plastic stool for persons who wish to have a bath using bucket-tumbler (instead of shower). We had to bathe standing or kneeling down. Nowadays, good durable plastic stools with 3 or 4 legs (so that they do not topple over) are available in the market. Thirdly, though the lawns are extensive, the breakfast is supposed to be eaten in rooms only. I feel that it would be wonderful to have the chairs and tables spread out in the lawns so that one can enjoy the breakfast in the open, especially in winter. In summer, one can always provide umbrellas if it is too hot. Last, a light needs to be provided near the main bldg. during nighttime since the brightness from the focus bulbs near the back of the restaurant (which is some distance away) tapers off as we near the main bldg. and elderly people would need to be careful with their steps.

Room Tip: Try to take rooms on the first or second floors which have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kashmalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had visited the resort on 24th Nov for celebrating my husband's birthday. It was a pleasant experience. Rooms were spacious and clean though the room service was not upto the mark. The resort had nice open garden. One could take along ball/rackets/Frisbee to play with friends and family. The highlight of the visit was clearly the food. It was tasty, freshly cooked and great value for money.
The service was slow both at the restaurant and the resort. Also, we found the Bordi beach highly disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JharnaASoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the diwali season when we wanted to escape from the noise and pollution of the city and were we glad that we did. The weather was cool and pleasant in November. This place is like 2 kms from Bordi beach and 7 minutes walking distance from Gholwad Station. Very quiet, secluded and peaceful place. You can actually hear your own thoughts....

The hotel is situated around the periphery of a huge plot of land with swimming pool, children play area adjoining the owners bungalow. There are lots of chickoo orchards all around.The hotel has a attached restaurant called 'The Crazy Crab' (and glad that they have, as there is no decent restaurant nearby). Food is good and must try is the Arbi chicken (a preparation of grilled chicken with cheese and cream on it.... a bit sweet but nice). Restaurant has timings and is open for lunch and dinner. Breakfast is provided by the hotel from its pantry.

The rooms are decently nice for the price that you pay. Attraction is the emu farm, turkeys, chickens, ducks and geese all running around on the farm (except the emus which are kept in an enclosure behind the swimming pool). There is a kiddy pool and the main pool is only 4 feet deep at the deepest end.... Safe....

Sufficient parking space on the grounds for your vehicle. Overall a very good experience and the owners are very warm and hospitable folks.

Full value for your money.

Room Tip: Prefer the garden facing rooms and go for the super deluxe rooms which has a adjoining balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was there with family at the Bordi Beach. A really lovely and underrated beach. Kilometers of lovely white sand, gentle waves in the sea and a very secluded area make its a top-class beach to spend time with your family. I had food at the Crazy Crab restaurant which was great. Would definitely love to visit this place again !!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank KFDOCTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

If someone is looking for a holiday in a peaceful homely environment nearer to Surat/Mumbai, The Orchard is the ideal choice anytime. Not far from highly commercial spots like Daman & Silvasa, this place gives you ample space to spend some quality time with your family & friends.

The food is simple, delicious & affordable. Paradise for seafood lovers.

The resort is amazingly close to the nearest railway station Gholwad (10 mins walk). One can also easily come down by road from Dahanu. The road from Bhilad not recommended as it is being repaired.

Room service needs little improvement. Timings of swimming pool too should be extended till late evening.

Room Tip: Choose garden facing rooms. Prefer cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

A nice clean economical place for the family. The food is good, the service excellent (thanks George) and its not a loud commercial place but a sleepy village on the Maharashtra - Gujarat border. The beaches are deserted but the water looks a bit to muddy to swim in. Great place if you just want to relax. The road to the place is a bit bumpy but scenic. From here you can make day trips to other places of interest eg Daman

Room Tip: Take the rooms overlooking the garden, go for the best rooms its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nevppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thane
81.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Resort Daman
69.4 mi away
Lords Resort Silvassa
Lords Resort Silvassa
#3 of 7 in Silvassa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
52.0 mi away
Hotel Beach Classic
Hotel Beach Classic
#5 of 6 in Dahanu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Srushti Farms
Srushti Farms
#2 of 64 in Thane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
64.0 mi away
Forest Village Holiday Homes
69.6 mi away
Green Valley Resort
Green Valley Resort
#3 of 17 in Silvassa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard, The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard, The Resort

Property: Orchard, The Resort
Address: Bordi Road, Thane 400607, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Thane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing