We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull”
Review of Kelva Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelva Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Thane
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went with my partner for some peace there.... its very nice and peaceful.The manager(bahadur) is sweet and pampering ... I just told him that i wish i to have fish for dinner .... and for 2 nights i got yummy fish fry (Bombay duck and some other fish)for dinner and it was so yummy. Thanks. will always go there for peace and pampering and yummy food. Its value for money.

Regards - Asif- Eco solutions

Room Tip: corner suites are large and quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aasif7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

When I say clean beach, do not think Maldives... it is one of the cleanest beaches I have seen in india. or at least the stretch that was in front of the resort.

There's no TV, thats a good thing.
there's no a/c - not too sure if thats such a good thing considering we went last week of May.

But then for the price, you cannot ask for more.

There was too much chlorine in the pool.
If you are a couple looking for a quiet time then Sundays is a bad idea - loads of noisy kids in groups will land up.
If you want to hang out at the beach the whole night, it might not be possible - as the gates close by 6pm.

Now moving on to the good things.

The place is maintained beautifully.
The rooms are good.
The toilets clean.
The food too is good. Fish and chicken for lunch and/or dinner.
Do not know much about breakfast as I never woke up in time.

There's a recreational room, pool, TT and carrom. Though the TT table ;leaves much to be desired but rest assured you can get a few games on it.

Got a few days (with the exception of a Sunday) on your hands, then this is a place worth checking out.

(The pic belong to Kiran Talegaonkar)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brijacob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me and my husband wanted a quick weekend break. We chose to go to relatively unexplored Kelva beach and decided to stay at Kelva beach resort.

The resort, though extremely basic, can offer you all you want in a short vacation. We chose their bamboo cottages (there is no TV or AC in rooms)! Even without an AC, the rooms were pleasant enough and comfortable to sleep. The beach is just at a walking distance and the food is just awesome!

Cons
As Kelva is a small village, there are power issues. The resort did not have 100% power back up and it was extremely dark outside. My husband had a bad fall while we were going for dinner, especiialy because of this goof up.
Without power, TV or any other good amenities, it got a little boring in the evening.
The swimming pool is really small and dirty.

Room Tip: Carry a torch and umbrella of your own. And wear full length clothes as there is a lot of greenery t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathuriamamta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location adjoining the lovely beach. Rooms are quite basic without AC ( can be horrible in summer afternoons). Toilets are not very clean. Beds & mattresses may be smelly. Foods quite basic but tasty. Swimming pool is quite small but who needs a big pool when you can have the ocean. Overall an average place considering the prices. Good place for young group of friends on a tight budget.

Room Tip: The cement cottages are the better, spacious ones. Couples can choose the couple cottages also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SMAZ1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Me, my wife & son went to kelva beach resort on 22,23 & 24 Feb-2013. We had booked the eco log hut in advance. The resort is a bit difficult to locate, although it is right next to the seashore. The log-hut was not very well maintained. The floor creaked, the bed & pillows were uncomfortable, the fan had a dysfunctional regulator & the door of the hut was difficult to open & close. Food was average, limited in choice & monotonous. The plus point was the beach itself which was literally at a stone's throw away. We could hear the sea all night long, thanks to the uncomfortable bed & dozens of mosquitoes, which made sleeping impossible. They don't have T.V. which I found really soothing. All said & done my advise would be to go for a day picnic & not to stay overnight!

Room Tip: Go for the newer rooms & the log-huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cprajpathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It is a great place and its location is amazing. It is just next to the beach in fact you can hear waves splashing. It is difficult to find especially in the night because it is really located inside and you have to ask people to reach (sometimes you will not find people to ask directions).
Best place in the locality. All the rooms are separate and made of bamboo (inclusive of the bed and chairs). Although the individual cottages are located with distance, you will be able to hear bamboo screeching and I think Management should take care of that. Rolling in the bed itself will be nuisance for other person sleeping beside you.
With respect to facilities, it is really good. It has clean swimming pool in the centre and activity center with pool table and ping pong. Unlike many places these are well maintained. In fact we spent entire morning playing ping pong and pool. It is a great place for outing with friends as well as family.
Food was really good, ideally we did not expect that great food when we planned. I would recommend please stick to veg food because non veg food was little sinewy raising doubts.
Employees and Manager was very friendly and was responsive to every requirement. Kudos to that.
In all and all, nice place if you planning a weekend trip filled with minimal activities and lazy walk in the beach with your partner within 100 Km from Mumbai.

Room Tip: Select rooms which are the north side which are closer to beaches and for greater privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ganeshmuralidharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Not a good place to visit. Not all maintained. Food is bit decent. Location is good.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank abhiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thane hotels
12.6 mi away
Hotel Silver Avenue
Hotel Silver Avenue
#14 of 29 in Thane
26 reviews
38.2 mi away
Seashell Resort
Seashell Resort
#23 of 29 in Thane
23 reviews
35.8 mi away
Ginger Thane
Ginger Thane
#3 of 29 in Thane
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 mi away
The Byke Suraj Plaza
The Byke Suraj Plaza
#9 of 29 in Thane
71 reviews
35.6 mi away
Fortune Park LakeCity
31.3 mi away
GCC Northside Hotel
GCC Northside Hotel
#4 of 29 in Thane
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelva Beach Resort

Address: Behind Sitladevi Temple, Thane, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane District > Thane
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Thane
Price Range: $47 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Kelva Beach Hotel Thane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing