We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag”
Review of Kelva Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelva Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Thane
Thane, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Me, my wife & son went to kelva beach resort on 22,23 & 24 Feb-2013. We had booked the eco log hut in advance. The resort is a bit difficult to locate, although it is right next to the seashore. The log-hut was not very well maintained. The floor creaked, the bed & pillows were uncomfortable, the fan had a dysfunctional regulator & the door of the hut was difficult to open & close. Food was average, limited in choice & monotonous. The plus point was the beach itself which was literally at a stone's throw away. We could hear the sea all night long, thanks to the uncomfortable bed & dozens of mosquitoes, which made sleeping impossible. They don't have T.V. which I found really soothing. All said & done my advise would be to go for a day picnic & not to stay overnight!

Room Tip: Go for the newer rooms & the log-huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cprajpathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    21
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It is a great place and its location is amazing. It is just next to the beach in fact you can hear waves splashing. It is difficult to find especially in the night because it is really located inside and you have to ask people to reach (sometimes you will not find people to ask directions).
Best place in the locality. All the rooms are separate and made of bamboo (inclusive of the bed and chairs). Although the individual cottages are located with distance, you will be able to hear bamboo screeching and I think Management should take care of that. Rolling in the bed itself will be nuisance for other person sleeping beside you.
With respect to facilities, it is really good. It has clean swimming pool in the centre and activity center with pool table and ping pong. Unlike many places these are well maintained. In fact we spent entire morning playing ping pong and pool. It is a great place for outing with friends as well as family.
Food was really good, ideally we did not expect that great food when we planned. I would recommend please stick to veg food because non veg food was little sinewy raising doubts.
Employees and Manager was very friendly and was responsive to every requirement. Kudos to that.
In all and all, nice place if you planning a weekend trip filled with minimal activities and lazy walk in the beach with your partner within 100 Km from Mumbai.

Room Tip: Select rooms which are the north side which are closer to beaches and for greater privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ganeshmuralidharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Not a good place to visit. Not all maintained. Food is bit decent. Location is good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank abhiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thane hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Rooms were pathetic and dirty. Matress were torn, bedsheet were black and white..insects, lizards, cats and dogs can jump in your room any time...and this isn't exaggerated at all...we were highly disappointed..the package says that it includes food but the taste was horrible and stale...and its not at all value for money...service is below average...pool was flooded with rain water and no maintanance...
Only thing which was goodd was the kelva beach nearby..which is clean....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank sweetsweety1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Excellent hotel/resort, very close to the beach, completly self sufficient - really good for shart weekend breaks or romantic getaways

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mraxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I went at the resort but as i was shown on the website of the hotel there was noting as such I had my bookings but the movement i checked in i had to take a harsh decision to check out in a while .I would not recommend any one to go at the resort .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank bugs_3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

There is no better combination than luxury amidst nature… and with this glorious image in my mind I had started my search for a luxurious & ‘different’ place near a beach. Kelva Beach Resort, as depicted by its website, seemed to be a more than perfect match for my imagination. After trying for several weeks to book the ‘Log hut’ (best room of the lot) there and being unsuccessful, finally I managed to get it. The icing on the cake was that it was just few days from my anniversary & could be a perfect precursor to the celebrations.

We (my wife & I) drove 130 kms from our Santacruz residence and reached there in about 3 hrs with 1 stop at KAMATS (almost midway) for breakfast. The way is simple, take the western expressway, follow on to NH8 viz. Ahmedabad highway. Then turn left towards Manor & Palghar. After reaching palghar, ask anyone for Kelve village or Kelva beach and there you are. Mind you, finding the resort in the last 500 metres is a challenge. Slow down on reaching Sitladevi temple and take right going next to it and keep asking for directions to the resort. Roads are great throughout the way !

The resort is built 200 metres from the sea but you can barely see the sea from any part on the resort. The beach is one of the cleanest I’ve ever seen in our country. The resort has log huts, wooden huts, cement cottages and tents. Prices are Rs.3500, 3000, 2500 and 2000 respectively for a couple per night on weekends. The package includes 3 meals and morning-evening tea & snacks. We stayed in the log huts- made completely out of wood on a raised platform- something like stilts. Comfortable and clean room and bathroom, well maintained as well. Every room has its own sitout which is the best thing about it. The resort has facilities like badminton, swimming pool, table tennis, pool, bicycles.

All of the above must have given a very rosy picture of the entire setup to readers. Well there are certain shortcomings. The food is BAD. Buffet is served with 2-3 dishes that taste okay… anything we ordered for snacks was really badddd. The rooms don’t have intercom and for every smallest thing you have to walk upto the reception. The swimming pool is very small, pool and bicycles are charged @ Rs.100 per hour. Many people come there for daytrip that the resort offers for just Rs.400 per person inclusive of meals. These people are given the ‘common room’ for changing, resting, etc and incidentally this room is same where TT, pool, carom can be played. Highly irritating!
The staff is less in number and just about okay. The fan was not working and wasn’t repaired until 8 pm. There is no Television at the resort. Rooms have some foreign magazines that are several years old editions.

Its not really a couple place- more of a ‘group of booze friends’ place. The prices are not really worth especially the log huts, should have been priced around 2000 level. The food is the biggest turn off and there aren’t many decent options outside. There are certain other resorts there like Samudra that seemed decent and full, so you might want to consider it as an option. So my overall verdict would be that Kelva Beach Resort is definitely a ‘different’ place and located at a nice clean beach, but far from LUXURY. My last trip has strengthened my belief that there are only 2 good tourist places in & around Maharashtra- Mahabaleshwar & Goa.

  • Liked — concept & beach
  • Disliked — food & service
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
37 Thank guptarohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thane
21.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Vasai Hotel & Spa
37.0 mi away
Fortune Park LakeCity
34.1 mi away
Chakrika Lodging
Chakrika Lodging
#16 of 28 in Thane
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Greenarth Lakeview Resort
31.5 mi away
Srushti Farms
Srushti Farms
#2 of 65 in Thane
244 reviews
37.0 mi away
Hotel Mourya Residency
Hotel Mourya Residency
#19 of 47 in Thane
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelva Beach Resort

Property: Kelva Beach Resort
Address: Behind Sitladevi Temple, Thane, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane District > Thane
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Thane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Kelva Beach Hotel Thane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing