We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming stay in lovely Renaissance Chateau”
Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau D'Etoges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Travelling with my kids of 14 and 7, we stayed for one night at the Chateau d'Etoges.This beautiful Renaissance castle is situated in the very heart of Champagne, far from motorways and standard hotels. Be prepared to drive about 30 to 45 mins from the motorway to reach the Chateau: it's really worth it. We slept in the Saladin Suite, located in one of the towers. The view on the park and the moats is really nice. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant located in the former orangery. Moreover, the staff is very welcoming and helpful. To sum up, a very pleasant stop in a beautiful region.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Valérie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

If I was reviewing the restaurant I would give it 5* for food (excellent) and 4* for service Good but impersonal). The reason I review the hotel with the restaurant is that it would be difficult to eat here unless you stayed at the hotel, unless you didn't drink and didn't mind a drive afterwards. The hotel is set in stupendously beautiful grounds that are fully maintained. It is definitely a place that is worth viewing; staying is a different matter.

Our room was drab with furniture that had seen better days. The room had nice high ceilings but the walls were covered with drab paint and they were not relieved by much in the way of decoration (pictures, etc). The room did not look quaint but neglected and needed investment.

The staff on reception were, at best, unhelpful, and, at worst, plain rude. The dominant attitude was that 'I am doing you a favour by responding to you - can't you see I have more important things to do?' On each occasion I spoke to the reception desk, the attitude was supercilious and unhelpful to the point of rudeness. For example, we were impressed with the look of the chateau so we asked if there was any information on the history. We were told 'in your room you will find some information ', before the staff got back to whatever they were doing. There wasn't any information in the room.

When we were there the hotel was reasonably full (as indicated by the numbers at breakfast) but I would guess most visitors were out all day (as we were, it was lovely weather) as when we approached the reception desk, no other customers were around, so there was really no excuse for being so unhelpful. Actually there is no excuse even in a busy hotel.

For a large hotel (a chateau after all) the common parts were uninspiring. The place where we were sent to drink coffee (the 'breakfast' room looked like it was a repository for junk furniture.

The breakfast was as a total rip-off. 18 Euros for a 'champagne breakfast'. Be warned. Even if you don't want the champagne you still pay 18 Euros for what is the smallest selection of hot and cold food I have ever seen in a buffet breakfast anywhere in the world. The hot selection is comprised of just two things - greasy, fatty bacon - and 'scrambled eggs' - the day we were there cold and stringy - as both are served in bulk and left on a 'hotplate' until they run out.

If you want toast you make it yourself on the one, half-working toaster. Needless to say if the breakfast room is full of guests, you either choose to queue 15 minutes at the toaster or forgo the pleasure.

Effectively you pay 18 euros for a plate of bread and a small selection of cold food. The one staff was very harried and was rude to the point of 'Fawlty Towers' caricature. When we moved to a window seat, for example, the staff literally snatched up the cutlery around us and stamped out without speaking - but she herself was not helped by that fact that her 'helper' who may have been an intern/ trainee didn't know where anything was and the one professional staff had to do everything for at least 20-25 people.

The sadness is that this hotel does have an excellent restaurant so someone on the premises knows about food - but it is obvious the restaurant part of the business is separate from the hotel. The hotel staff on the other hand seem to have been trained to equate 'efficiency' with lack of decency and humanness to the customers - all the more surprising given that this hotel is clearly a place where visitors might go for special occasion celebrations.

The management probably can't do much about the lack of investment in the rooms but they could improve the staff approach and that would help a lot.

We stayed two nights and had one breakfast. I have left it some months before writing the review as I can now be quite dispassionate but, at the time, the poor experience risked ruining what was a special occasion for us.

Our view in the end was that there are lots of nice restaurants in France and lots of nice hotels and lots of beautiful hotels in lovely locations and lots of nice people. So we will go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Frequentflyer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear F_Flyer00,

Thank you for staying at the Chateau d'Etoges, for having taken the time to share your remarks and for your 5/5 for the food + 4/5 for the service.

It is with regret we read that you have not enjoyed the hotel as far as the restaurant and we were concerned regarding your other comments. But to be totally honest, I am a little bit surprised about your review and especially about "the repository for junk furniture".

"The repository" was appraised on June 7, 2012 by Mr D'ORLANDO (art & furniture expert with Customs and insurance companies, Paris Drouot): 'the junk furniture' are (in fact) real paintings, authentic furnitures & tapestries from 17th and 18th century...

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and to show you that the hotel has the charm you have been missing.

Best regards,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

another wonderful visit at chateau D'etoge…at least our 4th visit and always a must when in Champagne.can't wait to go back…aurevoir .nestled in a park like estate surrounded by a moat.dinner at the restaurant is a must!

Room Tip: all are amazing but must be able to navigate stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

En route to Beaune- We stayed for just one night - heavenly environment a proper gorgeous French chateau- antique furniture and authentic furnishings. The accommodation was individual and enormous! The orangery where we ate was grown up without being too fussy.The food was sublime! Cant wait to drop in again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 509Debi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with our wee dog. We enjoyed our relaxing and high quality but understated experience. The hotel is located far from any shops or cafés, so having a car is a must. The place attracts crowds over 60 and might be a tad too quiet for some people. Expect affordable, high quality accommodations without the Parisian fuss.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Bitil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Chateau d'Etoges is located south of Reims in the Champagne country.
A gorgeous historic location with beautiful grounds (great smelling roses!) and superb cuisine.
The rooms were beautiful and the staff friendly and efficient.
We can only recommend this place highly and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capt_JDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the end of 2 week travelling around France.
Lovely Chateux , wonderful grounds.
staff very nice
Breakfast delicious.
We ate in the restaurant which was very nice.
Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenjSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

500 th review... Thank you!!

Dear Karen,

You are exactly the author of the 500th review about the Chateau d'Etoges hotel.

I graciously thank you for your FIVE star review and for this good omen...
I am happy to see that the 501st review is also a 5 star review.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our friendly staff, delicious breakfast and dinner, and proud to read that you would like to stay again in Chateau d'Etoges.

Perhaps you will be the author of the 600th review ??

Warm regards,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etoges
9.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
12.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
507 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
#1 of 1 in Bergeres-les-Vertus
212 reviews
12 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
183 reviews
22 mi away
Chateau de Sacy
Chateau de Sacy
#1 of 1 in Sacy
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Address: 4 rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range: $136 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Etoges 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing