We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Champagne Escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau D'Etoges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Romantic Champagne Escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beautiful grounds (moat, ducks, swans and fountain, private parking), very quiet, great breakfast and amazing dinner experience. Staff was very friendly and food was excellent. Highly recommend large double room.

Room Tip: Get the large double - tall ceilings and spacious rooms. Very private and quiet. Mattresses need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac-n-Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    332
    79
    41
    11
See reviews for
128
755
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evreux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the Chateau. It was a lovely place with a wonderful staff, excellent restaurant and very good breakfast. We stayed at one of the rooms in L'Orangerie, which was very clean and comfortable. We also took advantage of the spa, which was small, but enough to let you relax for a little bit. The next day we went to the Champagne Cave where the owner showed us around and gave us a tour and tasting of the wonderfule champagnes. All in all, a wonderful place that I highly recommend. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Madame,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to the Chateau d' Etoges. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for sharing your remarks on Tripadisor.

We look forward to welcome you for your next romantic escape in Champagne,

Yours sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Beautiful building with its own moat surrounded by vineyards.
Our rooms were in the orangery and were clean and comfortable with views to the surrounding countryside.
We ate in the restaurant....which was very good...staff made you feel very comfortable. Food was simply fantastic though maybe a bit pricey....if on a budget there is the Forge , a short walk into the village.
Next day we visited the village caves and staff were very accommodating .....nice champagne!

Would highly recommend this chateau

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our second visit to the Chateau, and this time we stayed in the Orangery. The room was large, well appointed and comfortable. We had dinner which was excellent. We had a few local cheeses from the cheese trolley which were amazing. The breakfast is served in a lovely breakfast room in the Chateau. On checkout there were mistakes in the bill, but these were resolved promptly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The chateau is very beautiful. Not much to do at the chateau, but it's a convenient location if you want to explore the Champagne region. We stayed at the Orangery next to the chateau. Room is classical and romantic. May need to avoid the rooms immediately next to the elevator, which is a bit noisy. Must dine at their restaurant. Simply amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3pig-moto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest from Hong Kong,

Thank you very much for this kind review following your stay in July at the Château d'Etoges ! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our place in middle of Champagne, your romantic bedroom and our gourmet restaurant.

We hope that you will have soon the opportunity to enjoy the Dolce Vita (or “Douceur de Vivre”) in France and that we might welcome you back soon!
Springtime is a wonderful time to travel in Champagne…

Yours sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

So I'm writing this review as I lie in bed on our last morning at this picturesque chateau. All in all the place fantastic in a grandiose setting. As you drive through the gates and in to the grounds you feel as though you are in a film. We ate in the restaurant on the first night (buying the gastronomic package) and the food was divine and the service exemplary. The courses kept coming out and after a while I had consumed so much food that I nearly slipped in to a food coma. The chateau service was also decent and the rooms comfortable (we had an attic room). There are however a few areas for improvement for the chateau. These are...

- there was no music in the restaurant which left the atmosphere somewhat stagnant. A bit of music would have done wonders.
- €18 for breakfast is a bit cheeky. Most top class establishments include breakfast with the room and I think if the chateau did the same it would elevate its status and the overall impression.
- €18 for the spa is also a bit punchy especially as it doesn't have a pool. Again it should be free.
- Despite the fact that the hotel was nearly empty and despite the fact that we were on honeymoon we weren't offered an upgrade. It would have been a nice touch.

Overall though, I'd recommend the place to anyone visiting Champagne.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gmhutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and still do so. The hotel is fine and the rooms are very comfortable, from the smallest to the largest. I could not recommend rooms in the orangerie, which is an annex to the actual Chateau.
The highlight is the restaurant, and guests are encouraged to eat at the award winning restaurant. Tuxedo [Smoking jacket] is de rigeur as are evening dresses for the ladies. This eating event, is a multi-course, one-course-better-than-the-other event. The wine list is impressive too.
And if that is not enough, right across the main street is Champagne Grognet, run by a member of the Grognet family a young lady that looks after clients and impresses them with her knowledge. They make excellent Champagne, well priced compared to the names that spend so much on marketing.

Room Tip: Select the rooms in the Chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petervee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etoges
12.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
#1 of 1 in Bergeres-les-Vertus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
9.6 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#8 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Property: Chateau D'Etoges
Address: 4 rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Etoges 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing