We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau living without "Relais & Chateaux" prices”
Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau D'Etoges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for a night in this imposing chateau in August on a road trip between the Alsace and Paris. Our room in the Orangerie was large, comfortably furnished and very quiet. The grounds of the chateau are large but there is no swimming pool. After many days of eating, we didn't have an appetite for a full meal, so can't really comment on the restaurant. Good value by today's standards.

Room Tip: Orangerie rooms are less expensive than in the main chateau and are well appointed.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank markjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

We travelled from the UK down to SW France and stopped over at "Chateau D'Etoges"
overnight and had an amazing Dinner at theis Restaurant "Orangerie".
Started Dinner with local Champagne. They have a Great Wine List, Wow!
Food Quality was very Good.
The only strange thing is if you google the property booking com comes up first and offers
the best explanations and booking tools. we booked the room via booking com and then
we received an email of confirmation from the Hotel saying we should have booked
directly with them. Very irritating is that if you use booking com they bill you the 100%
cost of Logis in advance but if you book through them it is different. Why do they work with
booking com then..?
see their message:
For your next stay, you may reserve on etoges com, or by email or by phone, and we will offer you the following advantages:
No deposit charged at the reservation time, the full payment is made on departure (until 4 bed-nights)
Best price guarantee
Cancellation and booking modification without fee until 5 days prior arrival
Online reservation with secure connection & real-time availability
For our Facebook Fans, the discount code offers 50% off on the 2nd night or the 3rd night free of charge (available out of high season) or a 10% discount on our rooms rates throughout the year (policies and booking on etoges com

it is all about Location Location Location. Will be back.

Room Tip: Great Food in The Restaurant!. Great Service in The Restaurant too. Be Careful which rooms you choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fvsgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

For your next booking, please contact us directly to avoid the pre-payment for reservation through the Online Travel Agency.
If you book with Booking-com, you will be charged immediately, but if you book directly with us, you will pay only at your check-out.

Let me thank you also for the kind words and compliments about the Chateau d'Etoges hotel and restaurant.

I hope to have the pleasure welcoming you during your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Loved the chateau and since I wanted quiet it was perfect. The staffs were very polite & helpful. We were there for only 2 nights in February so I will advice having warm clothes and going for a walk with your umbrella. Hope they are done with some renovations that was going on. The restaurant is excellent, food superb! Perfect dinning experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank classicchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights, enjoyed breakfast and dinner each day. The breakfast was self-serve, fresh warm bread and pastries, bacon and eggs- plenty of choices. Also there is complimentary champagne with breakfast! The room we had in the chateaux was huge with a super king canopy styled bed. It had a secret door that led up to a small bedroom-very cute! The dinner was amazing, it is the first time I've seen an extra menu purely for vegetarians in france! The service was on the slow side, however who cares when you have plenty of champagne to drink?! Most staff speak some English and were welcoming and friendly. Oh and the champagne house opposite has amazing value (& tasting) champagne and a free tour. very easy to try and buy there! we personally think that this is a very beautiful and romantic hotel and a perfect location for buying champagne.

1  Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am proud to read your review, I graciously thank you for your FIVE star TA review.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed being in the Chateau d'Etoges and especially your amazing dinner, your huge bedroom, our friendly staff and finely the breakfast with free Champagne.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in Champagne.

Warm regards,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The staff was wonderful. Gave us a nice off-season rate, beware - almost ALL of Champagne France is closed in January. We spoke some French, and the staff was kind and met us half-way on the language deal. The whole Champagne France scene is dead - be in the know (from Xmas til Feb). Anyhow, beautiful grounds, nice room, good food and very lovely experience at the restraunt. An experience to stay at a real Chateau. Owend by the same family for 7 generations. This is an authentic experience -a historic place. Do not expect high-end "W" style amenities. It's not that. Only improvement I offer is that our room had a lot of dead flies for some reason. Keep your windows closed if you don't want to deal with it - it is the country side. We did let them know that. Highly recommend this experience. Great for photos!

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room and the best rate they can offer. Bathrooms were gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWP1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a place this is! Superb scenery, great restaurant, good rooms. Not cheap, but worth the money. Obiously, great Champagne is served here...

Book a table at the traditional French restaurant, you'll definitely won't regret that. Btw, bring some suitable clothing to fit in.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Francis_Langenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stopped off in the Champagne region on our way back from Calais to stock up before Christmas. Found Chateau d'Etoges on Booking.com, great value off season. Beautiful manor house with a moat, and a wonderful restaurant in the Orangery next to it. Looks extremely posh when you arrive, but the atmosphere was more akin to Babington House rather than Cliveden. We took the dogs for a walk in the nearby vineyards, then relaxed with a glass of champagne in front of the fire in the main house before dinner. Dinner itself was delicious, and the trio of apple-based desserts sublime. Room was comfortable, and our dogs loved the carpeted floors (and the ducks on the moat). Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamJLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Lingen71,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel Chateau d'Etoges on your way to Calais and thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurant and our very large park, perfect for your dog.

Next time, please feel free to contact us directly in order to avoid the pre-payment for a booking through an Online Travel Agency.

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time when sharing your feed-back and we are all looking forward to welcoming you again in Champagne region.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etoges
9.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
12.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
507 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
#1 of 1 in Bergeres-les-Vertus
212 reviews
12 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
183 reviews
22 mi away
Chateau de Sacy
Chateau de Sacy
#1 of 1 in Sacy
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Address: 4 rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range: $136 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Etoges 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing