We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time...”
Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau D'Etoges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Step back in time...”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here with friends in August - the chateau is beautiful and the staff lovely and helpful. The food was not too bad although a little overpriced for what it is - but hey it is champagne!
Lots and lots of stuff to do in the local area...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    355
    83
    43
    11
See reviews for
137
800
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Interesting historical old palace. The fact that the place is old and worn in this case is rather positive. You feel the place is a real thing with it's tales. I cound not dine at in house restaurant - was booked out fully, but the breakfast was delicious, including their own champagne

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaukaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you want to stay in a classic and very old Chateau, then this is superb, but it is way overpriced for the quality. The room was very drab with dubious collection of old furniture, including a huge old bookcase which clearly had been left there full of books, locked, because they couldn't get it out of the room. 4 flights of creaky stairs and no lift. Old bed with loose detached headboards. Second big bed seemed unnecessary. This was supposed to be a superior room. Would hate to see the standard rooms
Superb breakfast but £18 on top of a steep room rate was over the top.
DB&B with wine for 2 for 2 nights - £770 was not good value for money.

Room Tip: Check your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed four nights here in July and loved every minute. It's an impressive sight when you drive through the gate and see the chateau straight ahead. But for all its beauty, we had a wonderfully relaxed stay. Our room, on the first floor in the tower closest to reception, was immense and decorated in grand style. We had two small windows that we could open, and which overlooked the moat toward the Orangerie on one side and the back garden on the other. Very comfortable bed, quiet room, stunning. The bathroom was equally large, with a giant tub (we didn't use it) and a separate shower that had great water pressure and hot water. Toilet in separate tiny room. Large sink with room to put our things. And a large window that overlooked the moat and back gardens.

We really enjoyed the gardens around the Chateau. We had coffee out front several times, where three ducks waddled around to greet us. We sunbathed along the side of the Chateau, relaxing while listening to the sound of the many doves, and watching the family of swans in the moat. One day we brought back picnic dinner supplies and a bottle of champagne from our tastings, which the reception chilled for us, then provided glasses, and we enjoyed our champagne picnic beside the moat.

Finally, have to mention the food. Breakfast was a treat every day, with champagne, juices, silver pots of coffee, hot items, cereals, fruits, pastries, toast -- it took us through to late lunch each day. We ate at the Orangerie restaurant two nights while there. Have to say, two of the best meals we had in France during our trip (especially the pork disk and the lobster dish)! A couple of the servers could have been friendlier, but the service was efficient and responsive, and the food really delicious. I still dream of the lobster.

We have recommended the Chateau to friends, and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Do visit the town of Etoges. We bought a local champagne in town that we had with dinner at the Chat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mere_du_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We didn't actually stay here, but I still wanted to post a review in appreciation of our experience. Due to sudden illness, we were forced to delay our holiday, and cancel our booking. Despite not being within the free cancellation deadline, our booking was cancelled in full, a generous gesture which we appreciate.
Having said that:
- they were far from full on our visit dates, so this could be considered reasonable;
- their free cancellation deadline is FIVE days, MUCH more than usual, so beware.
We will make a point of visiting some time, as these are the sort of people we like to do business with

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed there twice in the last 3 weeks; once in the main chateau and once in the orangerie. Beautiful place despite the leaking (currently empty) moat. Stayed in the 'cheap' rooms; fairly basic but very comfortable. The main chateau has more character than the orangerie. Dinner was an amazing and memorable experience; wonderful food and service at a very reasonable price. Etoges is a tiny village in the vineyards so all is tranquil. Nice boulangerie 5 minutes walk away. Use the chateau bikes (free) to ride through the local villages; no traffic or tourists, lots of flowers; beautiful. A wonderful restful unpretentious environment; I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The chateau is beautiful.
We had over 60 stairs to climb to arrive in our room. Nice room in the tower, but the shower needed a repair, the floor was making noises at every step and their was very poor lightening. We did not like the old woollen blankets.
But the stuff was very helpful and our dogs had a warm welcome.
At the restaurant we enjoyed a very good meal.
But phone them to explain what you want and give details

Room Tip: Do not go there without phoning to tell them what you expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U and R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our beautiful chateau, your nice tower room, our helpful staff and your dinner with us.

I regret that you have made your reservation through the “efficient but anonymous" BOOKING-com engine.
I warmly encourage you to book directly with our hotel in order we can adapted your reservation and the allocated room according to your requirements (no lot of stairs, no antique parquet…).

Please be kind enough to contact my colleague in reception upon your next reservation, it will be a pleasure for us to take care of your next booking.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you soon in Champagne.

Best regards,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etoges
9.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
12.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
486 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#10 of 14 in Epernay
197 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
#1 of 1 in Bergeres-les-Vertus
192 reviews
12.0 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Property: Chateau D'Etoges
Address: 4 rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Etoges 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing