We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every respect.”
Review of Chateau d'Etoges

Chateau d'Etoges
Reserve with
Chateau d'Etoges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $94
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gourmet restaurant near Epernay and Reims, in Champagne region, gastronomic restaurant and menu for gourmets.. in Chateau d'Etoges, Hotel + Restaurant + Spa, near Epernay and Reims. We offer meals à la carte and also 3 different gourmet menus and also a vegetarian menu with vegan dishes and also gluten free meal option.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were staying at the hotel so it was a no brainer to try their restaurant. Food and service were all excellent. The champagnes were as one would expect in this area and the sommelier was very friendly and knowledgeable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoffandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 269 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a delightful dinner at Orangery and two of us each ordered a Menu Balthazar and Menu Mathusalem - to share. My partner ordered 3 verres a la carte - 3 glasses of wines to pair with the dinner courses. We had a good time at dinner, it was informal (no dress code required) and the staff were friendly (we also realised that the staff at the Chateau multi-task across all operations too!), and a couple of dishes (foie ravioli, langoustines, generally the starters) stood out. I was in the mood for fish but I could not appreciate the haricot beans. The fish otherwise, was fine. By the time the cheese trolley came, we were stuffed but our friendly server insisted that it was a French dinner so cheese being a must, we tried a variety and did actually find some cheeses, enjoyable. Our bill was charged to the Chateau where we were staying for two nights. Convenient.

1  Thank traveldivaritagoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

While staying at the hotel we ate here two nights in a row. The first night, we went for the lower priced special menu and thought it was excellent value for money. The second night, we splurged on the top end "Menu Balthazar" and felt we'd wasted our money; the cheaper options on the first night were actually better.

Frankly, when the cheaper menu starts with foie gras ravioli with foie gras sauce and a mushroom duxelle, I'm happy. The seared pork that followed was served with discs of turnip poached in Asian spices, a really interesting touch and a lighter alternative to potatoes. The Asian feel was supposed to extend through a sweet and sour sauce and Chinese cabbage, which was tasty but of which there wasn't enough. The cheese trolley that followed was typically French, with more than a dozen options and a nice balance between little known local stuff and classics like Brie and Puligny St. Pierre. While the first two courses are off a set menu with just two options per course, dessert gives you a choice of the whole menu. I went for a poached pear with chocolate mousse; delicate flavours, delightfully presented.

The more expensive dinner, with its half lobster to start and its pigeon as a main, left our stomachs feeling leaden while our wallets lighter than they should have been. We were also a bit irritated by how the wine flight we ordered was delivered that night. We were half way through the started when they remembered the first glass of wine (we had to ask for it) and the rest of the wines were nothing special.

Though we found the less expensive set price menus (at 45 and 55 euro) excellent value for money, we found wine list prices very, very expensive. More than you'd pay for the same bottles in top London restaurants, even though we were closer to the vineyards here. Judicious wine ordering required to keep the prices from getting astronomical.

Had we only eaten here the first night, this review would have been uniformly positive. Because of our experience on the second night, I've averaged it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BencardsBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Directeur adjoint at Chateau d'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are very grateful for you appreciation about the excellent value for money of our Mathusalem menu and I regret that you find a worst value for the Balthazar menu.

Be assured that I have noted your remarks and I will discuss about this with our Chef.
Hoping that we may have the pleasure on your next stay in Champagne

Best regards,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Charming ambiance. Excellent service. Great wine. Best of Champagne. Desserts were exceptional. 3 fixed prix selections 58/72/82 Euros. The grilled lobster a little over-cooked, but the pigeon was superb. Also recommend the sea bass.The cheese course had a wide selection - all we tried was excellent. I'm not a big fan of desserts, but could not pass up the orange and grapefruit sorbet as we dined in the Orangerie. Have grown to really love the Rose Champaignes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Bought by friends as a Bongo for my retirement we chose this place to stay for after checking out their website and menus. How disappointed we were by the menu they actually offered for the Bongo's menu 'Quatre Saison'. In place of the game selections offered on their 'full' menu, we were offered a simple choice of cod or pork! This in a hunting area and in game season! Unimaginative, and cheap. And as it didn't include drinks we already had an additional bill for wine etc. The Bongo had already been paid for and I don't think you should have to pay even more to have a decent menu selection. Misleading on the part of the Hotel to say the least.

Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Manager at Chateau d'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Sir,

I read carefully your review about your dinner included in your Gift Voucher Bongo.

As you said, this voucher included the menu Quatre Saisons (it is not our gourmet menus) but it is a Market menu, specially adapted for this bargain voucher with a set-menu.

Yet, I am surprised by your disappointment because on more than 200 reviews on Bongo website, we have 8.5/10 for dinner (and also 8.5/10 in average for the stay) that is to said that the guests with this gift voucher are really satisfied in our restaurant.

As you mentioned, this voucher do not includes drinks, so, of course, if you would like to have drinks, you have to paid an additional bill for wine…

Best regards.

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau d'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing