We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Time”
Review of Chateau de Fere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Fere
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had the privilege of visiting this beautiful chateau last May. As I've said in past reviews, my BFF and I go to Europe once a year, leaving kith and kin for an adventure. Last years adventure took us to Paris and then I drove to the little town of Fere-en-Tardenois with many a hilarious mishap along the way. Once we arrived, we we're enthralled with the beautiful chateau. One must be adventurous, for this is no Marriott. It is as if you've been thrown into the 16th century. The rooms are beautiful, with period furnishings and the food and service is exceptional! (May I mention the amazing gilded apple sprinkled with gold leaf we had for dessert? No plain jellied apple this!) but the very best thing about the chateau is the ability to explore the ruins of 2nd century castle on the grounds at twilight. What a thrill for any history buff! Imagining the placement of the rooms and climbing among the old stones is so exciting! Just crossing the old moat gives one the feeling of being back in time. I believe this place should be on everyone's bucket list.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORoussellier, Directeur général at Chateau de Fere, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Mrs Harriet,
Thank you so much for your kind message.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the magnificence of the Château de Fère. The site is definitely timeless between the ruins of the 13th castle and the real modernity of our hotel rooms.
It is also extremely nice to hear that your enjoyed the specialities of our pastry Chef.
As you mention, Château de Fère should be on everyone's bucket list.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Olivier Roussellier
General Manager

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 446 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely place, great surrounding, it looks like being in a fairytale. Room are clean and very big and spacious which always help. The service are good but it would have been a much nicer experience if the staff would have been more friendly. Don’t take me wrong, they were NOT rude, they were nice and polite but very cold, you didn’t have the welcome feeling, this was the only down point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaratartamella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORoussellier, Directeur général at Chateau de Fere, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Mrs Tartamella,
Thank you so much for your message.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in room 28 and that you also liked the quality of our Chef's food in our restaurant.
Thank you also for your remark regarding the staff, which is clearly a sign of timidity.
It is always positive to listen to the guest experience in order to alwayd tend to the best quality of servic.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you again soon,
Kind regards,
Olivier Roussellier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our short trip to Champagne region. I have very mixed feelings about our stay. Some things were fine and some quite disappointing. Hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, there is at least 20 min drive to the nearest place where you can have lunch. Hotel grounds are beautiful and old castle ruins are spectacular. Our room was big but very bland. Room of this size could be easily sold as luxury suite, but it lacked charm and looked very tired, not "antique". It had plenty of space but it was not cosy as no sofa was present. There are two pools at the hotel, the outside pool was supposed to be heated but it was so freezing That even my very keen son did not take a risk to jump into cold water. Surprisingly our biggest disappointment was the restaurant. The quality of food was good but overall atmosphere so unfriendly that it was impossibly to enjoy it. Bear in mind that we had 3 children with us but one waiter was so rude that it made me cringe. There is no high hair for babies, no children menu at the restaurant. The waiter suggested some meat with pasta which we took. This was the most expensive children meal I ever had - 42 Euro per person and it was only half eaten. I usually don't like to hear complains about cost as good hotels and good restaurants are expensive but at this place it was a joke. Avoid this hotel when travelling with young children as kids are not welcome at this place. Possibly I would write a different review if we stayed as a couple.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORoussellier, Directeur général at Chateau de Fere, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give your impressions regarding our Château.
It has been a real pleasure for us to welcome you and to organize your first trip in the Champagne Region.
I am so glad to hear, as you said upon departure, that you spent a real nice time at the Château and enjoyed it very much.
Just a few remarks regarding the different points you mention.
The hotel is located 5 minutes and not 20 minutes away from the village of Fère en Tardenois, village where you may find a few local bars and restaurants. The problem you faced was to find a place open for lunch at 3:00 PM, which could be a bit difficult in this village.
Our pool is heated, but as you could easily feel, the nights are still very cold in early April and with a deep pool like we have, it remains chilly. The outside pool is fully available when the outside temperature is high between mid-may and september. Kindly notice that we also have an inside pool in the spa whose temperature is high.
Regarding the restaurant, we do have high chairs but you did not use it for your kids aged of 10, 11 & 13. For their meals, your teenagers could have ordered the Fascination Menu for 55 Euros charged with a 50 % discount for kids under the age of 12. They preferred the "Boeuf" from La Carte.
I am sure you and your family will keep a very good souvenir of your stay in our Château. We will be extremely pleased to welcome you another time,

Kind regards,

Olivier Roussellier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel one night in July and really enjoyed it. The atmosphere is very adventurous and the staff are nice. The wines and the Champagne taste really good, maybe also because this is the right area for that kind of liquid ;) The rooms are beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaLoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was quite close to the champagne region, but far enough away (30 mins to Hautvilliers) to be unlikely to be spoiled by tourist frivolity. It was a great choice - a comfortable hotel in a spectacular setting with a top class restaurant. If you are interested in history, the site is hard to beat - the hotel was built in the nineteenth century from the stone of the old chateau pulled down in the revolution in a vain attempt by its owner (Philippe Egalite) to persuade the masses that he was indeed one of them. Effectively, he seems to have lost his head twice. The ruins of the old building proudly remain as a reminder of the ancient regime, and its breathtaking achievements (for some). If a gourmet, you will certainly not be disappointed. Three prix fixed menus were available - 30, 55 and 95 euros. We went for the Menu Fascination at 55 euros, and it was delicious. Prepared and presented with meticulous care, innovative in places, and reassuring in others such as the cheeseboard. The wine list is nicely balanced, although not a huge selection below 60 euros. The Hugel riesling at 45 euros seems to us to be the best value white, although there was a good Rully too. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated - although "inowreview" makes an interesting point about the lack of air-conditioning. As we visited in March this was not an issue, but we fully intend to go back in the summer to enjoy the swimming pool and the tennis court, so will see. The staff were all charming. Breakfast at 22 euros is no doubt good value if you want to eat a lot, but not quite so good if you just want coffee and a bit of fruit. A small glitch, though, which we probably should have sorted out earlier, and certainly not enough to diminish our highest praise for the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGrubmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked this hotel on Expedia to break our journey from skiing in Switzerland so pleased we did! The chateau is very beautiful and the ruins of Chateau de Fere a breathtaking view. The staff were extremely welcoming and we were upgraded to a very comfortable suite overlooking the ruins.

Dinner was spectacular!!!!! The scallops St Jacques were the best I gave ever eaten, the broth deserving special mention, absolutely delicious, as was my husbands risotto. We both had lobster again faultless, beautifully presented and tasted sublime. I could not resist the Grand Marnier soufflé! Hmmmmmm.

After a comfortable night's sleep, breakfast (buffet) was excellent, everything you could want !
A lovely end to our holiday, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A last minute booking upon our return from skiing found us here.

Having stayed in many similar properties this one is right up there. The staff without exception were superb and attentive, our waiter in restaurant ( a cross between Rick Moranis and Norman Wisdom) was even a little over eager racing around!

The rooms are perfectly fine, ours was very clean and excellent value for money. The spa, which my wife tried, was small and the only slightly disappointing aspect.

The food in the restaurant was truly exceptional and the kids rated it alongside The River Cafe and Riva, no higher accolade!

Wish we could have spent more time but will return in the spring hopefully, only 2 and a half hours from the tunnel makes it easily reachable and lots to do in the vicinity.

Thanks to all the staff of this fine Chateau!

Room Tip: No A/C... but they have this things called windows which open.... doubt it will catch on though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fere-en-Tardenois
8.2 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
453 reviews
13 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
#1 of 3 in Chateau-Thierry
411 reviews
21.3 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
23.4 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 68 in Reims
730 reviews
22.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Fere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Fere

Address: Route de Fismes, 02130 Fere-en-Tardenois, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Fere-en-Tardenois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fere-en-Tardenois
Price Range: $169 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Fere 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de Fere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Fere-En-Tardenois Hotel Fere-En-Tardenois
Chateau De Fere Hotel
Chateau De Fere France/Fere-En-Tardenois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing