We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Fere
Nearby Hotels
Le Nid Dans Les Bruyeres(Fere-en-Tardenois)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Residence Clairbois(Fere-en-Tardenois)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
189
137
65
40
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
137
65
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne regionwine listhead waiterchampagne housesstunning locationa la carte menustayed one nightwet roomnice breakfasten routesouth of franceruinschateaureimsfrenchpariscountryside
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 456 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is not just hotel, where to stay, this is piece of great history with a exellent service, gourmet restaurant, wery cousy and special rooms. Old ruins on daytime and at night to walk. It was extraordinary. We where upgraded without asking and our room was so lovely for romantic stay with all ńessesary needed for it. Bottle of welcome champagne also shows respect and care to the clients.

Food in retsurant was gourmet without any doupts. service was not slow. It was very normal for such level restaurant. There are some comments in other rewiews about it, but I am affraid they are from americans who are used to quick quick meals.

We asked on prior to our arrival also oportunity to have champagne private tours for two days and tour operator who hotel planned for us filled our expectations more then 150%

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Chateau de Fere well exceeded our expectations despite being a prestigious member of Small Luxury Hotels (SLH.com). We were delighted with such wonderful and fun staff, as well as a modern twist to the chateau lifestyle. The modern bathrooms were a very welcome addition, and the rooms themselves had a designer touch. Don't miss dinner here, one of the best on our trip to France. Best of Class...Chateau de Fere, well done to SLH.com for always coming through to deliver the best hotel at the most attractive rate.

Room Tip: A short drive to best Champagne houses!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrystalWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORoussellier, Directeur général at Chateau de Fere, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Madam,
Thank you so much for your kind message.
As the entire Hotel team, I am extremely happy that you found your experience at Château de Fère memorable.
I am especially glad that you enjoyed our modern bathrooms designed for women, the quality of our Chef's specialities and our reasonable prices.
We wish to welcome you again soon at Château de Fère.
Wishing you a very nice end of year,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The scenery is stunning, the Medieval Castle is a dream like place, the newer castle is equally beautiful and you can walk anywhere around it's grounds, which left me confused as regard to it's preservation... The staff are very welcoming and friendly and do speak English. The restaurant is set in a remarkable room and the waiters are so professional. I had higher expectation for the food and it did not quite match my expectation! Our room was spacious and quiet but 1990's style and I might have wished for a newer decor. The breakfast was really good and there was so much choice, so definitely a 5 stars for that! Overall 4 stars hotel, but this could be easily upgraded with a few improvements in room re-styling, swimming pool checks and good work in the kitchen.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has recently been renovated
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was recently at the Chateau for my honeymoon. We booked for 3 nights, stayed for 1 night. The Chateau is beuatiful from the outside, the rooms are old and dirty. The staff did not speak English, and were not very accomodating. The Chateau is located in the middle of no where, you need a car to do anything or go anywhere. The food is good, but too expensive for what it is. I would not recommend this to anyone, let alone a couple that is on their honeymoon. If you want to tour the champagne region, do a day trip from Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

The Chateau de fere is a gorgeous chateau en Tardenious. The grounds are elegant with ruins of a castle on the grounds. The room was spacious and our view overlooked the pool and grounds. Amazing and spectacular scenery and history. If you enjoy relaxing and reading a book or enjoy slowing the pace of your otherwise fast paced lifestyle.... Chatea de fere en Tardenious is for you.

They serve great meals which are pricey in the dining room every evening.

Our problem is we came to tour the champagne region and enjoy the French food and bistros. The staff was not friendly and when we checked in we had to take our bags to our second floor room. No Big Deal! But the level of friendliness or appreciation never improved.

We toured the Champagne Region with a guide for two days. He drive 45 minutes each way to pick us up and he told us he would not be doing it again. We arrived on a Sunday night and there was nothing open in the nearest small town at 7. There were two groceries both closed and not a light burning anywhere. We ended up eating in a picnic table outside a take-out Pizzeria. We made the most of our evening.

Next night we asked the guide about restaurants and he told us that our hotel was remote. Remote does not even begin to describe it. The next night there was one restaurant in the town to choose from. We ate at the Le Petite Marianne and the owner/ Waiter/chef gave us a great evening. But trying to find anything open was like trying to find a needle in a haystack!

Very few folks speak English in the smaller towns so make sure you allow for this. We had someone with us who could understand Limited French.

If you are going to tour the champagne region or trying to get a feel for the French, Reims would be a better location for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustangRoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews