We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
20
40
6
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
40
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake tanganyika amazing views excellent food lovely hotel good nights sleep relaxing stay zebras grazing dar es salaam overlooking the lake walking around rooms are spacious hot shower hilltop grounds wifi neil chemicals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 75 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2019

Worth the stop on route to Dar! The staff there are super friendly and the food they offer is great! The sardines were one of the main dishes we enjoyed on our stay. You also got to see the zebras crossing by right in front of the rooms and hotel. the hospitality was great from the beginning to the moment we were dropped of to the airport.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ehakimjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

after our amazing experiences at mbalimbali katavi and mahale, we transited kigoma on our way to dar

the highlight was having zebras grazing right next to our rooms

they chicken schitzel is amazing (sorry for the poor spelling )

they made us chapati rolls so we could enjoy our lunch at the airport , lovely hospitality and vintage furniture rooma

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank aliakberzoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

The hotel has what it takes from the facility and the concept to achieve a top rating if only the noisy neighbours were not. The constant disco noise of the neighbour "AquaResort" is quite annoying. One cannot enjoy the beautiful view on the lake, not to mention if one has to work.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wschmi772111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Not my first stay at Hilltop Kigoma and definately not my last.
The friendliness and hospitality of Neil and Lousie cannot be underestimated, they are the corner stone of the place, and see to it that everything works as it should. If you have any problems you can alwasy come to them and get good ehlp to resolve your issue.
Anyway the rooms and the place is very well kepts, with live zebras grassing and having a good time too. The pool is very nice too, with clean fresh water I presume from Lake Tankanykia and hardly any chemicals, clean and nice temperature.
The restaurant has very good service and do excellent food, we tried several different disches, and was not disappointed.
I can highly recommend a stay at the Hiltopp Kigoma. The view over Lake Tankanykia is amazing.
Best regards
Steen & Hans

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Go24301466744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

A little bit of a land-that-time-forgot vibe here with the massive abandoned ballroom and safari animals roaming the grounds, but the rooms and public areas were all in good shape and quality. Beautiful views and a good nights sleep, nice big bathroom

The staff here was probably my favorite of our whole trip, Asaman and Neil handled our transfers to Gombe Lodge as well as the airport and Livingstone memorial. They were informative, engaged and fun to deal with. They also provided very realistic and honest explanations of the areas history and culture, and were always giving 110% to make our visit as good as possible

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews