We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and welcoming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Arlington Hotel
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a hostel and hotel (it's also known as the Arlington Hotel), in Maynooth, a tiny town that has more than its share of art galleries and antique shops, and is in an exceptionally beautiful part of Ontario. Don't be fooled by the exterior appearance of the building - it's clean and tidy inside and your hosts, Tom Newman and his mom, Nancy, are welcoming and brimming with ideas for things to do in the area, including hiking, swimming, canoeing, kayaking and biking. Inexpensive dorm style rooms are available or you can reserve a private room for considerably less than you would pay for a room in a motel or a B & B. There is a kitchen that is available to all guests, and though it sometimes gets a bit crowded in there it's a good place to meet the international hosteling crowd that passes through. There is also a comfortable TV room, an outdoor deck, and free Wi-Fi. Whether you are are a lone traveler or bringing your family along, he Algonquin Hostel is a great place stay to explore this remarkably beautiful part of Canada.

Room Tip: Contact Tom in advance of arriving to discuss the type of room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfallariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 35 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

Myself and a friend were travelling North America and decided to get the Greyhound from Toronto to Maynooth. We stepped off the coach and Algonquin backpackers was directly across the road.
Tom (the owner) was extremely helpful and looked after us the full 4 nights that we were there.
I miss Maynooth and Algonquin backpackers immensely. Our room was cute and comfortable. Very clean and welcoming.
Tom even took us canoeing, which was beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hayleyandmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Maynooth hostel originally only planning to stay for two or three nights. We ended up staying a week and wishing we didn't have to ever leave!! We had a wonderful experience and met some lovely people who we are still good friends with now. Our host Tom was lovely, very welcoming and unassuming. He made us aware of all that was available to do and took us on a day hike, canoeing and bike rides. He was very informative and we really enjoyed talking to him and taking in what he had to say about the area. The park itself is beautiful and we really felt as though we could spend all our time there. There is just so much to see and do!!!
The hostel has a calm homey feel to it and is well maintained and clean. The rooms are spacious and very affordable, only $18 a night. The kitchen is small but well equipped and has everything you need. The hostel is lovely - perfect for a romantic getaway or an exciting outdoor adventure!

I would definitely recommend staying here and I know that we will be back.

Thank you Tom for such a great time!!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed here for a night before our spring camping trip in Algonquin Park. We wanted something close, cheap and decent, and we were not disappointed. If anything, it exceeded our expectations. Quality was quite good for hostel accommodation: it was clean and comfortable, the service was friendly and personal, and the building had lots of character compared with the "motor lodge"-style accommodations you normally get on the outskirts of Algonquin. It was surprisingly quiet when we were there (spring is the ideal time for visiting the park) and we felt like we had the place to ourselves.There's a pub on the ground floor, which is a nice touch. It has potential but, sadly, it was completely dead on the Friday night we were there. However, it was nice to get a cold beer after the drive up from Toronto.

Overall, we were quite happy with our night there. It was clean, reliable and very good value. Potentially an interesting place during the busier periods.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicosanfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

After about a week in big cities like Nw York and Toronto we wanted to get out in to nature. Traveling by Greyhound Bus we were bond to their schedule, hence, we found this HI-hostel. The bus stops right in front of the place which is in the town centre. As we wrote in an other article, the town is not very big!

The place is run by Tom and his mother. He is a friendly guy caring well for his guests. The building is pretty run down, but that seems to quite common in Canada. However, Tom cares very much about cleanness.

The prices are great and worth the stay!

Algonquin Park is close by and there is much to do around town. Tom offers really good rental bikes for a 5 $, half a day (July 2010) or a 20 $ week flat. He has canoe, kayaks and advices people on hikes. He even does guided tours.

By the way - internet is available.

It's worth a visit and a stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sea2sky_org
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

I stayed at this hostel for a pretty long time because I was doing a work exchange there. Algonquine backpackers is really confortable. Even though the building is fairly old, the rooms and the bathrooms are well cleaned. The hosts there are so helpful that they provide us with necessay information, and take us to great trips to beautiful Algonquine Park. They sometimes have concerts at the hostel's bar, which are fantastic. Also, people living in the town Maynooth, where the hostel is, are friendly and very nice.
This hostel is really international, so people from many various countries stay there. We can enjoy not only the beautiful nature but also communicating with travelers from various countries.
I really enjoyed my stay there. the summer I stayed there was one of my best times in my life.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CGfromJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Inexpensive way to visit Algonquin Park.

This hostel is about 30 km (half-an-hour drive) from Algonquin Park. It compares favourably to other hostels that I've stayed in both in Canada and Europe. Homey atmosphere -- pictures on walls, good reading and tv room, fully equipped (though small) kitchen.
We had a double private room with 2 single beds for $45/night (about $22 each person per night). Had to share the washrooms and showers down the hall, but it wasn't that busy. Price is good when you compare it with cheap motels/hotels in the area that go for about $85/night for a room with no kitchen facilities.

The beds were about average in comfort for a hostel (i.e. a bit lumpy and pillows were very thin and hard, but for a couple of nights it wasn't bad. If you're driving, I'd recommend bringing your own pillows. Rooms come with their own portable heaters which is nice if you are staying in fall and want to control your room temperature.
The town of Maynooth is very small and closes up at night except for the gas station and liquor stores, but the town of Bancroft is only about 1/2 hour drive south and it has grocery store, restaurants, etc.
Mother and son run the place and seem very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Doeraymee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
10.7 mi away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
67 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sword Motor Inn
Sword Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Bancroft
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trails Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
61 reviews
9.0 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
110 reviews
16.8 mi away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Bancroft
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arlington Hotel

Address: 32990 Highway 62, Maynooth, Ontario K0L 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Maynooth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Maynooth
Price Range: $25 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arlington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Algonquin Backpackers Hostel is now The Arlington Hotel! New owners, but still the same great place, and in the same great south Algonquin location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Arlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arlington Hotel Maynooth, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing