We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenticity German food”

Little Schnitzel House
Ranked #12 of 85 Restaurants in Lindsay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Authenticity German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice atmosphere, excellent schnitzel, a lot of heavier type foods, so go hungry. Friendly staff, quick efficient service, worth the visit, good value for money

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
313 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Unusual, but really great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Little Schnitzel House is located on the main floor of an older house, converted into a restaurant. It has a small, cozy and friendly feel to it. The food selections are limited in number, but all are very good to excellent. Portions are a bit large, value is very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whiskywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My Wife and I were included in a party of 28 who enjoyed lunch at the Little Schnitzel House in June. A menu had been arranged and it was a great choice to commemorate a recent trip to Europe and specifically Germany. Lunch started, after drinks, with a small green salad with an exceptional dressing. The main course was a Jaeger (Hunter) schnitzel with a bacon mushroom gravy accompanied by potatoes. Dessert was Bienenstich (Bee Sting), a cake with a carmelized topping and filled with cream.
This restaurant is a little over a one hour drive from home. We will return because of the ambience, the welcoming nature of the owners, but primarily for the food and the value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great German Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently held a dinner party for 16 people at the Little Schnitzel House, we were in a private room off to the side of the main dining area. The service was outstanding, for our entire group, and the food was excellent, everything arrived at the same time according to our pre-order requests. I recommend the Jaeger schnitzel, and spaetzle which were both delicious. The staff was very attentive to our group's needs and made our special event perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annalieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best of German dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I visit The Little Schnitzel House regularly. We just can't stay away for too long! I grew up in Germany and can testify to the authenticity of the menu and the atmosphere. From the décor to the music, this restaurant is a reminder of the best of Germany. And the food is superb! A fun onion pastry starts every meal, the salad has a wonderful dressing, the schnitzel is tender on the inside and crunchy on the outside, and the spaetzle are perfect. There is more than schnitzel on the menu, as well. Oh, and the German cakes are to die for (Bienenstich, yum!). Frau Bloebaum is very friendly and attentive as is her helper on busy days. Don't hesitate to treat yourself to this fabulous dining experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorothyH827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Schnitzel House also viewed

Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 

Been to Little Schnitzel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing