We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaba Thai

Chaba Thai
Ranked #10 of 85 Restaurants in Lindsay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The food here is good, but not worth the wait.

We went for dinner the Saturday before Mother's Day. It was very busy, and there were only two servers. Overall it took over two hours to be served.

If they were unprepared, or they knew they were overwhelmed, they could have warned us in advance about the long wait.

They just seemed completely overwhelmed and the service suffered terribly. There was no real explanation as to why, and no attempt to make up for it.

The food is delicious when it finally did come, but the overall experience was very frustrating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bobcaygeon, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just came back from dinner at Chaba Thai in Lindsay. I have to agree with everyone else, the food tastes great. However it took forever to get served. After getting a drink order it was another 20 minutes to half an hour to get served and then our appetizers came after we had been there longer than an hour. The entrees came even later, so we ended up being almost 2.5 hours for our meal. It was really busy when we got there but I thought that was a good sign. However we only saw 2 staff there. I'm not sure what the problem was, no one said anything to us. Really though, it's up to the restaurant to make sure they can handle the crowd. We really enjoyed the other times we went there, but this makes me reluctant to ever go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart E, Manager at Chaba Thai, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are very sorry that your dinner was too long. We try to aim for 20 minutes or less from the time of order until the time to the table - our preparation time is a little bit longer than other restaurants because everything is made fresh to order. I don't know exactly what day you dined with us but it sounds like the day we were running a bit short staffed. We are always looking for experienced wait staff to compliment our team. Thank you for the compliment of the taste of the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic. Was sceptical we'd find a good Thai restaurant north of Toronto but what we found at Chaba was an eye opener. Great selection of Thai favourites with authentic taste. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was my first Thai experience and I am officially hooked! Loved it! Our waitress was very very helpful introducing us to the menu and the flavours to expect. Had the lunch special and was not disappointed. The portions are generous and all the food was fresh and delicious at a reasonable price. I will be going back. A must have is the Lemongrass Soup!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food to "Thai" for!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I have enjoyed lunch and dinner here on a few different occasions and I highly recommend their lunch service if you want to try a few smaller portion dishes.

I have never been disappointed by any of the dishes and find their Red, Green and Yellow curry's amazing! Their PadThai noodles and fried rice are delicious.

The atmosphere is beautiful and well decorated.

Recommendation: I would love to see Thai Iced Tea on their menu as well as a more child friendly menu of food and drink choices. (Ie; apple juice, milk or chocolate milk) There are no toddler sized serving dishes or cups. It is hard to give a 3 year old a drink out of a full size beverage glass.

Helpful?
Thank BrendaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaba Thai also viewed

Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 

Been to Chaba Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing