We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing addition to Lindsay”
Review of Chaba Thai

Chaba Thai
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Lindsay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing addition to Lindsay”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I love Lindsay; but since moving to Kawartha Lakes my spouse and I have definitely missed some of the ethnic food choices we had in bigger cities so we were really excited for the addition of Chaba Thai.

We had the Pad Thai and red curry - not too spicy; flavourful, nice presentation. The restaurant was very clean. My only complaint is that it is not accessible.

I'm sure when tourist season comes the restaurant will be very busy!

Helpful?
Thank Rosapisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart E, Manager at Chaba Thai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the Pad Thai and the Red Curry. We have had patrons in wheelchairs eat in our restaurant, however our washrooms are located downstairs. We will look into the building code requirements and feasibility of an accessible ground floor washroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    25
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

A nice flavourful and fresh change. My husband is very traditional and loved it too. Friendly, patient staff with great recommendations. I had the red curry and will come again and again for it!

Helpful?
Thank Lisahanzuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Finally some delicious culture in Lindsay”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It just keeps me coming back. I'm in love with the green curry and the pad thai is great but a little sweet for me. If you want an extra kick ask for their dry and wet spice. Its absolutely delicious. Make sure you catch their lunch special which is $10 for a soup, spring roll, and any curry dish of your choosing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaspermicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good first dining experience.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very friendly, fast service. Good appetizers, cold salad rolls and crab rangoon. Food was fresh, well spiced and nicely presented. Interior of restaurant looks very pleasing although the washrooms are downstairs which is not good for anyone with mobility issues. Overall, it was very enjoyable and I would definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A delightful addition to downtown Lindsay”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We love Thai food but generally have only Toronto restaurant experiences with the cuisine, other than making pad thai at home. We were not at all disappointed with Chaba Thai and loved the food and the experience. The pad thai was authentic and delicious and the appetizer plate was delicious and included spring rolls, shrimp rolls, rice wrapped veggie rolls and a wonderful mango salad. It also came with three dipping sauces, including a peanut sauce. Our (very sweet and attentive) waitress suggested that the pad thai portions were so large that we could easily share one and have plenty, so that left us room to try a wonderful desert of "bananas in sweet coconut sauce". It was spectacular. One suggestion...if you love pad thai, order a plate each. We could easily have eaten more and gone without desert. Oh, and the green tea was served in a beautiful large oriental mug with a lid...very quaint...and the decor is relaxing burnt orange walls, corresponding wallpaper, and cushions on many of the bench seats. Seating is spacious, and if you aren't seated at the bench seating, it appears that the tables and chairs provide ample space for a party of four, and more tables could be joined together for a larger group. Dont' miss this great addition to downtown Lindsay. I can easily see the east end of Kent Street (just west of Lindsay Street) becoming restaurant row, with an eclectic mix of restaurants moving in!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaba Thai also viewed

Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 

Been to Chaba Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing