We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & service; poor decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Misto

Misto
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Lindsay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Canadian, International, Asian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Inviting, sunny little family restaurant, with a Bistro setting that is fully licensed. Nestled in the eastern part of Lindsay, at the corner of Needham and St. David Street. There is ample free parking, and it is just minutes from the downtown core. Misto offers Daily Specials that are all freshly made by the Head Chef. Some samples of dishes are: Soups, Grilled Salmon, Quiche, Lasagna, Fish 'n' Chips, Trinidad Roti and Curries, Jerk Pork, Indonesian Bami Goreng, Stir-Fry Dishes, Pasta Dishes, Sandwiches, Hamburgers, Breakfast, Salads, Rib Specials,Lamb Shank, Meatloaf, Steak, Chicken Breast Florentine, Pork Chop...And much more. Take-out & Delivery Available.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
307 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service; poor decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Definitely the best dinner food in Lindsay. Unfortunately, they haven't really updated the decor from the past owner which was a breakfast diner. Everyone loved their dinners and Charlene our waitstaff (owner?) was excellent. Can't wait to go back on Saturday night when they have a selection of curry as their specials. Very eclectic menu. I had nasi goreng (sp?) and my hubby had fish & chips. Our other dining companions also had varied choices. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    12
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Rose among the Thorns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Misto is located in the industrial (read, dreary) part of Lindsay, which itself is not known as a mecca for fine cuisine. Hah! This is such a pleasant surprise. The chef has worked all over the world and it shows in his choice of menu, eclectic is how he describes it and I would have to agree. We started with the seafood chowder, which is done Manhattan style and it was excellent. Fresh herbs make such a difference. We followed that with prawns in a marinara sauce (the lady's) and braised lamb shank with ratatouille for me. We would both order them again, which speaks for itself. Service was excellent, décor is clean and bright. Lots of parking. Not particularly expensive for the quality. Would go again for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wumaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had dinner with a friend at this restaurant recently, and the food was FABULOUS!! We shared the pork tenderloin with scalloped potatoes (the best I've ever had...even better than my own and mine are pretty good!) and the Bami Goreng noodles (AWESOME!). I'll definitely come back for more great food! I live in Brampton and come to Lindsay about once a month to see my mom, and the food here is as good as any I've had in expensive Toronto restaurants but for a better price. Thanks for bringing some great food to Lindsay! This restaurant is in the industrial area, but it's a short drive for some great tasting food!. Much better than any of the chain restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great multicultural addition to Kawartha Lakes culinary landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've been here three times now and each time I'm even more impressed. The chef is excellent and seems capable of anything. The offerings are like a culinary world tour, with Caribbean and southeast Asian dishes spotlighted. The Bami Goreng (Indonesian green curry pasta) is great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely try this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you drove by this place, you might not go in, and on seeing the decor you might consider giving a pass. Don't do it! The service here is warm,caring and friendly and the food is fresh, real and well prepared and nicely presented. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, and ordered an additional meal to take home for dinner. We'll return next time we're in Lindsay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taystev108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misto also viewed

Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 

Been to Misto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing