We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly staff, top shelf meals!”
Review of Saint Dave's Diner

Saint Dave's Diner
Ranked #4 of 86 Restaurants in Lindsay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff, top shelf meals!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I would highly recommend St Dave's Diner for breakfast or lunch. The staff is welcoming and friendly. The portion sizes are large, they have "very creative specials" to choose from daily, and the food is served piping hot. It is the best place in the City of Kawartha Lakes for breakfast and lunch!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smallkbigp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    46
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
2 reviews
“Best in Lindsay”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Their breakfast can't be beat, unbelievable specials every weekend, their Rosti's are awesome.
Never had a bad meal there and the service is second to none. Best place for breakfast or lunch by far. We are regulars. Very reasonable for what you get

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Waste of a morning.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have tried the restaurant a couple times. First time, my husband and I had a very long wait and I had to send my bacon back to the kitchen to be cooked. It was just about impossible to get our coffees topped up, the waiter had to be reminded twice and we finally were assisted by a waitress.

Made the mistake of giving the place a second chance. 55 min wait for coffee re-fill. We were about to give up and go to Timmy's, when our food finally arrived an hour in. Asked for bacon to be well done this time and it arrived cold and of the consistency of dried tree bark; totally tasteless. Homefries were over-salted. Service was just horrible and the staff seemed overwhelmed.

Won't give this dive another chance. Think they'd do well to hire a few more cooks, hire and properly train a few astute servers, and maybe pay more attention to the quality of preparation of meals being served. Two big thumbs down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weird servers”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The serving staff seemed more interested in talking amongst themselves rather than helping my family. I heard all about this hashbrown caserole from a friend, but there was none left when I got there at 10am. For an item they're known for, they seem to run out of it fairly quickly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Micheal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuperShopper62, Owner at Saint Dave's Diner, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
So sorry if the service was not as attentive as it should be. We pride ourselves in having a good staff to customer ratio and providing the best service possible.

As for the Hashbrown Casserole, it is only served on the weekends. Your review was written on Friday so there was no way that we had run out by 10 am, since it is not available at all on Weekdays. Again we apologize if that was not made clear to you.

Hope to see you again (perhaps on a weekend to enjoy the casserole that we are famous for) and to give us an opportunity to show you why we have been voted Linday's Favourite Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch and Family Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Out of all the breakfast spots in Kawarthas this is the one!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

First off you never have to wait for a table and when you're there you're treated like family. Food is innovative at times when they guest spot a menu special. I had the crabs benedict one time, another time you're getting another special not just what is on the menu.

I love the service out of this place vs the others as I find with the others that unless you know them personally they don't provide even adequate service. This place is consistent time and time again!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Dave's Diner also viewed

Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 

Been to Saint Dave's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing