We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going to blow your mind, but not bad either”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lindsay
Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not going to blow your mind, but not bad either”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I stayed here with my girlfriend while visiting a friend in the Lindsay area. I had stayed at the Admiral about five years before and I was pleased with the place then, so I figured I might try it again.

The Admiral is a little on the dated side, but otherwise ok. The rooms looked straight out of 1995, but were otherwise clean, quiet, and comfortable. One weird quark is it appears somebody had kicked in the wall of our tub and the Admiral had never bothered to have it repaired. The damage was quite bad, but didn't have any impact on having a shower.

All in all, for 70-something a night, you can't really complain or expect to be blown away. There are not a lot of accomodation options in the area (mostly mon and pop type place motels), so if you want something a step up, this is really your only option.

Next time I'm in Lindsay, I will return here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontario_Guy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    10
    12
    30
See reviews for
21
20
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mississauga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at, it was cold outside but once in the hotel it was colder in there than it was outside. There was hardly any hot water, the rooms were freezing we had to heat them ourselves but it took about 5 hours to heat up the room. It looked like a hotel out of a horror movie. I asked for another heater never received one.
The beds were not beds, it was just two mattressess on top of a wooden box.
This has to be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at, and the charged us 155 a night. it was also very dark and cringy

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lindsay hotels

Kingston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed at this hotel while on the road with a girls hockey team. They allowed us to check in at 12 noon, and they put us all together on the first floor. Which is great when you are schlepping hockey equipment. There is no restaurant, most of the games in a very small arcade did not work and just took the money. The staff was quite friendly and allowed us to dry our game jerseys in their dryer which was nice. The girls were very noisy in the hallway until very late at night which was no problem, because we were the only ones on that floor. I have stayed with a team before in other hotels where they put some regular guests in among the team members rooms. Which is a nightmare for them.LOL I would stay here again for one night. Room heating unit looked new, but was very very noisey. Bathroom was only semi-clean and had mould around the tub. Towels were ok. No shampoo or conditioner. Hairdryer was ok. Fridge and micro in room which was nice. Great hockey hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingstonRoadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I went with my husband and kids for a trip for the weekend to Lindsay and i was hesitant to go because of the reviews i saw, these reviews are very unrealistic because the hotel had friendly staff, the restaurant was great with delicious food, the hotel was very clean and on point with their staff and service. This is not a five star hotel but you get what you pay for. I went to check out the other local hotel near admiral inn and was not pleased at all as i did not feel welcomed. This hotel was much more friendlier and cleaner as opposed to the other local hotel that was near by. I actually use this site for a reference and guide for all my trips as i travel a lot and i find this site very useful and i felt the need to write a realistic review about this hotel as it has been unfairly judged.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly_190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I went to Lindsay recently to attend the annual Lindsay fair. I usually do not attend fairs in quiet cities, however I heard good things about this fair and my kids love going to carnivals. I stayed at the Admiral Inn and it was amazing! It was a very spacious hotel and I got all my needs accomodated. My kids also loved the food. It's a great place, as it is so large and roomy unlike many motels and inns, and you have the freedom to do whatever you like. I did not see any other hotel or motel even comparable to this one because the town is pretty small. So i recommend this inn for all Lindsay visitors.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2009

The town of Lindsay is a very nice town, populated by very pleasant folk, that I would love to visit again. On the edge of that town is the Admiral Inn, a place that unfortunately made my trip nearly unbearable.

Upon arrival we were greeted by an unprofessional young man in shorts and a t-shirt behind the desk, to whom I was wary about giving my credit card information. Check-in was quick enough, so we went to our rooms.
I was greeted by an interesting smell upon walking in the door. I thought maybe it was the cow field right across the road but no, the windows don't open, it couldn't be that. I decided to put on a pot of coffee while settling in. As I was hanging up my clothes behind the door, I was greeted by a bright green piece of chewed bubblegum on the top shelf, lovely. Upon deciding not to hang up my clothes, I went over to check on the coffee - it was done, so I "enjoyed" it out of one of the 4 provided styrofoam cups. Putting my toiletries away in the bathroom was somewhat hard, since the light above the counter didn't work until you gave it a good thwack on the left side. Once the light was on I saw the myriad of stains on the shower curtain, a classy touch that was topped only by the myriad of different types of mold and mildew within the shower. I didn't touch the rolled-up shower mat my entire stay, and preferred to shower in my flip-flops.

Upon finishing with work and getting back to the hotel, I thought I'd grab a quick snack from the vending machine. Needing change, I waited at the front desk until the girl behind the desk was finished talking to her friend (watch out Mark, Tiffany is going to dump you soon!). When I returned to my room to sleep, I noticed the mousetrap beside my bed, thankfully void of mice, but not spiders and flies. This brought my attention to the floor, at which point I noticed the many beer bottle caps strewn just under the overhang of the bed. I crawled between the sheets (not even a fitted sheet, just 2 flat sheets) and tried to ignore the fact that my feet were sticking out of the bottom (I'm not overly tall either, under 6 feet). I also tried to ignore the fact that there was a strange blood-spatter-like stain on one corner of the sheets. My sleep was not a good one that night.

The restaurant attached to this hotel had its grand opening the weekend before we ate there. The only thing available was the buffet, which included bone-dry roast beef, a random assortment of cooked vegetables, cold meatballs doused in barbecue sauce, cold homefries, a room-temperature hamburger helper-style dish, a plate of cheese already being enjoyed by some flies, some dried-out cold veggies, a couple salads, and some unrefrigerated cream-based pastries. All this for only $16. I came away with something extra though, and was hugging the porcelain for about an hour after dinner.

Overall, this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, and was possibly the worst trip of my life. I think a homeless shelter would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I like some of the other reviewers travel often and for the service and condition of this place what they are charging is almost criminal! The first thing I noticed was the front desk was a complete mess... papers and statements all over the place. The room was over priced, and was a disaster. I believe that since there is very little competition, they just don't care. There was an infestation of flies in the room, the floor was stained, the furniture was old and broken. The pictures on the wall had broken glass. The tv reception kept fading out. I had two associates that were staying there also and they said all the rooms were like that. So I decided not to stay, and went home.... the flies were awful!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadow_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindsay
1.7 mi away
Kent Inn
Kent Inn
#2 of 6 in Lindsay
134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Lindsay
Howard Johnson Lindsay
#6 of 6 in Lindsay
298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Lindsay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Knights Inn Lindsay
Knights Inn Lindsay
#5 of 6 in Lindsay
55 reviews
23.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
465 reviews
21.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Peterborough
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Admiral Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 1754 Highway 7, Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K9V 4R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kawartha Lakes > Lindsay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lindsay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Admiral Inn & Conference Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Admiral Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Inn & Conference Centre Hotel Lindsay
Admiral Inn And Conference Centre
Admiral Hotel Lindsay
Admiral Inn & Conference Centre Lindsay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing