We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sioux Lookout
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sioux Lookout
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great location - but very basic. Had misfortune to have a room in the annexe where the restaurant is - very small, basic, noise from outside carpark during night. The upstairs bar area was closed (from where there is a fantastic view over bay). I found the choice and quality of food in the restaurant very good. Breakfast - don't bother. Very small room with seating for about 9 people at 3 tables - so forced to carry offering back to your room - if in annexe as I was means carrying 50 yards across a carpark - not good. Choice of continental very poor - if you're in main building may just be worth the effort.

Room Tip: Personally if you can't get a room in main building - don't bother staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank happytraveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GayleHoey, General Manager at Forest Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Forest Inn. I remember your group quite well and hope you had a great time on your tour. I apologize for your Guest Room being located across the way from the main building. The Hotel was built in 3 stages on the lake which resulted in it being somewhat spread out. Our complimentary breakfast consists of French Toast, Pancakes, Omelets, Bagels, Fresh Fruit, Juices, Tea & Coffee. I apologize that you weren't able to enjoy it in our Breakfast Room, which has limited space. We are looking at expanding this room in the near future. Once again, thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

Old building with old furnitures but everything were clean with the exception of a few bugs smashed on the room ceiling.

Bathroom are beautifully green...But for an average price of 90$, I cannot really complain.

Continental breakfast is offered in a room adjacent to the reception desk with only 3 tables, so you should expect to eat in your room! There is basic stuff like yogurt, variety of bread and cold omelet & pancake that you can reheat in a microwave. There is a restaurant (family type) & a bar in the adjacent building that offer service after 16h at a good price & services, meals was good.
There are a few picnic tables outside & a volley ball net near to the beach. The beach is private but there is no chair.
There is a great selection of conference room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ticlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GayleHoey, General Manager at Forest Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Forest Inn. We have undergone several upgrades since your stay with us. New Pillow Top Beds, Linens, 32"Flat Screen TV's just to name a few. Although we will always be an older hotel, we pride ourselves on being extra clean and pay very close attention to customer service for sure. Hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Bea1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 11 May Street, Sioux Lookout, Ontario P8T 1A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Sioux Lookout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sioux Lookout
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forest Inn & Conference Centre has 42 Guest Rooms located on the beautiful shores of Pelican Lake. Each Room is fully equipped with Queen Size Beds,32"Flat Screen TVs, Fridge, Microwave & Coffee Maker. Complimentary Breakfast consists of French Toast, Pancakes, Omelets, Breakfast Sandwiches, Fresh Fruit, Juices, Tea & Coffee. Wireless Internet is throughout the Hotel at no extra charge and the Forest Bar & Grill is open Monday through Saturday from 4PM-10PM. Full Conference Facilities to hold up to 64 People with Fully Catered Luncheons and Dinners. Large parking areas to accommodate Commercial Vehicles, Boats, RV's and Trailers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forest Inn & Conference Centre Sioux Lookout, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing