We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis on Kamloops Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeside Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Savona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An oasis on Kamloops Lake”
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Lakeside Country Inn for six nights while visiting family in Kamloops. We had stayed in Kamloops on previous trips but this was definitely a better choice. While all the positive reviews of the grounds, the hospitality, the breakfasts and the well appointed rooms are true, there is another aspect of this property that was not mentioned. That is that this is a place where you can totally relax in a beautiful setting and feel "at home". The kitchen units are well equipped for cooking and we enjoyed several meals on our private patio overlooking the grounds and the lake. Our daughter and her partner came from Nelson to stay for two nights and they too were impressed by the ambience. We would recommend this place highly for travellers who need a break from a busy and hectic schedule. Don't miss this exceptional oasis! It is worth the 25 minute drive from Kamloops.

  • Liked — Privacy, cleanliness, beautiful grounds, views of lake
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Splurge48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
121
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We were travelling from Jasper to vancouver and this was our half way point.

The highway was closed for 8 hours due to an acident meaning our arrival time was going to be very late.

Margaret was extremley helpful in leaving lights on to our accomodation and clarifying direction for us.

The rooms were big and very clean we wished we could have stayed longer.
Breakfast was fantastic a great choice and a lovely setting. Would highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We got to Savona very late as we got lost on the way. Margeret managed the situation extremely well and made us feel welcome immediately. The room was beautifully furnished and extremely clean. There was free tea and coffee availabIe and snacks you could buy. I strongly recommend the breakfast which included freshly baked pastries with fruit and cereals served in the conservatory which looks out onto the beautiful lake. The garden and pool is beautiful and very peaceful. I would certainly stay in Savona at this delightful B and B rather than in Kamloops. Just remember to get there early enough to enjoy the lake.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting. The lovely breakfast
  • Disliked — Away from shops
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

This is a superb B&B. Our second visit. Margaret & Donn are great hosts. The rooms are beautifully decorated and sooooo clean. Breakfast is very good.The location is great. If only there was a good eatery nearby!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We found the Lakeside Country Inn to be a charming and comfortable property, and the location and gardens make it a very special place to stay. Our room was small but had cooking facilities, a bonus when travelling.

Unfortunately when we arrived on a cold rainy, bleak day, there was no power, and although we know this was absolutely out of the control of the owners, we still had to wait 2 and a half hours before we could heat up the room, or use any power. Coupled with this was a turbidity warning about the water which advised boiling all water before consumption (apparently not uncommon for the area). As we had no power to boil the water, our hostess provided us with free bottled water until the power came on again.

We wish we had stayed under better circumstances as we imagine the views and garden would be glorious on a fine day.

  • Liked — location and gardens
  • Disliked — having to boil the water
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Juandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I should have stayed at this B&B last Sunday 18th May as a part of a trip going from Calgary to Vancouver through the Rockies. Unfortunately, once we landed in the city of Golden at the beginning of Rogers Pass, news was given to us that the road was closed due to a mud slide and that we could be stuck for days in Golden if we decided to wait. We were thus forced to make a huge detour which would under no reasonable and safe circumstances have allowed us to arrive in Savona at night.

I directly called the Inn to tell Margaret that unfortunately I would have to no-show to my reservation, and she told me that she would try to get the room to someone else but that else she would be forced to charge the complete rate of 146$ to my credit card. I said that I understood although of course nothing of this was my fault, but then again it was not theirs either.

After my return last Tuesday, I found an e-mail in my inbox telling me that they had decided to charge me a minimal fee of only 25$ for the reservation, as the transcanadian remained closed on Monday and they appreciated the fact that we could not have made it.

I must say that after our ordeal in the hotel we actually ended up with as a part of our huge detour (in Osoyoos, the Holiday Inn), which turned out to be horrible, I was very much touched by this gesture showing that not everything is about money and reinforcing my preference for family-run businesses like B&B's where human contact and consideration still seem to subsist as opposed to the mighty hotel chains which charge as they please and provide minimal or no service whatsoever. I would definitely stay here if I go back to BC in the future and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Wasbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We stopped 1 night here on our way to Vancouver from Jasper and couldn't have found a better place to stay.Situated right on the lakeside it was truly a wonderful setting. The gardens are beautiful with lovely willow trees and a nice fish pond. You can walk down to the lake and swim, or go fishing from the pier,or if that is too energetic you can relax on the loungers that are all around the garden.We went for dinner at the local diner and had a very good meal at a very cheap price plus the service was great.Breakfast is served in the conservatory and should not be missed.The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable.Overall a great place to stay.

  • Liked — situation,gardens,food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grumpystickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savona
Riverland Inn & Suites
#17 of 55 in Kamloops
317 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#3 of 10 in Cache Creek
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Country Inn

Property: Lakeside Country Inn
Address: 7001 Savona Access Road, Savona, British Columbia V0K 2J0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Savona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Savona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming country inn located on the shores of Kamloops Lake, half an hour west of Kamloops. Most rooms have a private balcony or patio with a view of the lake and garden. Choose from a cozy room with a queen bed or larger suite with a kitchen. Enjoy our fragrant gardens, shaded lawns, private beach, lounges and Adirondacks. Relax and read, swim and suntan or take a daytrip into the countryside. We are conveniently located on the route between Vancouver or Whistler and Banff or Jasper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Kamloops
Kamloops Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing