We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make Sure To Save Room for the Chocolate Cake”

Blue Canoe Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Oromocto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Large family truck stop restaurant serving home style food, good portions at affordable prices.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make Sure To Save Room for the Chocolate Cake”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

They offer a variety of food and it all looked yummy but I absolutely loved their Chocolate Cake with boiled frosting. It took all my will power not to purchase one of the small ones (enough for 8 people) to take back to our motel. The service was excellent and they were always busy. I noticed that they had a Charity Table in the corner and that all monies from that table went to different charities. I have not seen that before. So if you are in the area make sure to stop you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRICKKETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    93
    18
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
quebec
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good roadside restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Blue Canoe serves good standard roadside fare. The service is congenial, the dining room large and bright and not too noisy. The menu offers a good range from sandwiches to full meals. The blue canoe is memorable and worth stopping to see, the type of things you remember years later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qcquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boiled Icing Cake - Yummm”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped here on our way to NS. Food was awesome. Had a variety of different items and they were all good. Feels like home. Even some games to keep the kids occupied. Didnt' have a lot of room for dessert but couldn't resist sharing some of that chocolate cake with the boiled icing - to die for. Set the GPS to stop again on the way back home for more cake. Delish !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveydovey001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good little spot”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service at a busy truck stop. Food was good and about what you would expect.

There is a boutique with lots of stuff for kids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, speedy service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Three is of dined here in July. It was very busy when we arrived but we did not wait to be seated or to be waited on. We had the roast beef dinner with fries, chicken nuggets and veggies sticks and shrimp and scallops with rice pilaf. The roast was good, nice and tender, the fries were good, nicely cooked....only improvement would have been to include fresh veggies. The chicken nuggets were a bit over cooked according to my eleven year old. My shrimp and scallops were very good, not overlooked. We would certainly eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Canoe Restaurant also viewed

Oromocto, New Brunswick
Oromocto, New Brunswick
 
Oromocto, New Brunswick
Oromocto, New Brunswick
 
Oromocto, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Blue Canoe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing