We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margaree Riverview Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaree Forks
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I agree with other reviews that the rooms are clean but outdated. There are no touches that make you feel comfortable, we found the rooms quite sterile. Unlike other reviews we did not find the owner friendly, communicative, or helpful. We found services in the town lacking and, if we had to do it again, we would have just driven through to Baddeck for the night. It might be different if you were there to fish. I can't imagine spending a honeymoon there but each to his own.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We used this hotel as our homebase during our honeymoon for exploring Cape Breton. The room was a great value for what we paid. Yes there was outdated carpet, but the rooms were spotless, linens were very clean and the service was fantastic. We were thrilled that they were dog friendly and were pleased with the fresh towles and coffee for the machine each morning. We will definately be back.
Blaine and Amber

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was glad the room had an air conditioner.
It was 8:30PM. Owner did not answer phone when we needed extra towels that night of our stay.
Spiders by the bed and other places around the room. Towels did not smell fresh.
I was glad to be out of there the next morning.
I paid $110.00 Tax included for this place. Why??
Very disappointed. Manager was so nice to talk when we had booked the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is quiet, clean, very nice place in a beautiful neighbourhood. The owner saved our life by giving us the room in the middle of the night when all other motels and B&B were full or closed office. In several other motels we tried to call the owners on telephone numbers given on the piece of paper, but it always was only an answering machine.
We're very thankful for respecting the guests and being for them 24/7.
We definitely recommend this place! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I think average is a fair rating for this place. Couple of buildings, up on a small hill. Typical motel rooms, clean, new linens and towels, but really outdated bathroom, entry doors, windows. Has WiFi which even if not high speed it did the trick to check our emails.
The walls are cartoon thin and you could hear everything through them. I had a terrible night sleep because the snoring of the guy from the next room, really disturbing. The bed linens were new but not the mattress which had a moldy smell. Actually the whole room smelled moldy.
The price? 59.99 off season, 69.99 in season. It was the cheapest place we stayed. I guess the place is good for one night only but I would spend my whole vacation there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Room was clean, spacious, comfortable and a down right great value, especially when one considers where they are located. We spent 2 nights there and could not have been happier. Werner, the owner, is a true gentleman and his knowledge of the area is invaluable! We even got a flat screen TV the next night (ok, that was scheduled before we got there, but was really nice of the owner to do the change while we were there) Would we stay there again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the great. A/C will freeze you if you are not mindful of the settings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesAndTheresaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Margaree Riverview Inn is a picturesque, quaint, clean place to stay. It features an outdoor pool, movie channels, and cute two-bed units. The best feature about this inn, however, is the owner: Mr. Werner Buchhofer who is very accommodating to his guests, who are treated like non-estranged family. He goes above and beyond the call of duty to make his guests feel comfortable and welcome. He often puts in 16 hour days to ensure the satisfaction of his guests. We will definitely return to this fine establishment next time we are in Nova Scotia!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Savvy Savine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaree Forks
22.8 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
215 reviews
6.7 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
53 reviews
25.6 mi away
Aberdeen Motel
Aberdeen Motel
#2 of 2 in Whycocomagh
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Hebridean Motel
Hebridean Motel
#1 of 1 in Port Hood
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cajun Cedar Log Cottages
Cajun Cedar Log Cottages
#1 of 3 in Margaree Forks
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaree Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaree Riverview Inn

Address: 21045 Route 19 | Junction Cabot Trail, Margaree Forks, Nova Scotia B0E 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Forks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaree Forks
Price Range: $72 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Margaree Riverview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Baddeck and Cheticamp on the Cabot Trail our Inn is ideally situated to explore Cape Breton Island. Only minutes to the coastline of the Cabot Trail. Daytrips to Fort Louisbourg, golfing in Cheticamp, Baddeck, Dundee or Ingonish. Close to the entrance of the Cape Breton National Highland Park. Our property is situated on a hill overlooking the two rivers South West Margaree and North East Margaree joining in Margaree Forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Margaree Riverview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaree Hotel Harbour
Margaree Riverview Inn Margaree Forks, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing