We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is subject to availability!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort Hotel Genting Highlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything is subject to availability!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been to Genting several times since it is just a couple of hours drive from Singapore. Upon arriving at 4pm, i was greeted by the receptionist, Iqa, not impressed at all with her service and her attitude! Since i have booked two rooms and requested for rooms to be either interconnecting or near to each other, it is totally fine that room is not ready or they require a few minutes, To my disappointment, all Iqa said was "rooms are not ready, come back later" not a word of APOLOGIES for one of the best hotels in Genting Highland. when i enquired further as to how long it will take, all she replied was "i am not sure and i cannot tell you, it depends" 5 minutes is a time, 1 hour is a time, 2 hours is also a time?! so then i decided to ask her what time is the standard check in time, all she said was "3pm check in is subject to availability"?! seriously?!?!?! she started to be very harsh when replying to my question and thats why i got really frustrated and requested to speak to the higher management. Apparently, in Iqa's context, higher management is not the duty manager but another older lady wearing the same uniform as her who did not even introduce herself but went on to mention the same thing as what she said. it is fine that i have to wait but at least give me a time. i have check into other lower category hotels and the receptionist will apologize and give me an estimated time. it seems that they really dont get my frustration at all, NOT A WORD OF APOLOGIES! telling me that everything is SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY! Not giving me an ESTIMATED TIME! The managment really needs to work on the receptionist attitude since they are the first point of customer contact.

putting that unhappiness aside, i have to say that the concierge and porters were very friendly! when we ask them about other attractions, you can sense their sincerity to telling you other places etc.

Oh! not to mention the housekeepers who deliver the items were impressively quick! i called and they delivered within a minute. WOW!

Oh well, probably i was just unlucky to meet Iqa or maybe, she is just having a bad day that "nearly" ruin mine?

Room Tip: Everything is subject to availability :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    212
    91
    30
    13
See reviews for
174
128
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a room on the upper floors, with a theme park view. There was quite some noise from the theme park, but it is bearable since we were out mostly. The windows had a very refreshing view each morning, except for the day when it was totally foggy and not a thing could be seen. The room had a good size, and it was clean. The bed was somewhat comfortable and it felt like it had sunken in just a little bit. One thing to note is there is no air-conditioning system at all,

They had great decor in the lobby, I always felt welcomed when I was walking past the lobby and back into my room. Starbucks is very near the reception, and it provides free wifi. ;) Will definitely choose this hotel if I ever plan to return to Genting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nclsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dickson, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Never expected cleanliness to be an issue for such a hotel. Good thing that we booked 1 night only after watching a show.

Got into the room late and there was cigarette smell from the corridor right into the room. Did not bother making a fuss since it was late and it was just for 1 night.

The room looked as if it had not been properly cleaned for some time. You will get what I mean from the photos posted.

Maybe I was unlucky in getting a room that had yet to be refurbished but then again, it is no excuse when it comes to cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great value! Great weather! Great food!
Room is clean & spacious, staffs are friendly, unfortunately I can't get the non smoking room.
It's takes one and the half hour from Subang Jaya, Selangor to Genting Highland by car. Stop at Gotong Jaya for food is a must, it's serve good food and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christinaang64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was during a members promotion that we got to book this hotel with our points. after staying at first world hotel (should really be named third world hotel) umpteen times, Resort hotel was a pleasant surprise. I love the well designed toilet and the spacious room. Checking in was a breeze. We reached at abt 1 45pm and got our room in 5 mins. We had the room facing the themepark. During the day, you might hear screams (from the amusement rides of coz.) but it's silence at night. There is a Coffee Bean cafe at the lobby and Old town eatery at the basement.

Room Tip: Some hotel guests can be a little noisy (they talk very loudly). you might want to get a room furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zepsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have to wait quite long for check in. The receptionist service was good. We had a spacious room with comfortable bed. The complimentary was good and the toilet was clean. It was a pleasant stay after all. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoanVivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
387 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rooms have two vistages, one facing the valley or sometimes called city view and the other view facing the other hotels. Room is clean and spacious, supplied with toiletries, toothbrush and kettle with coffee/tea sachets.If you you need a shaver or a sewing kit, hotel will provide you with you foc. Many Tv channels including sports channel like espn,etc. Had stayed here many times. Wifi is available at hotel lobby and at Coffee Bean outlet. Hotel house the Resort Cafe and Kampong Restaurant, which provide a varieties of local foods. Special price catered for oldies 55 and above at specified time.

Actual check-in time is 3 pm, but if room is available, you may get your room earlier but on first come first served basis.

Not a bad place to stay. Stay on the lower floor, make sure you get valley facing room or else you will face the chimneys or exhaust duct (smells and vibration)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank new88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
0.0 mi away
Crockfords
Crockfords
#8 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Hotel Genting Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Hotel Genting Highlands

Property: Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Address: Genting Highlands Resort, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Hotel Genting Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel projects a sense of freshness with its bright and stylish modern decor. Set amidst the cool comfort and majestic landscape, this hotel also offers a wide range of amenities and facilities, both for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Resort Hotel Genting Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Genting Highlands
Genting Highlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing