We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Genting Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Genting Grand
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was a better place to stay at this location. The hotel is good value for money & provides good schemes and discounts wherever possible. There was a perception that the rooms and fitness is very bad, but I myself experienced it and found that the perception was wrong. My complete stay was taken care of. Very good location for an excellent stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarafsuraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 206 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel has very good view of the valley. The service is extremly very good. Great place for weekend trip. There are few casinos in its vicinity. The resorts are also very very good. The water park is amazing. There resorts are fun for kids. The rope way of about 20 min is very exciting. To reach Gen ting, there is bus and taxi also but the fun is in the rope way.

Room Tip: All rooms are in well position but some rooms are in the position where we see entire city. Higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djs482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel has very good view of the valley. The service is also very good.
Great place for weekend trip. There are few casinos in its vicinity. The resorts are also very good. The water park is amazing.
There resorts are fun for kids. The rope way of about 20min is very exciting. To reach Genting, there is bus and taxi service from KL central.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaurabhSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We travelled to Genting and stayed at the Maxim Suite Hotel.
This was the best hotel at Genting and all the rooms are suites which are very spacious.
The bathroom has a massive bath with a TV and a window that looks on to the mountains.
The view from the balcony was breath-taking, especially in the mornings when the mountains were surrounded by mist.
There are various activities at Genting but mainly the casinos and the theme parks.
There are many places to eat and the food was great in all the places we went.

A great experience but would not return to Genting as not a lot to do once you have been but the hotel was amazing and we could find no faults.

We travelled in May 2011

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mohammed m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Me and the wife went for the James Ingram concert up on Resorts World Genting and we decided to go for a stay up in the hills, for a refreshing and cooling break away from the hustle-and-bustle of humid KL. Instead of the First World or Resort Hotels, both of which we have stayed previously, we decided to splurge for the night and went for the Genting Grand (a la the Grand Hyatt of Resorts World Genting).

To be honest, this is my first stay in what was previously Genting Hotel and Maxims Genting, after more than 15 years (when it was still the Genting, in fact!). First impressions are always important and upon entering the Level 1 lobby, the former greenish-colored lobby has now been totally changed to one that is a beautiful white, with LED lights on the ceiling decor. Reception was a breeze and we then made our way to Room 7006, which was on Level 7.

The room was very luxurious and a far cry from the spartan atmosphere of 15 years ago. There was a nice queen-sized bed and an unfortunately small workstation-cum-dresser next to the window (which had no view, sad to say, as it faced the vents on the podium roof). The LCD TV was stuck on the wall, which meant a more spacious area in front of the bed. A glassy wardrobe was right next to the entrance foyer and together with the minibar was a Nespresso machine, which was a pleasant surprise as the only other time I used such a facility was at the Royal Plaza in Singapore!

As for the bathroom, two sinks are available, which meant that we did not have to queue up for brushing teeth! At the same time, there was a large standing shower with two heads (rain and hand showers) as well as a bathtub that could only be used for relaxation as this had no shower. The usual toiletries were provided although we were wondering why such a grand hotel had no hair dryer in the toilet (later found to be in one of the workstation's drawers).

For F&B, we had our snacks at the popular Bakery at the Level 1 lobby, which served great pastries including a delicious Seafood Cheese Croissant and Chicken Pie (explains why the place was crowded!). Another good and affordable food outlet is the Bubbles and Bites Cafe at the adjoining Maxims Genting (the former Highlands Hotel - equivalent to a Hyatt Regency). Of course, if you're looking to spend a bit more on fine dining (particularly after a big win at the casino!), you are welcome to go for the Olive's award-winning Continental cuisine or excellent Chinese food at Genting Palace.

In short, while the one night stay was pricey (around MYR650-plus), it was worth it as this is indeed true luxury at the Peak and a refreshing change from the crowd at the popular First World Hotel & Plaza!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on the higher floors (from Level 10 onwards) and with a view towards KL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Was disappointed that the in-room-safe wasn't working. There was also not very fresh looking fruits in the room. Was unable to switch off some lights near the beds (either whole room OFF or whole room ON). But the service there was one of the best. Staff was very polite and check in was very fast and easy.

Room Tip: There are better hotel worth a try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Before this trip, I had stayed in Genting's mid-range, big-size hotels, and found them much too spartan for my liking. This time, I opted for Genting Grand as the five-star option. Coupled with the highlands' rugged beauty and cool, misty air, I expected this to be the perfect romantic weekend. It wasn't.

To be fair, by local standards the hotel is exceptionally well-managed. Unlike in some hotels in Kuala Lumpur nowadays, the staff are hands-on, proactive, quick on their feet, and speak excellent English. You can tell there are billions of gambling dollars sloshing around, which makes customer safety and comfort a top priority - and to its credit, the hotel management recognizes that. Also, 99% of the visitors are well-to-do Chinese families from Singapore, China, Taiwan and Malaysia, and they demand decent service. The rooms are clean and comfy, the bathrooms modern and spotless, with water pressure/temperature possibly the best I've seen anywhere in Asia. There's a massive plasma TV with a decent range of movie channels. The parking was a letdown as we had to leave our car in the centralized parking structure and then trudge uphill with all our luggage to reach the hotel.

On the downside, the heavy emphasis on sound management gives the hotel facilities a bit of a clinical, factory-like feel. On a quick tour of the downstairs eateries, we found some of them completely empty, possibly as a result of charging up to USD 50 per entree (clearly, the Vegas concept of luring gamblers with affordable food and accommodation never took root in Asia; the Genting philosophy is "hey - they've got money to gamble, surely they've got money to spend on everything else"). In the end, we settled for a 'pay before you enter' buffet dinner in the lobby's main restaurant. In terms of drinks, the buffet was only inclusive of ice water, the rest we had to order separately (and, once again, pay for them the minute they arrived). The choice of main courses was limited; some of the Western dishes in particular seemed to run out quickly and were never replenished. What surprised me the most was that the place was overrun by rowdy toddlers; we found what we thought was a quiet corner table near a closed-off section of the restaurant, only to see it soon turn into an ad-hoc playground for kids running around and chasing each other.

The commotion continued as we got settled in our room at night. Our ceiling didn't stop shaking until well after midnight - apparently the family who were staying upstairs had traveled all the way up here just to have a door-slamming contest and to let their kids leap off the beds every 20 seconds. The only bit of peace and quiet we found was when we arrived for breakfast at 5:30AM the next morning - the only way, it appears, to avoid the 'hordes'. By the end of it, I was genuinely excited to be heading home. Overall, between the price tag and the experience we had, I truly don't see myself coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allele_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.8 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#7 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 11 in Genting Highlands
120 reviews
3.6 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
5.1 mi away
Berjaya Hills Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genting Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genting Grand

Address: Genting Highlands Resort, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia (Formerly Maxims Genting)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $222 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Genting Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genting Grand is the destination for those who aim for satisfaction, style and exclusivity. Coupled with the assurance that the comfort of home is never far away with the impeccable service and deluxe amenities extended. When you are at Genting Grand, you know you have reached a haven of luxury that is a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Genting Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxims Genting Hotel Genting Highlands
Genting Hotel
Malaysia Hotel Genting
Hotel Maxims Genting
Malaysia Genting
Genting Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing