We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1of the best stay in Genting but lower ur expectation.”
Review of Genting Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Genting Grand
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

To celebrate my husband and my bday on 12-12 we chose to stay here thinking it wld be really a luxurious stay... Stayed at Premier room. The beds are comfy and nice but toilet has bad sewage smell. Buffet breakfast is disappointing. Room cleaniness need to improve, saw a discarded fake lashes at same spot for days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 196 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel provide commode chair for the handicapped for bath which I think is a very good gesture.The staffs were simply wonderful and happy people in spite of their busy schedule
they kept their smile which gives the enviroment a good atmosphere and it is a truly a place for relaxation. It is a good place to escape with the family as it have everything for every member of the family and encourage family bonding.eg. arcade,dinning & shopping. ( should provide more shopping - something unique if possible)
THANKS for the escape and wonderful experience and special thanks to Ms Dayang who is very helpful as we were checking out . She handles her work professional in answering our questions and request.
WE will return again and recommend your hotels to our friends.

Room Tip: Connecting for families and high floor -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is a very nice hotel.All the staff are very nice and friendly as well.Everything is very great but one thing hotel need to do is to provide internet service or wifi in the hotel room.We have a very wonderfull trip and will recommend our friends to come here again.Its a must...thanks for the wonderful experience..

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissDianaJian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel provide personalize service and they have staff who always smile to you.They are also very helpful and friendly.The room is very clean and cozy.The environment is peacefull but the arcade area is very pack because of the school holiday.There are a lot of games but most of it are already old and can be upgrade.Overall im satisfied with the service provided and i wish the renovation will be finish when my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJack2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

good enviroment..comfortable...service execellence. ..nice view..was better than any others hotel at genting highland..is my first choice at genting..the only things need to improve is we need jaccuzzi in our room..and upgrade the wifi service of maxims room..

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank dennis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Only a short distance from Kuala Lumpur, a lot of stuff to do (think Vegas in Malaysia), and absolutely beautiful rooms and view! Service is a little to be desired, but overall a great experience. A little bit of a shame that the shops tended to be very American, but there was also some local flavor to be had.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesafestlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Poor attitude of reception staff,lack of WIFI and trying to charge you for any small inconvenience to them was our experience.
Unfortunately this hotel is not a 4/5 star by any stretch of imagination
Rooms are good size and bathroom is big and that is were the good points end.
Breakfast was ok although they do charge for small children so ensure you get a deal which has breakfast for the whole family and not just 2 adults.
The lobby looks like a market place and although they charge you for one exclusivity is definitely missing.
Another thing to note is they tell you about snack bar on arrival which is a complete lie.

Room Tip: Keep your expectations down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrandMrs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.2 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
115 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
1.9 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#7 of 10 in Genting Highlands
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genting Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genting Grand

Address: Genting Highlands Resort, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia (Formerly Maxims Genting)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $144 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Genting Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genting Grand is the destination for those who aim for satisfaction, style and exclusivity. Coupled with the assurance that the comfort of home is never far away with the impeccable service and deluxe amenities extended. When you are at Genting Grand, you know you have reached a haven of luxury that is a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Genting Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxims Genting Hotel Genting Highlands
Genting Hotel
Malaysia Hotel Genting
Hotel Maxims Genting
Malaysia Genting
Genting Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing