We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Genting Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Genting Grand
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We initially really wanted to stay at the first world hotel but that was completely booked. So Maxim was are second choice. We weren't sure how it would be but it pleasantly surprised us. The rooms were beautifully decorated - Modern, New and Warm. The hotel was very classy and didn't have the theme world vibe which we really appreciated. It was a more grown up sort of place to stay which was again a plus. The television was fabulous it had great channels and kept us entertained. The rooms had strange red paint marks on the walls which kinda freaked us out a bit. We also noticed that the beds had bugs. These were the only two negatives. But other then that its a top notch hotel. Its a great place to stay when visiting genting highlands.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nish x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
68
39
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great hotel! Clean and well organized items for guests. Very considerate. Titbits, drinks and cards are free when entering. Beds and Pillows are comfortable. Had a good night sleep at Maxims. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose higher levels. You get good view of the mountaineous Pahang
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meteorstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We travelled to genting as a couple for honeymoon.we were really happy with the hotel room and amenities. The room was quietly five star.for honeymooners like me we got the privacy and the royal treatment.we ate in spice garden restaurant which had a good indian food.the breakfast spread was nice.it had western,malay, chinese and japanese cusines.we were never deprived of indian food.overall nice experience

Room Tip: Take a room no 60 to 70 in any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Visusankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Among the 5 hotels at the peak of Genting Highlands, this is the most expensive to stay in. It definitely is a lot better than First World Hotel, in terms of service and everything else. I stayed in the Premier Room. There are a few things I found wanting though. First the glass window can be pushed out about 6 inches only. It is also opaque so can't get any outside view at all. Secondly, I went during the peak season and finding a place to park our car is a nightmare. Even if you take the public transport, there is no guarantee you can be sent right to the hotel. During the super peak season, vehicles are not allowed up if it gets too congested. So you may have to take the skyway up to the hotel and that will definitely cause inconvenience if you have a heavy luggage. Thirdly there is no internet access even in the premier room.
However there is easy accessibility to the attractions in Genting like the theme parks, etc. So once you check into the hotel you can just walk around these places of interests. I have posted lots of photos and reviews of this place in my blog. You may view them at anythinglily.blogspot.com

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lilyllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Liked: hotel lobby was attractive. Room was "pretty". Breakfast was very good (not quite as good as Hotel Istana, but better range of food). Location was close to everything, and early morning views were gorgeous.
Disliked: room was not clean (and I took photos to prove how unclean it was), eg. Cups dirty, showerscreen covered in soap scum, pubic hair on bathroom floor, and something like toothpaste on the side table. None if this was fixed during our stay. No hanging space except for one small towel hook, so clothes washing was near impossible. for the price, I was also disappointed there was no club lounge or Internet access. Overall, hotel felt disorganized.
Summary: if you want to stay at a pretty, but impractical hotel, this is it. This was the biggest disappointment of a hotel for our entire trip. Next time we will stay at Themepark Hotel again - is was much better value for money. Themepark hotel, while not as pretty, was a lot more enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryRoads71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

There are more than 5 to 6 hotels in the Genting Highlands, but Maxims is the best of them all.
The reception staff was quick in checking us in and the rooms were very nicely furnished with modern decor and the bathroom was very spacious ,
I suggest that you take. Room with a view.
We couldn't get one ad they were running full and anyways when we stayed it was so cloudy we could hardly see anything outside.
The hotel is connected very well to the Outdoor as well as the indoor theme parks,
We just had to take a few escalators down and we were there in the theme park and the Plaza.
My 2 year old daughter had a very good time,
The breakfast was very elaborate with so many different cuisines for all kind of travellers.

Overall a wonderful experience !

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floor to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at the Maxims Genting from 3 January to 5 January 2012 and my entire stay was was very pleasurable. The hotel is located at the highest point of Genting and commands a panaromic view of the hill. The service, right from the check in to check out is superb. The rooms are big and well furnished and the buffet breakfast is the most extensive I have had anywhere in the world. Genting is a family holiday location and Maxim Genting is the star of this location. I recommend this hotel highly.
One word of caution for firsttime travelers to Genting. If you are traveling from Kuala Lumpur beware that the excellent 6 lane highway takes only 1 hour to cover the distance butthe difference in temperature, particularly if you arrive in the evening, is almost 16 to 18 degrees celsius, Please keep yourself adfequately covered in woolies or else face the possibility of catching a bad chill, like I did. Genting is literally up in the clouds and covered in swirling mist early in the morning and in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akhtar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.2 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crockfords
Crockfords
#7 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genting Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genting Grand

Property: Genting Grand
Address: Genting Highlands Resort, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia (Formerly Maxims Genting)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Genting Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genting Grand is the destination for those who aim for satisfaction, style and exclusivity. Coupled with the assurance that the comfort of home is never far away with the impeccable service and deluxe amenities extended. When you are at Genting Grand, you know you have reached a haven of luxury that is a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Genting Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxims Genting Hotel Genting Highlands
Genting Hotel
Malaysia Hotel Genting
Hotel Maxims Genting
Malaysia Genting
Genting Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing