We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Club Room”
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed December 19, 2009

You won't regret choosing the World Club Room. It worth a penny for being big room with full amenity. No long wait during check in as there's a separate queue for club room hardly with more than 5 person in the queue. No need to squeeze with others for breakfast where you could have your breakfast at the executive lounge. Only was the hotel service was not up to it standard. Could not even supply a baby cot even I wrote to them 1 month ahead before my trip. No one turn up even I complaint on the safe not working although the housekeeping got my message.
Not recommended to travel there during the peak period. Every where were crowded with people, long queuing for games in the theme park and food as well. The food and water were over price although some restaurant do provide very nice dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank keecheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,400 - 2,406 of 2,929 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2009

I will never stay in this hotel again. There are just too many people staying there, and everywhere you go is very noisy. The rooms are not sound proof, we could hear sounds from people staying next door: closing of rooms, yawning loudly, sounds of TV, etc. The worst thing is, we could smell smoke from people's cigarettes every now and then. The TV programmes offered and breakfast choices are rather limited. Services are not very good as well. E.g. we requested for an extra pillow but was informed that they didn't have extra. Our TV was not plugged in and the staff just used a pencil to poke the plug hole and plug the two-pinned plug in, not very safe. However, if you just want an accommodation with low prices, this should be fine.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LayWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I'm simply in awe after visiting and staying at the First World in Genting Highlands! The place was full to capacity and it has at least 15000 rooms, and more people trying their luck to get a room and yet they are so efficient and good. You don't get luxury in a regular room, unless you book a suite or a deluxe, but you're not going to be in your room, are you, in Genting!??
The most amazing part was to watch how they organized serving the breakfast buffet on the 8th level, and that too at peak season with the hotel going beyond full capacity! Simply impressive!!
Everything was so smooth and we really didn't need anyone or anything, because this hotel has good experience and makes arrangements for everything.
What can work better (in fact, in the whole of Malaysia) is for more INFORMATION, free maps, etc. to be put around the place to assist tourists.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank PearlJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I chosen a deluxe room when i check than i realize the room is so small & i can't even walk.There is no tooth brush & cabinet & don't even think of fridge.The TV is a very small & old TV & the view of the room is great when i look through the window i can see through the other hotel room & happen that some 1 is changing wow!The best experince is i need to wait for 2 hrs to check in after i had check in,i realize that there is such a machine call self check in kiosk which i can put in my genting world card and check in within 5 mins.When i approach the service staff,they guide me to the counter & make me get the que number & wait for 2 hrs.The self check in kiosk is so empty no 1 is using it it is very obvious no 1 bother to bring the guest over.This the worst hotel i ever stay in my entire life.Those hotel in the 3rd world country is even better than this!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Hi! About the First World Hotel , I would like to write a line " Its not a big deal to construct the biggest hotel(in terms of rooms and area) the important thing is that every guest that visits you gets attention and the service they deserve" We visited on the day which was supposed to be a off season and in mid week but still it took arounf 1hr to check in. The room was very basic and small - a place whre youc an just come and sleep. If you have few luggage thre is hardly and space to walk, our room did not have a view . But the rooms were clean and maintained. For the breakfast you can imagine the croud and rush... It took around 10-15 minutes to reach the room from the lobby.

The only advantage of this hotel is that the Theme Park ,Casino,Food Plaza and every thing else are in the same campus and if you are here for 1-2 days you will not need to go out at all.

And at any point of time you see cround coming from all direction.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SLall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

The largest hotel in Asia is pretty overwhelming, starting from the check-in itself.

With a check-in lounge as large as some airports that I've seen, and an a crowd as bad as a few Indian railway stations, it starts to get pretty unnerving from the first impression. While the lobby is pretty well decorated, the entire check-in process of getting into a queue to get the queue token number, followed by waiting for your token number to be called on the LCD displays is pretty upsetting for anyone.

I saw people sitting on their baggage for lack of space, children crying from the discomfort of waiting, and travellers sleeping on the floor. It was a very third world feel in Hotel First World.

After nearly an hour long wait for the check in, and 10 minutes of navigating the huge hotel corridors to the room turned out to be another disappointment, as the room was pretty bare bones compared to our expectations.

With self service for things as basic as drinking water, no options for tea/coffee in the room, no remote for the tiny television, no air conditioning and no shampoo/cream in the bath room, First World forms a pretty sad choice for a holiday.

It might make sense for business travellers, who are looking for economy, but leaves a very sour taste for honeymooners. I'm not sure how the other hotels in Genting compare, but the First World would be a strict no-no based on my experience.

PS: The reason my travel agent booked First World against my better judgement was that it was supposedly very well connected to the Theme park and the Casino. If your travel agent gives you this line, then dis him, since *everything* in Genting is very well connected to *everything* else, i.e. once you are in one of the Hotels in Genting, you pretty much don't even need to brave the outside weather for getting to any other hotel/theme park/restaurant/casino etc.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brilliantnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

At the outset, it took 1 hour to check in, even though they have atleast 50 checkin counters,if am right and so many formalities. But they manage this huge hotel(6000 app. rooms) quite ok. Not for honeymoon purposes as the room are shabby with no proper facilities. Everything small be it room,toilets, no tub. As soon as enter room u encounter a stone age Television with very few channels. Wash basin outside toilet as if staying in a lodge. They gave me a 2 single bed and it took me another 30 minutes to change room and that too was similar with only 6*4 or so bed being apart.
Only saving grace being the beautiful and large lobby,sometimes u are lost by its sheer size.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROHITBAPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 12 in Genting Highlands
475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 12 in Genting Highlands
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 12 in Genting Highlands
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 12 in Genting Highlands
118 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
2.1 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#7 of 12 in Genting Highlands
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $18 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing