We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Genting”
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Jakarta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Genting”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The extraordinary about this hotel that you can have a self check in through their machines so it killed the queuing time, but for new comer like us we desperately need information how to do the check in so we are queuing to see the reception.

The room has no aircon but still you feel like you want to turn off the aircon because it's really cold especially during night and morning. We had a room that facing to another room in other building, can't see anything but windows. Cleanliness of the room is perfect, the bed also comfortable.

The good things about this place is that you are going to be busy all day exploring this place. So many places to see and enjoy.

Unfortunately when we visit this place, the outdoor theme park is under renovation, but still enjoy our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funky_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    855
    1,038
    282
    230
See reviews for
1,209
682
69
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed with my family and as massive the building is, I was expecting better rooms. But it was not up to my expectations. The hotel has the longest Reception ever seen in my whole entire life and due to that staffs do their thing in routine, like robots. Though the hotel has a wide variety of entertainment for the whole family, my impression to that, is the hotel is more of a mall than a hotel. The location is not up to what it's worth. It is on top of the highlands and it is difficult to find a convenient shuttle back to city centre Kuala Lumpur or to Singapore.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunkissed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just went back from KL bonus trip with few work-mates.
We stayed in this hotel for 1 night only.
This hotel is very huge. They have thousands of room. and the space is acceptable. There are no air-conditioned only ceiling-fan. But anyway, the weather is quite ok. Around 20-24 celcius.
This might the cheapest hotel in the area. If you plan to be in the casino the whole trip, them this hotel is suitable for you.
We stayed in a group of 10.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I went to Genting highlands somewhere on 14 February 2014. We checked in the deluxe room. To our dismay, the room space is small, there is no air-conditioning. The windows are too near to opposite hotel rooms. No toiletries given. The TV has no good channels. I've got nothing else to say about this hotel except for its location. Basicallt its an average room for tourist who there for the casino.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus_x24x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have heard many negative comments about First World Hotel. And I must say that I was pleasantly surprise by what I get when I finally chose to stay in Jan 2014.

The rooms are newly refurbished, so its all clean and bright. No doubt room size is not as large, but hey, for the price we paid (less than RM100), I have no complain at all, in fact the room size really are not that small, as compared to those in hk / spore.

Despite the size of the hotel, checking in and checking out is unbelievably easy using their self check in kiosk. I spent less than 2 minutes.

The only thing was the blanket, it was way too thin. The temperature was really low when we were there, around 10' or less at night, so we were freezing!!! and had to cover up using our jacket.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an outside view. I heard there are rooms with no view, or no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsonKho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked a DELUXE ROOM at First World Hotel for 4D3N last Feb 2014 and I would say that we had a great time during our stay. We arrived at the hotel around 7PM on a Friday night, quite late already so I was a bit worried about getting a good room. Fortunately, with the help of the hotel assistants stationed in the kiosk, we got a great room in the 24th floor of Tower 1.

We were happy to see the deluxe room. It was very clean, spacious, no smell and had a great city view. It has a 22inch LCD mounted on the wall with a very clear reception and some good channels. The room is equipped with basic furnitures and equipment but very functional, like the mini fridge, ceiling fan, tea or coffee facilities, a safety deposit box and soft single beds with clean sheets. You can also get unlimited potable hot or cold water whenever you need one in the water dispenser located near the elevators.

The toilet is clean, equipped with hair dryer, soap and shampoo in a dispenser, toilet paper, shower cap and 3 medium sized towels. The water pressure is strong and the temperature can be adjusted accordingly. The size of the toilet is just right, the only problem I saw is that the opening of the door is inward and before you can reach the shower area, you have to squeeze yourself beside the toilet seat and the sink and close the door. If the customer is quite a big guy, that would be a hassle. I think the door should be opened outward or replace it with a Bifold or Sliding Door. They also have daily housekeeping and would even call and ask if you need one.

The First World Cafe is a nice place too, a bit crowded though especially on weekends and holidays. The breakfast spread is plenty of good tasting food like fresh eggs, chicken hams or sausages, fried noodles, steamed buns, breads, curry and paratha with unlimited coffee or juices. They also have a good selection of dinner from main course, salads, soups to desserts. If you are a very fuzzy customer and a picky eater, I don't think this is the place for you. Better go to a 5-star hotel or a very fancy restaurant in Genting but be prepared to pay some more.

We had fun during our stay in Genting and First World Hotel. Most of the staff and personnel we met were accomodating and helpful if not all. Terima Kasih!

Room Tip: When you're in the check-in counter, don't be shy to tell the staff about your room preferen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverstarjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is good specially from location point but if you require hotel with good services then definitely it is not a good choice. There is no wifi, no in room services, rooms are very small. But in genting, people only go for enjoying rides, casinos and shows which are no doubt good.

Room Tip: Try to get the room before lunch as after lunch, rooms with sunshine gets exhausted and you are allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
2.1 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Property: First World Hotel
Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing