We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average-Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Islamabad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average-Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

It is an ideal-budget place for families who have kids and want to enjoy rides and indoor theme Park. Nothing much as compared to other hotels of Malaysia. There r shops to cater with needs of shopaholics (they have everything exp). Outdoor theme Park is closed, so don't expect much. Good to stay for a night and enjoy pleasant weather, that's all at the moment, this place offers you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabeeShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    832
    1,015
    275
    224
See reviews for
1,185
664
64
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The first thing you may notice about the hotel is the huge lobby with check in counters like an international airport. The basic room is quite inexpensive and a no frills. You may have to help yourself with water and absolutely no room service. Rooms are clean with stupendous views of the mountains.

Best thing about the hotel is the accessibility to the outdoor and indoor theme park and casino. The hotel houses the indoor theme park and casino.

The check in for us was seam less. There are self check in and check out counters which is great. You can avoid Qs.

Room Tip: Get a non smoking floor at higher levels. You may have outstanding view. Vegetarian option in the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is our 2nd time we've stayed at First World. Not because we like, but so far First World is the cheapest compare to the others hotel.
As we stay outside most of the time, so the cheapest the better!!

The room was very basic. The bed was large & very comfortable.

There are no toiletries provided. Just a built-in soap dispenser by the sink and shower area.

Breakfast was a good assortment of continental and other items.

Don't have high expectations and you'd be alright with what First World Hotel offers. If with limited budget, this is the hotel to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Big hotel with so many rooms and probably the busiest lobby in the world with thousands of people queuing up for checking-in and walking pass by. It looked more like a busy train station than a hotel lobby. The room and bathroom looked old and was badly maintained and we had to move room in the middle of the night due to broken power outlets. The bed was poor and pretty much the same story with everything in the room.

On the plus side, the view from room was stunning looking over the mountains. The location was pretty impressive, right there at the First World Plaza with all the shops and restaurants open til early morning. Starbucks at the lobby opened 24-hour, which was a bit helpful to getaway from the poor room. We weren't there for casino, so no comment on that.

Room Tip: The mountain view room is worth it, don't forget to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The main attraction is that it is next to the theme park. Otherwise , it is more like a college dormitory. The rooms are small and cleanliness just adequate. The dining area is like an industrial canteen, albeit of better standards. As long as you do not ask for anything personalized, the stay would be OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at First World in less than a year. Not because we like it so much, but all other hotels are usually fully booked. I'm most impressed with the continuing improvements to the checking in-out and service in general.

I did a review on its rooms and facilities earlier.So I won't go into details. We are not Casino devotees, so the rooms and surroundings are important to us. There are connecting rooms available but you'll probably need help from the service desk to get one. Call in advance if you need triple share rooms. If you are using the self check-in kiosk, ask for help. If you can't get any better rooms than the standard one, opt for the highest possible floor. This way, you'll at least get some sunlight - the room won't feel so miserable.

For a place catering to so many people 24/7, it's amazing the staff can keep it together. The worst service we had was at McDonalds. Don't expect service at non 5-star places, and you'll be ok.

If you are trying to get away from the haze in KL - sorry, you can't escape 100%. At that altitude, it's not so bad. One can breathe without a mask but you can't escape the smell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentBroccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Room was exceptionally small and zero maintenance. No extra services provided to the couple like complimentary dinner or wine bottle instead provided a twin bed to the couple. 21 inch television without remote. Blanket that we get in trains during our travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanuj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
0.3 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
16.3 mi away
No photo provided
Fan Holiday Hotel
#245 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Property: First World Hotel
Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing