We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
First World Hotel, Resorts World Genting
Nearby Hotels
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel(Genting Highlands)
$74
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maxims(Genting Highlands)
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awana Hotel(Genting Highlands)
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resort World Genting(Genting Highlands)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$52
$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
DZH Health Resort Club(Genting Highlands)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genting View Resort(Genting Highlands)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,059)
Filter reviews
3,059 results
Traveler rating
368
941
1,151
321
278
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
941
1,151
321
278
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworld club roomoutdoor theme parknew towersnow worldmini fridgecable carnice viewweathercloudsskyclimateavenue
Filter
Updating list...
1,681 - 1,686 of 3,059 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you ever felt like staying in a jungle.... This is the place for you !

The whole place seems to be trolling with people from morning to night. The term "WAITING" should be the theme of this hotel. Be preparaed to wait ! Wait to check in, wait for bell service, wait for the lift, wait at restaurant, wait for room service, wait for wait for everything !

The worst will be probably during checking in. As a tourist hotel, buses seem to unload more people every 30 minutes and the queue to check is like queueing for to buy lottery. It's terrible ! Since i booked a World Club room, I got a "special" queue ticket and was allowed to sit. But I still waited for 20 minutes to check in.

Apart from being in a crowd everytime and taking a longer time to walk everywhere, the hotel is grand and there is a sense of awe of his massive size. The World Club room is nice and spacious and the view from the higher floors is riveting. You can see the fog forming beneath and I had great sunrise view in the morning.

The restaurant food are pricy and the taste is satisfactory. It's cheaper to walk to the connecting casino and mall to have your lunch or food. The service from the staff is acceptable but I do get a feeling that they are overwhelmed in handling the large crowd. Most have an exchasted face ! Perhaps that's the price you pay for working in the World's Largest Hotel !

Genting Highlands by itself has something for everyone. Amusement for the kids, shopping for the ladies and gaming for the gentleman. If you have all the free time for leisure and are not claustrophobic, this hotel will suit you fine.

Again, "BE PREPARED TO WAIT"

Room Tip: Request for higher floors when you book online.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeshra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are lucky enough got a deluxe room with mountain view, birthday free room offered with Genting Reward card, the deluxe room is spacious, come with mini fridge, hairdryer, most importantly and a coffee table and 2 chairs that Standard room don't come with, we fully utilize the coffee table and fridge, sitting on the chairs by the view to enjoy our own bring cakes and beverages, hot and drinking water is provided on every floor corridor, so we able to make our very own mushroom soup and instant noodle. Go ahead and have some fun at the Casino, win enough for some drinks at Starbucks, lose a bit treat it as entertainment fee, but don't overly invest into it. Just have some slight comment on the bed, too hard for me.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room and above, no for Standard room, remember request for mountain view and high floor that lesser tourists.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GetawayL0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

the room is small but the location is super.
the bathroom also the same, too small..
at least the hotel is nearby to amusement park and easy to access.
the check in process may cost you time as they have many room (6000++), but no excuse as there lots of front desk counter at the lobby..
nothing much change (i use to work in Genting Highland) after coming back here 5 years ago..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hara_adi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is how I would like to describe my first hand experience with the famous First World Hotel Resort which claims to have its name in Genies book of record

Property & Location:

Huge ==Huge Hotel built on hilltop with 6118( or so number of) Rooms as claimed by hotel that it has its name in genius book of record

Climate:

It is fairly cold out side but hotel temperature is comfortable


Best Way TO Travel To Hotel

One can travel directly by bus ; taxi Cab or Private car from Kula Lampur but best way is to leave the taxi it at Skyway cable car base station, from where it is a 16 - 20 minute ride in safe cable car up to the summit of Genting .This part of journey is experience in itself ;every one irrespective of age enjoys it and surrounding view while climbing from 3000 ft to 6000ft in cable car is thrilling .I asked the taxi driver with language to please take my language by road and to meet at end point of cable car to take me to hotel

Check In:

Long waiting =varying from 1 to 2 hours or more .Only pre-booked guest is allotted rooms. The procedure and waiting may drive a guest to limit of insanity ;It is madness all around in crowded waiting hall; every body anxious and confused as when the room will be allotted and he/she will be able to go out to enjoy for which they have come here all the way .Never experienced such a system any where
I believe with little application of mind (as only pre-booked guest are allotted rooms) the system can be improved and whole process can be completed in few minutes. In this era of modern technology it is very much possible and will be of great relief to guests

The procedure is following
.First stand In Q with papers in front of a token counter and obtain a token bearing a number which may take 20 to 40 minutes depending upon rush. Now wait in the waiting hall ; which is over crowded ( with no staff in sight to offer any help) looking anxiously at the board showing token numbers and counter number to get room allotted. Usually It is lunch time .Hotel staff do ot go on unch but guests may feel hungry.If they have children with them children may create trouble as they can not tolerate hunger for long. Check in time is after 12 onward ;and it may take 2 or more hours to be completed .Only ice cream vender is there to provide some relief to your stomach .It is advised that one should have lunch on the way before reaching hotel. It is not necessary that one gets a room the type for which one has booked. It depends on availability One may get a lower grade room .The room allotment counters are very slow to clear room allotments.

Porters

Most non cooperative ;very greedy ;will not bring luggage in the room unless promised heavy amount of money for doing so ; It took 40 minutes and five visits to the porter counter with request and promise for heavy “tip” that the language was brought to my room. We had horrifying experience at check in time with porters so at the time of check out we decided to pull our luggage one by one ourselves to waiting lobby and we started at 11.30 to complete it by 12 when room access card will stop functioning and luggage if any will be locked in side room

Cceck Out

Simple as one has just to drop room key card in a kiosk .Even if one does not drop the card ; one will be deemed to have check out as room will be automatically locked and key card will not work after 12 on check out day

Room

Not Very comfortable .We had booked a Superior Deluxe room as we were three persons; but with one extra bed there was hardly any space to move in the room. Although we paid for three persons; tea bags ;milk whitener etc. and bath room toiletries were supplied only for two person per day as per hotel policy It is a good way to rob the guests .Tea maker etc were of old model. Out side view from my room was good as we could see clouds and spiral shaped hill road

The First of Its Kind Notice paste in bath room

I have seen for the first time a notice being permanently pasted warning the guest of being persecuted and jailed for theft of items Very insulting experience .Hotel thinks that all the guest are thief. It is better that room boy should take care . So at time of check out I called the room boy and got every item checked of the room and of bath room and I advise the guest to please follow it while checking out

Hotel ‘Reception & Room boy

Room boys are hardly seen; bed linen are not changed daily except towels and soap etc.Hotel staff and reception staff are not very cooperative and do not provide correct and prompt informations .Portes most non cooperative

Dinning

Costly .However Indian vegetarian and Indian Jain food are available in plenty in restaurant attached called as First World Café ;They give concession on food items to senior citizen but how it is calculated on different hour slots could not be comprehended by me .Even if one stays in other hotels ‘one can come and eat here as every hotel is with in walking distance

Miscellaneous

Good shops; attached indoor theme park

Plus Points

Read’s may find plenty of negative points in above write-up. However outstanding plus point is food quality in restaurant especially for Indian Vegetarian in different section and one may add to it simple check out procedure

Recommendation:

I am reluctant to recommend this hotel as other good options are available; except pure India vegetarian food ;so stay in other hotel and have lunch and dinner here .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dr Narottam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We will stayed in first world hotel everytime we went to Genting. No choice but only this hotel as the few others only for open booking for members with silver card and above.

This time we stayed in tower 1, the previous stayed were all in tower 2. The room is slightly different from tower 2, with a lcd tv on the wall, a long side wall table but still dim. If they can add a table lamp for us to write or read near the side table will be better. The toilet is still small. Even though they provide 3 in 1 soap, but please add a rack in the shower place for us to put our own shampoo, shower gel all that instead of put in on the floor.

This hotel is always busy. with watson, cafe & bookshop around, it's convenience for all your daily needs.

Some of the theme park are closed for maintenance. The weather in Genting is slightly warmer than last year. The food in Genting is more costly than in KL.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATTLWSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews