We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was adequate :)”
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed April 12, 2013

First of all if you are willing to venture to Genting then you would not be going for peace and quiet! This place is more than adequate. The rooms are decent and nice although the housekeeping could have been better. The place is active through the night. On the flip side the restaurant at the ground floor significantly curtails its menu pretty early. Also this place does not have room service. breakfast arrangements were not upto the mark. if you do not go early, you would end up waiting for ages. the biggest plus is the location and the very good access to the gambling areas.

Room Tip: In case you are booking online please select the World Class option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eagles316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,713 - 1,719 of 2,966 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel room was okay and clean, spacious. Bathroom also big ( bath tub and shower) with towel, hair dryer and sleepers. But why sometimes the room door was hard to get that opened ( using magnetic card). I like Skyway Cable Car. Helpful stuff but it was very long time waiting when we were check in and check out.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Rinawati H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Me and my wife stay here on our honeymoon trip. Entrance of the hotel is amazing, nobody else can match this. Hotel staff was very nice and cooperative. Our check in check out was very smooth. They arranged everything to nicely. Also food at their cafeteria was excellent, lot of variety. Your should try it without calculating more about it.

Room Tip: I guess all the rooms are good. Try to get the rooms with hill view. Its amazing as you can see clou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vinod_Sirohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's the cheapest stay in Genting Highlands. You're not expected to spend time in the bedroom so expect near zero room facilities. A ceiling fan is all there is, not even an air cond.

Roommate got rashes from bed linen, suspect bed bugs. Suggest not to use the bed linens.

There much to do in Genting - gamble at the two casinos, have fun at the large amusement park, attend concerts, spoilt for choices to shop and dine. We were there specially to catch Lee Hom concert on Friday night.

If you are a regular, Genting sends you invites for free stays hoping that you will loose some money at the casinos. Do sign up for the free Genting membership programs to be invited back.

Gotta give credit to Genting's fantastic check-in system. Use the check-in kiosk located opposite the reception. You'll be done in 15 seconds! Can even request for second set of room keys too. Been to many hotels around the world but nothing come close to Genting First World's check-in system. Check-out just as easy. Just slot in the room key cards at the kiosk located outside the lifts.

Food wise, highly recommend to dropby the food court located at the second floor. Very reasonable prices for quality hawker food. Fare are much better than the ones served at fast food outlets and pricy restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank contactleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time visit at first world hotel. stayed in hotel in March 2013.


Checked in was painful Waited more than 30 minutes for our turn. Front desk service is quite disappointing; without volunteering to explain Our room number( floor, room number).

Our room has twin bed, LCD TV (Not Working & no one bothered), No Room Service, No fridge with only 2 PLASTIC GLASS. No coffees and tea, no complimentary mineral water, overall very clumsy rooms not at all classy; not what I would expect of a 'world club room'. Bathroom & toilets are very small it will e difficult for person more than 5 feel 5 inch toll to take bath fixtures are old.

Facing the theme park overall view is okay but the noise from the theme park and the generators.

Room Tip: Better to get a good night's sleep facing the valley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelkarsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is world's largest hotel with 6,118 rooms! availability is not a problem. I booked a super deluxe room two days before my arrival. Room was spacious and well maintained. Bathroom was clean and well maintained; had a bath tub too. All essentials were there in the room (electric kettle with enough supplies, water bottles, bathroom slippers, locker, adequate towels and pillows). Don't expect any room service with hotel managing so many guests at a time.There is a waiting at check-in counters too but still well managed. Excellent views of the city from upper floors. Indoor activities continue till 2 AM; theme parks, casino, restaurants. The venue is full of crowd and activity; not a place for people who are looking for quiet and peaceful place but who comes to Genting resort for peace?
Overall, a must visit and a value for money.

Room Tip: Opt for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dheeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well I think this is indeed gotta be the cheapest hotel around. For RM79 for a room with 2 beds, I think It is quite worth it. Don't expect it to be super grand and luxurious since that's the price paid for. Aside from that, food around here is pricey, but what can you do when you're on a highland.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#5 of 11 in Genting Highlands
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
205 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
10.7 mi away
Tumike Hotel
Tumike Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bentong
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $17 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing