We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free for Malaysian to check in”
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed for one night in Deluxe room in December 2012 and February 2013 during peak season. It was very efficient for Malaysian travellers if you have a valid identity card as I took lesser than 5 minutes to check in using the check in kiosk.

The room is slightly bigger for a deluxe room than standard room. It has the largest number of rooms for a hotel as per world record. I dont have much complaints about this hotel as it is used for sleeping only as the rest of the day,I went out for theme park and casino.

The check out process is also very efficient as we could check out using kiosk.

Room Tip: Check in using the kiosk if you are Malaysian with a valid Malaysian identity card for fast efficien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcusAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,757 - 1,763 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

my first impression of the hotel was..."big hotel but tiny room". I am totally impressed with the hotel lobby not knowing that the room is soo tiny and can't even has space with my luggage in it. But....the i cant deny the warm and good hospitality given by every single hotel worker there. My father unfortunately need to be brought to the hospital via ambulance when we stayed there. i was suprised with the facility and assistance provided by the hotel manager in making sure the safety and the need of its guest esp. in an emergency case like my dad. I am really greatful for the assistance given by the hotel manager and I highly recommended this hotel esp to those who actually not that well but wanting to experience genting, because i asure you the help and assistance given is beyond expectation. Thank you....I will for sure will come back again....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LinaAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I travelled in Feb 2013, the hotel is amazing, given that in my life I have never seen a hotel with 6000 rooms.

Beautifully located, lovely check in process for World Club Room Guests, feels sorry for normal guests as the queue for check-in was way too long.

Nice decent size rooms, clean, lovely bathrooms and most importantly it was at 24th floor, so the view benath was stunning and breathtaking. Again, normal rooms are of a mediocre size and am sure people booking that would feel too suffocated given the size and structure.

Its a nice hotel, but given the size and no of rooms, you feel too much of a crowd all around you and the place is constantly buzzing with noise. At times its irritating and you beg for silence.

For Indian vegetarian food lovers, you have First World Cafe & Spice Garden (Genting Highlands) which serves decent veg food. Breakfast again is good at First World Cafe. For all Indian Jain Travellers, there is no choice but to eat Jain food at the above mentioned places, not to say that they serve non-veg too.

First World Genting is way to good at technology usage, the ease of check-out, ease of check-in using kiosks is brisk, simple and quick. Only pointing factor is the hotel oesnt provide Wi-Fi services.

Climate wise, we faced around 10 degrees throughout our stay and during our interactions with locals, we also got to know that throughout the year Genting has similar climate. So its better to keep some thermal or wollen stuff along.

Activity wise, Genting first world hotel is buzzing with Indoor and Outdoor Theme Park activities, but the activities do not seem to have much of an added value or fascination factor towards them. Dont know why they are so over-hyped. Casino is fun and open all throughout, this is one good cool thing.

Possibly can give this place a miss, nothing much to crave about. But if going, please book World Club Rooms only.

Room Tip: Genting is way too over hyped, possibly people can give it a miss. But still incase if one wants to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJIT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

You could spend very little to stay here if you had time to book ahead through travel sites (say just US$40+). The room would be good enough for two adults without breakfast.

Inexpensive but superb quality food is available on L2 food courts. Hourly free shuttle to the nearby Chinese Temple is just at the Bus Terminal of the Hotel (No timetable at the Stop ! ), which would be worthwhile visiting if you take time to walk along the hillside constructions or take steps to crawl up the nine storey pagoda. Anyway, scenery from there is fascinating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_HKSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had been to malaysia & then to Genting First World hotel had huge queue for check in it took almost one hour & rooms were too tiny without any toileteries. Food was it ground floor very average . main attraction seems to be casino . entertainment rides were good & effordable food outside. kids will definately enjoy the rides .

Room Tip: higher floors will have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyDMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went there recently for Chinese New Year. Hotel was fully booked!!! Funny though - there was no way to book for any rooms - whether through booking agents like Agoda or their own website. But my brother-in-law is a member and could secure 2 rooms even at very last minute!!!

The room size is okay considering we did not pay for it (got the room through exchange points). But the toilet and bathroom is miserably small. There is no place to hang any clothes or even your towel when you are taking your shower. I have to get out of the bathroom to a common area (where the wash basin is located and does not have any privacy from the rest of the room other than a wall) to change into my clothes.

Very basic but has a water jug where we could get some free hot water from the area near the lift. So not too bad.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank judyksp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I travelled to this hotel during my honeymoon.it is the worst hotel,I have ever stayed in my life. It's not worth to be called a hotel, but a big hostel.rooms are tiny, and huge queues for check in and check out. I stayed for just one night, and promised wont return ever. No water or any service in any room. If you want the minimum facilities of any hotel, don't ever go to first world. It's cheap but I feel that it's better t spend time in stations rather than staying in hotels like these.i actually got my money refunded from the agent who booked this hotel for me.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#5 of 11 in Genting Highlands
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
205 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
10.7 mi away
Tumike Hotel
Tumike Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bentong
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $16 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing