We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, definitely will come back !!!”
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, definitely will come back !!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's pretty far walking distance from the sky train station, we had to walk for about 20 - 30 minutes until we arrived at the hotel's lobby. When we got there, we stood in line to the registration desk for about 5 minutes and got a check in card (we booked the hotel long before we went there from iHoliday - www.rwgenting.com). After that, we went to the check-in kiosk and within less than 5 minutes, we already checked-in. But there was a little problem, though. When we got into our room, apparently they gave us a twin bed room, which I actually booked a double bed room, so we went back to the lobby and had to wait for about 30 minutes to process the room switching.

But anyway, after we got what we wanted, it's really satisfying. The room was big, neat and clean and everything worked just fine. The bed was quite comfortable. The view was great from the window, we can see the cliffs with the fog and everything. The room temperature was nice, quite chilly but not so cold at night. We could take as much water as we want since they had a water dispenser near our room. And I didn't have to go outside the hotel to smoke since they allowed people to smoke in the corridor. Down from the hotel there was a mall and a casino we could visit, so after we got tired of shopping and gambling, we didn't have to walk very far or get a bus or a monorail to go back to our room. The check out process was also as easy as the check in, it only took less than 5 minutes to check out using the check out kiosk.

Love this hotel, definitely gonna come back whenever I come to Genting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    861
    1,055
    286
    238
See reviews for
1,232
688
70
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Positive: Tower 1 level 5 standard room is clean and big enough for two persons. Superfast kiosk check-in and check-out. Very close to indoor theme park. Just take the elevator up. Stay was pleasant, quiet and peaceful. Soft pillows <3
Negative: No remote control for tv. Guess it's a good exercise to move and change channel in cold weather. Can only find towels, shower cap, two soaps and a bottle of shampoo. Toilet and shower room are airplane-sized, very small (well you get what you paid for). Hot and cold water dispenser are at the hallway.
Tip: If you'd like to have a wider choice of yummilicious Chinese dishes for dinner, you can go to Seafood Mushroom Farm Restaurant (9100). Go outside of the hotel lobby ground, where there is a lot of taxis and MPVs. Turn left. From Starbucks, walk straight down until you reach the bus area. A mini van (with 9100 label) will fetch you to the restaurant and send you back free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn1e_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went as part of a WTS 3D2N promo without breakfast. Was expecting a decent room but was kind of disappointed.

Room:
Our initial check-in room was a level 8 Quarter View (the supervisor had promised us there would be a nice view at the automatic check-in counter). We ended up facing the other side of the hotel. We had to go all the way back to request for a higher floor and nicer view. Make sure to ask for at least >20 floors with valley/mountain view right at the start. You most likely have to wait till 2-3pm but it's worth it!

We eventually got a level 21 Mountain View, which was much better. However the room (especially curtains) smelt of smoke which took quite a few hours of open windows to ventilate. Was a little shocked by only ceiling fan and no aircon, but we realised aircon wasn't needed at all. No cupboards too, just some hangers. There are very basic amenities like a safe, VERY SMALL TV (which wasn't working), fridge, kettle and hair dryer.

We also found some lizard droppings under our pillow on the last day (yucks!). Not sure when it actually got there.

Service:
The staff processed our room change request without complaint, and the chambermaids were accommodating too. However, we were extremely puzzled by the reluctance of the information counter to help us call the Mushroom Farm Restaurant (how tough can it be?). This gave us a not-so-good impression, because they had no public phones to call from!

Food:
We didn't try the hotel breakfast as we opted to have brunch everyday to save money. Food everywhere is expensive. The more decent ones were Hou Mei at the indoor theme park, Kopitiam at Level 2B. There's also Ah Yat afternoon dim sum if you have a higher budget.

Our personal favourite is the Mushroom Farm zi char, which is really affordable and fairly good. You can take the white van from the bus terminal (they come at regular intervals during dinner times). But BEWARE, there are actually two restaurants there. Make sure to take the 9100 van (printed red words on the windows) which is the original Mushroom Farm Restaurant. We got tricked and were directed to the other one. The food is ok and price reasonable too, but we had really wanted to try the original one.

Amenities:
As mentioned, everything is expensive, so come prepared. There's no wifi at all. We found the Genting Highlands hotel Starbucks to have the most reliable wifi. There's also no public phones.

Attractions:
We were unable to visit the Mushroom Farm, as it closes at 530pm. The grocery store at the mushroom farm closes at 6pm, and I think they probably sell groceries cheaper than the convenience stores (we reached after 6 and cannot verify). The cineplex is fairly new and quite cheap too.

Conclusion:
Genting pretty much has nothing to do, unless you are there for R&R or gambling. We were lucky to have a Tangs clearance sale which let us do quite a fair bit of shopping. Make sure to request for a high floor with good view, and visit the mushroom farm restaurant!

Room Tip: Ask for high floors with good views (they have non-smoking too). It's worth the wait! Visit the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Jakarta
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed there last week for 2 nights during the year end holiday, and it was very crowded. Stayed in Tower 2 room # 8818 not too nice as located far on the back and close to the generator so very noisy especially at night.

The room is quite big rather than the Tower 1 rooms. They have safety deposit box, tea/coffee facility, hair dryer in room so very nice. They set up the twin beds as hollywood style; put the two of them together so can fit for 3 adults. Room & bathroom are clean and well maintained!

From Tower 2 to the plaza is quite a far walk, there's a closeby 24-hr 1 meter cafe selling porridge, friend rice, snacks, juices with better price than others. Everything in Genting is very pricey, you can spend at least RM 15 per meal for just a chicken rice or wantan mee, and the taste is so so. There's a better foodcourt on Level 2B, Selera Medan Kopitiam with various of foods; Chinese food; Thai food, Vegetarian food, Claypot, etc with better price than on the 1st level of First World Plaza. Try the vegetarian resto there, their fried rice is great @ RM10.

Overall is quite okay if you'd like to enjoy the cool breeze and the theme parks, don't stay more than 2 nights there, you'll get bored.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtnas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This Hotel was my First holiday with my buddies..The service were good all staff were polite
We were at level 21 if i am not wrong..
I had a good stay in Genting and my holiday was so cold..

We will be back To Genting and this Hotel is at my Top list.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumiadam1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel First World also known as 'The Resort World' in Genting, Malaysia is one of the must visit places. Aside from the hotel, it has a 'theme park' inside of the hotel itself. Anyway, the rooms are small but really nice and no need of air conditioned because of the cold temperature outside. The room can accommodate from 4-5 guests. The buffet breakfast is great! The staffs are really costumer-friendly/oriented. They're always smiling at the guests despite of hundreds of people checking in. If you're looking a place to eat in a cheapest way there's a food court, if a place to entertain with your kids there's a indoor and outdoor theme park and for 'rich people' there's also a casino. if a place to have some coffee, there's a Starbucks branch and a lot more. If you want to go in other places of Malaysia, the bus terminal is just a walk away from the hotel. I assure you that you will have fun at The Resort World Genting. Terima kasih (Thank you)! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank officialFLOREDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemencheh, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Rooms are small but very comfortable , cosy and you feel at home. Staffs are great - they are smiling all the time , helpful and friendly. This is still going to be my choice for lodging if my family is returning to Genting for another holidays.

Room Tip: It would be better not to get a room facing the other building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 628Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
103 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
15.9 mi away
Smile Hotel @ Wangsa Maju
Smile Hotel @ Wangsa Maju
#225 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Property: First World Hotel
Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing