We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel on the hills”
Review of First World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First World Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed July 3, 2012

excellent hotel but same problem of check in i got my room at 4.30pm we were on dpauls tour but problem is same all over malyasia. Positive things about hote:

excellent location via cable car
great atmosphere since indoor theme park is within this hotel
access to full genting heaven
moreover we got jain food there in dinner as well as in b'fast
water dispenser in floors

negative point
tv in the room as per not standards
room size is little bit on the lower side

Room Tip: go for club room not delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puneet0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,908 - 1,914 of 2,929 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

a very very basic hotel with rooms that have just enough room for a double bed. If you have a lot of luggage, there is not even enough space to keep the same. The food is the saving grace along with the casino which is great fun. The hotel reception and lobby looks like a train station with crowd moving about 24 hours.

Room Tip: Get a room in the first tower to escape a lot of walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had heard a lot about the place but the experience wasnt as great.... the stay arrangements are pretty OK but the food is lousy. The bathrooms and stay area is very small for a family visit. They do not provide even the basic need items. the only benefit of staying in this hotel is that the indoor theme park is situated inside this hotel. all the restaurants are also easily accessible. But there are much better places to stay in rather than this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank pritimayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I should have read your reviews before I went and then I may have been prepared for the vast size of First World Hotel but I hadn't so I wasn't at all prepared for the fact that it has 6,100 rooms. On arrival we had to take a number and then we were told that we would need to wait for about one hour to check in at one of the 39 check in desks!!! My look of horror must have prompted a reaction as we were 'fast tracked' and checked in in about 15 minutes although our room wasn't ready (it was about 5pm) so we had to go off for an hour and returned to be given the key to our room. This delay may have been due to the fact that it was school holiday time in Malaysia and I think that Genting Highlands is a very popular area for families to go to for a holiday, but reading other reviews I think it may be as busy throughout the year.
The room was fine for the price and the food provided throughout the resort seemed to be of the fast food type although it wasn't particulary inexpensive compaired to other food we had eaten in Malaysia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Been a good traveller and experiencing all the goods and bads.. i tell you for a casino hotel.. its pathetic.. Here are the pros and cons from my perspective.

Cons
They are really small.. especially the bathrooms.
Do not expect any toiletries nor the basic essentials like water to be in the room.
The carpets are dusty but the beds are not bad.
Casino is pathetic... i felt like they spread a carpet and put the gambling games on top of it.
Check in takes ages... if not booked under your name
Bar's are ridiculous
You dont get food 24x7 nor alcohol
They dont let you into most of the place wearing a shorts, nor slippers


Pro's
Easy access to theme park
Cheap
Everything is there in the same hotel
Buffets is good... especially breakfast.

Thats about it... I wouldnt stay there again.. but if you are looking for a budget budget hotel.. you can go for it... Not bad in that case.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tantrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were in Genting during first week of May-12. We were part of a group tour.
So decision or choice of hotel was not ours. The tour leader told us to pack a separate small bag to be taken to Genting.
We were wondering why so? Thought we might have to walk a lot there.
But then we came to know that the rooms at this hotel are really small and it would be difficult to accomodate and carry big size bags there.
We were really thrilled when we heard that this hotel has 6118 rooms in all.
When we reached the hotel, it was very confusing to see the lot of counters and lots of people hanging around.
But since we were in the group, the check-in was easy. They have lot of counters for check-in and out.
The whole hotel is pretty big. So you feel as if you are actually moving out of 1 hotel and going to another 1. We reached the area of our rooms after going up n down through many escalators. Lot of sections and escalators everywhere.
The rooms are really small and cramped , but since were supposed to be there only for 1 night, it was ok.
There was a double bed, a writing table with mirror, a small TV and hot water kettle in the room.
There is no room service or drinking water provided. You have to fetch water from the common water dispensers kept at each floor near the elevators.
The bathroom can barely occupy a person for shower. No place for clothes /towels. No other bathroom accessories provided.
It gets pretty chilled in the night, so didn't bother much about checking AC or fan.
Didn't get a chance to explore other hotels in Genting.
But if you are planning to stay for just 1-2 nights, this is not a bad place.
At least the utility stores, restaurants and most importantly the indoor/outdoor theme park is very close by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAS_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

a very average hotel. the only benefit of staying in this hotel is that the indoor theme park is situated along with this hotel. all the restaurants are also easily accessible. the casino of this hotel was also very good. but the rooms were very average to stay. very basic. there are much better hotels to stay when in genting other than first world. the looks of the hotel from outside just makes it look good. but have to appreciate the way they control the 6000 rooms in this hotel, which makes them the world's biggest hotel with 6000 rooms. hats off to the management. overall an OK hotel.

Room Tip: rooms were very normal. the basic amenities were not easily available. have to ask for everything. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 12 in Genting Highlands
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 12 in Genting Highlands
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 12 in Genting Highlands
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 12 in Genting Highlands
118 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
2.1 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#7 of 12 in Genting Highlands
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First World Hotel

Address: Resorts World Genting, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $18 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world's largest hotel First World Hotel is adjoined to the First World Plaza, which boasts 500,000 sq feet of indoor theme park, shopping centre and food galore. A lush, grand tropical rainforest greets guests at the main entrance of the First World Hotel, followed by a spacious Spanish courtyard lobby. All rooms are comfortably furnished with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st World Hotel
First World Genting Highlands
Hotel First World

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing