We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mouldy room, lousy food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mouldy room, lousy food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

It wasn't our first choice as we went during peak season and Genting Resort hotel was fully booked. I thought with a 5* rating, Awana Genting should be quite a grand hotel, if not clean and comfortable.
It didn't spoil our mood though check-in was slow and the staff wasn't a tad friendly. What we didn't expect was the mouldy and foul smell that welcome us when we entered the room. The rest of the day was spent scratching all over our bodies, not sure it's due to the bedsheet or the poor air quality.
Don't go to any of the restaurant if you can, food sucks big, the Rajawali Restaurant serves mainly spicy food that wasn't cater to kids. Fish stinks and all the ingredients were far from fresh.
1 thing good about the hotel is they provide hourly shuttle bus to the Skyway ( cable-car to Genting highland) and complimentary Skyway tickets.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabitinocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    285
    212
    79
    71
See reviews for
363
204
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

The hotel is very nice and the condos even nicer! The condo is a combination of a bedroom wih attached bathroom, the Living Room alongwith a pantry and a balcony overlooking the Golf Course. The staff is very friendly, warm and helpful. The Golf course is lush green and pretty indeed.

The hotel provides complimentary bus services to the Cable Station for a ride to the highlands! For people who enjoy Cable Car rides it is fun but those who dont must choose to stay in the Highlands only so they dont have to ferry up the highlands and back twice a day... Although I loved it... my wife hated it!!! Lesson for the next time...

The Breakfast Buffet was excellent and the restaurant had a huge gathering of happy people enjoying their first meal!!!

Overall a great experience and will surely like to stay there again!!!

  • Liked — Locality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shiv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

For starters this is NOT a Five Star hotel. Check in was at around 2-3pm. We arrived at 5 and our rooms where not ready. They booked us into rooms with no Air Conditioning (Five Star??) The staff were not helpful at all and wanted us to basically go away. We had to people sick and the lobby and there was no where to sit and relax except the floor. when we finally checked in (3 rooms) One had a lop sided bed, another had NO hot water at all and the other had no towels, soaps ect.. No food or drinks in the mini bar, you had to order it and there was a minium, again 5 Star?? We were so tied we stayed the night, went down for breakfast, it was terrible and the hair in our food was not appreciated. We had booked for 4 nights, we basically packed up our bags and threw the keys at them. This was the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. We then went in checked into Maxims at the Casino, now that is 5 Star. AMAZING!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything - Staff & Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shepo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

Stayed at Awana Genting for 2 nights. Preferred to stay a short drive from the theme park (which along with the casino is the main reason most folks visit Genting) and this turned out a good choice.

Hotel is a reasonable 4-star outfit. Most areas are well maintained apart from the multi-storey carpark. Restaurant was good value for money. Staff were reasonably helpful but not always attuned to guests. Rooms are spacious, nothing major to complain with 2 double beds in the deluxe rooms.

Drove up to the theme park - hotel has a shuttle bus to cable car but it all seemed too slow.

Overall it depends what you want - if peace and quiet then Awana, if a happening bustling place then one of the hotels around the theme park is better.

  • Liked — Value for money, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Slightly indifferent staff, nothing major but could be more approachable & friendly
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2008

I went to Awana Genting a few weeks ago with about 20 family members for 2D1N. We booked 2 double deluxe rooms & an apartment in total. We had decided to stay at Awana which was midway up to be away from the hustle and bustle of Genting Highlands.

The first impression I got from the hotel was that it was aging as the building and its facilities looked old and is in need of some upgrading and renovations. The check-in counter was not like other hotels, usually situated right beside the lobby but was quite a distance away. It took us a few minutes to get there from the lobby! As we brought along a lot of food and stuff, we had pretty heavy luggage and thus we were dragging our feet to the check-in counter. I was wondering, where were the bellboys/staff who were supposed to help us with our baggage with the trolleys?

Check-in was quite fast – took about 5 minutes. We were really happy and thankful when the front office staff told us that our 2 deluxe rooms were ready, although it was only 12.30pm and the standard check-in time was 3pm. However, when we reached our rooms, one of it was still occupied! We opened the door to find the room in a total mess and 2 Korean tourists One of them was still in the shower and the other moving about the room! This is the worst impression any hotel can give me. Being part of the hospitality and tourism industry, I understand that it is vital for the housekeeping and front office staff to coordinate and ensure the rooms are cleared and cleaned before they are deemed as available to any guests who are checking in. I was appalled at the sight and wondered why didn’t the front office manager check the room and approve of it before it could be sold to another guest? I had to call and ask for housekeeping staff while 20 of us had to settle in the next room uncomfortably. There were no apologies from staff whatsoever.

Secondly, staff’s instructions to the garden apartment were absolutely vague when it was really far away. She simply told us “go straight turn left” when it we had to go down several flights of stairs, get out of the hotel and walk a pretty long distance before we could get there. We were unable to find our apartment and attempted asking housekeeping staff (there were absolutely no other people around) and they all gave wrong directions! We took more than half an hour to locate our apartment and at the same time were really disappointed by the outlook of the whole row of apartments – they look extremely awful and sleazy despite the high price. By the time we reached our apartment we were all sweating like crazy. I didn’t know I could actually sweat in Genting!

Fortunately the apartment was pleasant. Nice view, pretty clean, with 3 presentable rooms & 2 Jacuzzis. The apartment had a mini kitchen for us to heat up food as well as a living room with sofas and a tiny television. The bad being the old, musty smell throughout the apartment and that the floor was sticky for some areas. The whole apartment had an antique feeling to it (in a good way though) and the balcony was a great place to relax. What I did not like about the rooms was that they didn’t have doors! Each room had sort of a partition door to be drawn across and there was a whole stretch of holes on top for ventilation. Thus, there was no privacy at all and every single word you say in the room can be heard throughout the house. However, the overall stay at the apartment was fairly good as it had a really relaxing environment.

There were shuttle buses to the cable car terminal and free passes for Awana hotel guests for the cable car. The disadvantage of not staying at Genting Highlands itself was that we had to rush back to take the last batch of cable cars leaving at 11 back to the terminal. It can be quite terrible if you were in the midst of fun (like what happened to us!). Finally, check-out was relatively fast and hassle-free. All-in-all, I would say that my stay at Awana was only ok, due to the problems we faced. I definitely will not go back to the hotel for another stay unless the facilities are upgraded.

  • Liked — Relaxing and cooling surroundings, great view
  • Disliked — Efficiency and coordination of staff, old building, average rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

We went to Genting and Kl for the Raya Idul Fitri 2008/ Oktober 1'2008. We went with our kids 6 and 4 years old. Never been to Genting before, so I spend nights browsing the review especially for the hotels. The Gentings hotels were all fully booked and only First world hotel have availability with price that is so so so expensive!!!

We were convinced that Awana will be the best choice because the distance looked quite near n fun to travel to Genting with the gondola.. great surrounding (not noisy like genting highland resort, said some people) and the breakfast much better ( very important for a family with litlle kids, It was true).

The first thing we find difficulty was going there from the airport.. it was quiet expensive by taxi and far....then we saw it, Awana.. OLD! No 5stars hotel..just an old hotel at the mountain.... Thats our first impression.. hopefully it was better inside since some latest reviews said so....

When we got inside Awana hotel, again we couldn't shaked that disappointed feeling of the hotel looked... its old, just like the 80's hotel... big corridor but old. Then for checked in we have to wait in line for 45minutes STANDING.. with kids. Only 2persons doing the checked in and later came the 3rd person helping.. still 45 minutes standing.. the hall was big enough to put 10 sofas or 50 chairs.. but no, they want us to stand in line... interesting! The kids of course got cranky (there were lots of them there) run everywhere and cry, it made us so grumpy since no where to sit.. yes there were 2-3 sofa but with hundreds of guests it's a luxury to find one empty sit. It was a big holiday time for the Muslim people we understand that but still hotel business supposed to prepare for holidays right?? Awana hotel need more staff, sofas at the check in area and a little more modern way of checked in, like: let guests take a number to queu instead standing in line and sit comfortable while enjoying cool air until the staff ready to call them??? I guess need a genius to figure that up.

Finally we get to our room.. no AC in the room just fan, weather was nice. We were worry it's not cold enough at night, which we were wrong. The room temperature was good and cool enough to make us use blanket.. Room size is big.. beds were big.. clean sheet, bathroom is clean.. new renovated we think... but didn't work since it was clogged. We called downstairs and amazingly nice manager/staff( Phui See?) helped us in minutes to change our room next to our first room. The new room was the same but the bathroom worked better.. still the washtafel was clogged a little so you can not run the water more the 2 minutes!! not even enough time to wash your face..

Now for the rate we got, it was okay.. but for 5 star hotel??? hmmm 5 star at the 80's maybe.. the amenities more like the 3 stars hotel... yes it clean but there were only 2 bathtowels no bathroom rug, no hand towels, but thank God the bathtowels at least clean and white.

Transportation to Genting highland was a problem.. not big problem but problems since we didn't come for outdoor mountain holiday.. we prefer the amusement park.. and gambling for my husband. So everyday we have to wait for the free bus(at least its free) to the gondola station.. wait in line for 45 minutes at the gondola, ride it to Genting highland(nice view, nice ride, not to bad actually since the line was slowly flow without really stop too long) but still 45minutes waiting in line!

Once we got to Genting Highland we understand we should not stayed at awana... it's too much trouble to stay at awana n play at Genting Highland with 2 little kids!!

Anyway we had fun.. transport late at night back to Awana hotel was free by bus.. wish there was a free bus at day time from Awana to Genting Highland direct..

So overall Awana was okay, free Gondola passed and bus, and specially the smile of Phui See, the front manager made us withdrawed our complined..

But still, nex time we will stay at Genting highland area... not the FIRST WORLD HOTEL maybe (beautiful amazing lobby but full of people sit and sleep on the floor j24 hours!!! just like an elite camp refugee) it's SCARY actually.. and when u see the bedroom, you will understand that It was aN ELITE CAMP REFUGEE indeed...

However the location was right..right..right... convenience. Yes, the breakfast I heard so bad but lots of restaurants to dine and so much to do for everybody..

As for AWANA HOTEL... It's good for those who loves quiet place and outdoor activities... good for people who wants to get away from the cities.. but thats all... NOTHING 5STARS... and again bad amenities in the bathroom!! It's AN 80'S HOTEL, clean one though... guess you have to set your priority before decide to stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — Room size n bed
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chinggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi - Pakistan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

I was on my honeymoon trip and this being my third destination after visiting Singapore and Kuala Lumpur. The hospitality of the hotel was superb. We really felt welcomed. The hotel lobby was really big and even though the hotel was almost fully booked, we never felt that way. A really amazing place to stay for the honeymooner's. Our room was really spacious with 2 king size bed's. The room was very clean as well as the washroom. We had a small balcony from which on the left we had a view of the Golf Resort, looking down we could see the swimming pool and if we looked straight, the GENTING HIGHLANDS. We were provided with the Genting Skyway passes absolutely FREE as well as round trip transfers which used to come and go every 15 mins. The room never required any airconditioning or a FAN, as the weather was really CHILLY, we had to close the windows as well as the balcony door My stay was really 2 THUMBS UP! would surely return to stay over here.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Receptionist
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Khizerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
2.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
1.9 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Property: Awana Hotel
Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing