We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4 Star hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a 4 Star hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have booked Deluxe Room, but due to non-availability they have upgrade to 1 Room condo free of cost.
But there was power maintenance in Hotel so it complete Shutdown for 2 two hours each day, I have to climb up and down seven floor for both days.Second day i have carried my luggage also with me during checkout. Hotel will be dark during power shutdown No emergency light you need to use your own source to find your room or in staircase. Here and there some candle are lit up. Not not in corridor

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prakash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    284
    211
    79
    71
See reviews for
362
203
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was there on 7th July 2013 with my friends for having a Hi tea ,terrible happen went i ordered chicken wings the waitress told me not ready then we asked for pasta also not prepared yet .One of my friend ordered chicken parmigiana and drumstick with pasta ..the answer is not prepared yet ...so I'm just questioning Resorts World Awana such a 4 star hotel but have the bad service especially for dining .Assume that other foreigner came there and the same experience happen so it will make bad expectation for our country ..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Having a chance to stay here for 3 days 2 night for biz plan was a great opportunity to explore this well known old hotel resort but yet still reliable to stay. Security and cleanness is acceptable.

Lots of variety food with great taste make we gonna drop by again to enjoy the food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveZal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great location great weather great retreat for family or team building. Only 1 point for improvement. Ensure that the management does well maintenance of the place n it will be the greatest vacation retreat spot.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahm3itravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my third time staying at Awana Genting. Upon checking, the reception told me that I was assigned to the10th floor (reception floor is on the 7th floor, therefore 10th floor is like 3rd floor).
I insisted for higher floor but they said that the higher floor would not have side by side rooms. I insisted to wait and have higher floors. It "amazed" me that within 5 minutes I was given 21st floor and side by side rooms. It made me strongly believes that they have the room but refuse to release.
The higher floors really gave us a great view; swimming pool, partial of golf and overlooking the Genting hotels.
As I stayed here before, I did not expect much from the room as long as they are clean. The room was clean. The toilet heater were a bit tough to adjust.
The temperature was not as cooling as before, nevertheless it is still not necessary to turn on aircon.
The food was the same. Nothing much change. I think the service was slightly improve.
We played squash and badminton. We were really disappointed with the sportscentre maintenance. It seems they had zero maintenance. There was plenty of dust at the squash and badminton courts. Especially the squash courts, it was dusty and slipperly.
We had quite an enjoyable stroll at the golf course.
We were quite disappointed to know that after Resort World took over Awana Genting, we have to pay for the cable car rides. The shuttle bus was quite puntual.
It is a must try to eat the cakes offered at the cafe. The cake was really big and value for money.
It cost about RM5.00 per piece.
If you want to have a nice meal, go to Goh Tong Jaya. I was so delighted to find out that there was a Korean Restuarant. It was authentic as the owner was Korean.
The reason that I chose to stayed at Awana was because it was not crowded and I loved walking around the golf course. It was also a bonus that it was easy to travel to Goh Tong Jaya.
Hope that Awana will refurnish and improve the quality of the sports facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SerinChng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed for two nights as my company organized a seminar here. It was thoughtful of my company to do that as it was a very pleasant. Yes, you might read that some are complaining this and that but remember this is a highland resort and yes do expect some birds to harass your sanitary value. Apart from that just open your heart and put aside the negative vibes you would appreciate the hotel surrounding. The Rajawali dining room is just superb as you could enjoy your meal while watching a very scenic view of the golf course...and if you are into nature things why not take a stroll and enjoy some bird watching. If you want to stay here just a tip from me..if you want to view Genting Hill request room facing East..mine was on 26 th floor and it was good !

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SuhaimiKuantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Better don't stay home than staying in line to check in and check out
For shutter us to go to amusement park long que, if no sit than get insulted by bus driver to get out of bus
Better stay at home
No veg food for lunch and dinner
No options
Buy sandwich at higher price
Waiter makes mistake on your account you pay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnagodra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
2.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.0 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Genting View Resort
Genting View Resort
#7 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Property: Awana Hotel
Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing