We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during a visit to Genting. Nice quiet location about 10-15 minutes drive from the top of the mountain. A free shuttle bus to the First World Hotel is available every hour, which was very useful as you avoid having to search for parking up the top. The Awana cable car is nearby also.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and attentive. The included buffet breakfast was good - a variety of foods are available to suit all tastes. Had dinner at the Flavours Cafe which was tasty and also reasonable value. Golf course looks nice, although we didn't play, and there is also nice pool with a water slide for smaller kids.
No complaints whatsoever from us, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzDennyCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 857 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

We came here under Vacation Club, instead staying in the tower hotel, we stayed at the Vacation Resort just next to the tower.
The room is clean, spacious, very suitable for family stay, with two bed rooms, one living room, two bath rooms with one Jacuzzi among them as well as one kitchen.
Overall our stay was enjoyable, since we stayed here almost every year.
The only problem is the location, which is a bit further then the top attraction. The hotel seems having a bit of financial difficulty, with many of their outdoor activity cancelled, most recent is the cancellation of their free skyway service.
Other than that the place is good, recommend it. :)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarryGanWeiLer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Went for a family trip to Genting and made an online booking through booking.com. Let me start with my experience step by step.

Booking - That was simple since handled through the website.
Location - No clear directions on the website. Since we were traveling first time to KL, we never knew our way up to this place and had to spend some time discovering a cheaper mode of transportation. The ones at the KL airport were a rip off. Location of the property is acceptable given its price. Though with the Skyway not working, the location was a huge disappointment.
Check in - PATHETIC. The reception was staffed with 3 trainees - NO ONE ELSE. Staff did not know how to speak properly in English - and whatever we could fathom were unclear responses/ mumbles. Above all, the staff could not trace my booking and needed a copy of the booking I had (and viola, they found it). Insisted that they need to retain my copy of the booking.com printout - which looked utterly stupid. (Mind it - my credit card was already charged for the stay a week prior to my arrival).
Room Allocation - A Huge Disappointment. No special attention was given to the fact that despite mentioning in the booking that we are celebrating our wedding anniversary, Not receiving any welcome on the check in was not a surprise - the allocation of the room was even worse. Despite reserving a large suite, the location of the room within the property was probably the worst. The room was not in the tower but in the old building, which according to the check in staff houses all the expensive suites. On opening the door, there was a distinct smell inside the suite. We have to ask them to use some air freshner.
INTERNET - Despite checking into a large SUITE which was more expensive than other rooms, there was no internet in the room (and negates the hotel claim on its website). Neither is wireless internet available for the suites. You can only use it in the lobby (wireless) and that too has number of users restrictions.
The ROOM - The bed was a twin (rather than the requested double/ king). Bathroom is old and badly appointed. Shower stall is unnecessarily huge with a handheld shower in the corner (dont know why). Sanitary ware was sub standard. The provided amenities were of sub par quality. Had to use our own. The bedroom was ok but quality of furniture was average. No safe deposit box in the whole suite (again negating the claim on the website). The suite had a kitchenette with only an electric kettle and NO Microwave. I wonder what you do with the electric stove if you do not have utensils. Not a single utensil or a cutlery item in the room. Television was too small as against the size of the suite. Though there was a dish antenna on the balcony, the only channels being received were free to air which werent many. This is simply unthoughtful since if you are living in the middle of nowhere, atleast you need some choice of channels after evening to keep you busy (specially when there is no internet in the room). In the late hours, there was a sqeaking sound in the suite bearing striking resemblance to the old wooden homes.
Breakfast - Buffet B/F was included in the room in the Rajwari Restaurant. Very average. Very poor service. What shocked us was the fact that the people serving us were the same who checked us in a day prior and were back at the same desk at 12 noon. Incidentally I happened to peep inside the kitchen. Following that peek, I really did not want to proceed with the breakfast with the levels of hygiene witnessed. Also, on the serving tables, the fresh cut fruits had flies feasting on them
Meals - We were so tired last night to go out that we decided to have a meal inside the hotel. Back to Rajwari. Dinner was nice and reasonably priced. At the time of bill payment, we were informed that we cannot charge the room since the check in staff forgot to take an imprint of my credit card at check in for incidentals. Paid in cash and left.
Overall facility - The shuttle service to Genting HIghlands though prompt but is on very long intervals with useless timings. If people cannot stand in the bus, the frequency should be increased to accomodate the hotel guests. Also, the Hotel is located downhill. There was no information brochure in the room to advise people to carry warm clothing when visiting the theme parks as temperatures drop suddenly. I could see lot of hotel guests with small children complaining about the same. On the return, one would be scrambling to find a cosy spot in the hotel (since everything is open air) except the hotel room. But then again, if you have to use internet in the open lobby, you have to live with it. The temperature guage near the reception was showing the temperature near the check in counter rather than the outside temperature.
Check out - Now comes the worst part. At check out, be sure to arrange a cab in advance since the hotel is not frequented by cab drivers (licensed) looking for passengers. Anyway, at the time of check out, alongwith the trainees, a staff was there (MIZZA) - extremely discourteous. When we approached the desk to check out, she asked some trainee to see how to check out a guest. After a good 2 mins (which included a lot of training and undo and redo i guess), i was told - you can go. Quite insulted on being treated like a guinea pig, I asked for the final bill. I was told we do not give any if the booking is made by booking.com and if i wanted one, only they can give. On my indication that booking.com is only a service provider and you are the one who have charged my card and i need a receipt, she drew a blank and in half-broken English tried to explain to me that I (being a banker) do not know how the credit card billing in a Hotel works.

During my entire stay, I never encountered anyone senior enough so just left in disgust. The whole place seems to be running on Auto Pilot. I have really traveled quite extensively all over the world and this is undoubtedly the worst experience in a Hotel ever. (or hold it - is it a Hotel ? The feeling i got was that it was just a golf course which wasnt performing well financially - they just decided to add a few rooms (which they later called suites). Eventually on realising that the rooms are generating some revenue they built the tower).

Room Tip: Stay away. If you cant (like us - because everything else was booked), do not get lured into the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We went on a family trip and stayed here for 2 nights.

We took room in the tower block. The room offers a good view overlooking the golf course but the rooms were quite average in terms of cleanliness and maintenance. It would be good if the refurbished the rooms as there is a musty smell probably due to the aged carpet.

The Rajawali restaurant in the hotel offers good buffet breakfast.

Kids might enjoy the pool area which is a bit small but has a slide for the younger ones.

Due to the elevation of this hotel there is always a cool breeze even in the lobby area even without AC.

The hotel is also close the cable car service which provides and easy access to Genting Highlands.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveNLetLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

rooms are very big..we booked two condo rooms(two rooms connected by each other)..big bathroom,bedroom,tv viewing area,kitchenette,and a balcony on each room...it was clean..but the whole awana is smelly i would say not very much but some smell is always there...food was a bit expensive...luch was about 40RM for a person in rajawali restaurant(buffet)..but extensive..breakfast was not bad.you get two bottles of mineral water as complimentary if over you can buy it from a nearby shop for about 3RM for 1.5ltrs i think..the internet server was down during my stay...dont get wifi in rooms have to go to the lobby for that...don't forget to ask for the breakfast and skyway coupons..also dont forget to checkout the golf course...overall i would say its good...

Room Tip: get a condo room if you are a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitintnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and the room that was given to us was a big and very spacious and clean. The food was quiet average and not so good. There are no lockers in the rooms for the guests to keep their stuff in. But one can get a locker at the reception. The location of the hotel is quiet far away from the One world theme park.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anurag29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

after reading many adverse remarks abt this hotel i was worrying to stay after making the booking, but to my surprise it was a very pleasent stay for us but few things i like to share with the guests who wants to stay here, i booked condomium room with kitchen but to my surprise in kitchen utensils and crockery were not provided so the guests should bring there own utensils if they like to cook. the distance between awana and genting theme park is abt 7 kms and they provide free shuttle service in every hour to sky walk and theme park and providing free up and down tickets for cable car so staying in awana we never missed the genting casino and theme park activitis. we were indian vegetaian and in breakfast they provided indian veg pakoras upama or dosa. in menu they have indian veg. items. the room has a balcony and the view is excellent from the balcony over all if i have to stay in genting i shall prefer to stay in awana for peace and calm as well as injoying genting activities.the tv service was very poor and hardly 4 channels can be seen clearly and they were all locals on international news or intertainment channls were provided.

Room Tip: stay in condomium rooms from where view is excellent and very little walk for lobby or restauranrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnsaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
2.5 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
291 reviews
2.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#6 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,973 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#5 of 11 in Genting Highlands
119 reviews
4 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
1.9 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $74 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Awana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing