We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serviceable, but not a holiday destination” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Serviceable, but not a holiday destination”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel, all 27 floors of it, is fine if you want a clean bed for the night, minimum fuss, unexciting food, cheap price. It's a serviceable place. A place to dump your bags and go out which is what the vast majority do. There are free shuttle buses up to the casinos, posher hotels, Arena of Stars, theme parks, shops etc. Though not very frequent - half hourly to hourly. Also included are complimentary tickets for the 15 minutes skywalk ride which is fun/frightening depending on how much you like being taken above the forests in a cable car. Book via the internet way cheaper.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views aim as high as you can. Of course they also have the clouds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    285
    212
    79
    71
See reviews for
363
204
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Hi,
The hotel was great with huge rooms. My room had a lobby with the room. But i think the hotel is very old and the rooms very a little smelly. Otherwise the resort was beautiful. There is a free shuttle to the city from the hotel.

Location is a factor because the city ( where all the fun happens) is 30 mins away.

The breakfast buffet was nice too

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal5988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

checked into awana as all hotels on top ( main genting ) were full. the rooms looked quite old . the buffet dinner spread was very nice but the downside is that they stop refiliing the counter as early as 9.30 pm. there is a shuttle bus to go to the casinos but i suggest to stay on top rather than in awana although they have a shuttle service but thats every hourly and taxis cost as much as 20 myr for a one way trip. view from all the rooms is good as there are mountains on all sides

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeeshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We booked 4 rooms for family online. Got a pretty good bargain but when i called up the hotline to request for rooms on the same floor was told that it can only be arranged upon check in. Got rather upset when the customer service personnel kept insisting that it cannot be arrange. So called the hotel directly and got the issue settled.
Arrived Awana about 12pm and was told check in time is 3pm which we understand so were told to check in first but collect the room keys after 3pm after the rooms are cleaned. The check in counter were manned by a few trainees and they were not very conversant in English and they are not sure of the procedures.

So we went out for lunch and strawberry picking and etc. When we got back about 3.45pm only 2 rooms were ready and the third room is being cleaned. Disappointed because we only got the other 2 rooms about 4pm and because the cleaning was done in hurry it is not properly cleaned.
Generally the hotel looked old and the furnitures in the common place worn out. The highlight to the trip was the Skyway ride which was really enjoyable as the complementary tickets were given by the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lingkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Awana at Genting is 13 km by road or a ropeway life away from the main highlands attractions. The hotel provided free drop off and pick up by bus and also provides complimentary ropeway tickets.

The resort on the golf course has excellent views and is very green and quiet.

The rooms are a little dated and some worn out furniture but acceptable for the great price they offer. We had a room with a kitchenette but had no pots or cooking vessels provided. The hotel restaurant could only provide us with plates and bowls but no cooking vessels upon request which restricted us. The buffet breakfast is decent but can get crowded at times. They had free wifi only in lobby and restaurants.

The pool was under maintainance at this time so could not use it. No lockers in the room however the front desk has lockers on request for valuables.

We stayed two nights and overall the experience was good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRPMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Generally OK. They checked in other people (twice) to my room to my annoyance, which suggests the hotel doesn't have a very effective room management system. My room (on the lower 3rd floor) had zero WiFi & my mobile provider's signal was poor, so no internet for me unless I went to the Rajawali restaurant. The ambience was a bit "seen its best in the 80s" but I've been to worse. Stayed for 2 nights and had my breakfast/lunch/dinners in the same place, boring, but at least with nice views. A bit isolated, yet quite busy.

The multi-storey car park was a bit dumpy and had a colony of bats residing at its upper floors.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tym11600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed there for just one night... And it was unbelievable.... fantastic place, big rooms.. will visit you soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharshini I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
2.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
4.0 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Genting View Resort
Genting View Resort
#7 of 10 in Genting Highlands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Property: Awana Hotel
Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing