We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”
Review of Ria Apartment

Ria Apartment
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ria Apartment
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked our stay with Agoda, and since the other hotels we booked were quite good,we expected something similar-clean,comfortable and value for money.All the other hotels were fully booked for Go-Genting Day,and it was only for 1 night,but it was a nightmare. There was no office or sign for us to Check in to.We asked around at the laundry and were told to go up to an apartment,in an awful smelly corridor.The lady gave us a key for the apartment in the next building. there were no towels,no phone,and very old dirty bathrooms.We went back and she reluctantly gave us towels.
Later that night we noticed there were no top sheets for the smelly dirty blankets. We called a mobile number we had been given, and were sent a message asking us who we were and what we wanted.After texting repeatedly,a woman came up to the apartment with even more dirty quilts and no sheets.It was disgusting,and we did not sleep well at all in the cockroach infested apartment.We would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Do not go to this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kadambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 40 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went to this apartment on 5/11/12 with the whole class of Form 4 students. Expected to stay at First World hotel, then it was changed to Kayangan Apartment. I thought it was still OK, until when we arrived Genting, we got to know that we were actually going to stay at this Ria Apartment. I have read reviews on this apartment before hand and it creeps me out that I have to stay for a night.

We arrived at the apartment at 11 A.M and found out that our apartment is not ready yet. We put our bag in the office, then went straight to the theme park. We then returned to our apartment at around 11:45 P.M.

After we took our bag from the office, we went into the lift, suddenly, the elevator juddered. It stopped and was not going up or down for about 15 seconds. We were quite panic by then, The doors quickly open after that. Then... The lights in the elevator turned itself off. Was really scared that everyone in the lift managed to come out in less than 3 seconds.

Inside the apartment, there is ample amount of space, but all my friends slept in the living room, one of them told me that he woke up at 4 A.M and heard the sound of someone using the toilet, when everybody else is asleep.

But then, for the price it offers, it is quite good IF you go with more than 10 person in 1 apartment, it will not be that scary.

Room Tip: This apartment is known to be haunted, Do a Google search first and read all of the stories to know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Azlan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is one of the worst places I have ever lived in. The apartment is definitely huge and can accommodate alot of ppl but the place is creepy, dirty and smelly. The building is so eerie, the lifts are so old and d corridors smelt like urine. My family and i decided to stay there for a night since all the other hotels were fully booked. Initially I thought it wouldn't be too bad .. But i was so wrong. We checked in, paid rm 480 for a 3 bedroom apartment , paying that much you would expect some level of cleanliness.. But no.. The beds were so uncomfortable..the sheets had blood stain, the toilet sink was leaking and there were weird noises at night. My entire family of 6 did not sleep all night because we could here door slammings, we could here ppl talking and even the cars going up to the theme park at 3 am. It's was too noisy and creepy.I personally couldn't sleep as I could hear fireworks at 3-5 am and also heard someone moving the furniture. It is a very disturbing place. Do not stay there. Even the toilets are disgusting. It looks they have never cleaned d place in ages.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Travellar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I should have read the reviews at Tripadvisor before going and booking this apartment through Agoda. This apartment complex houses all the staff workers of Genting resort who are mostly bachelors. Though the apartment is quite huge but not maintained and looking run down. the lift lobby was stinking with garbage lying around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Shankar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Bad service
Dirty
Waste your money
Worst hotel in my life
I have no Idea Why famous website like Agoda allow this dirty apartment run business with them

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Iljimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed in the 5 bedrooms Penthouse level 22, 22418 on May12,2012.
This whole apartment block is really run down. The water heater in the master bath does not work. The blankets are so old and torn. The toilets are badly maintained. There is no TV in the hall. Please never book this Ria Apartments. The management must think how to renovate this whole building or better,keep this place OUT of your booking website.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank albert2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed there with my boyfriend and a couple of his colleagues for a night. I have absolutely NOTHING GOOD TO SAY ABOUT THIS PLACE. Don't even bother reading the rest of the reviews, it is not worth your time. Take it from me, it is horrible!

1. The hotel management decided to suddenly increase the price of the 3 bedroom apartment we rented from RM300 to RM600 (and they only told us this when we were checking in!). If we had known that it was going to be THAT EXPENSIVE, we would have opted for other better hotels. It is one thing to charge us more if we were walk ins, but we have made bookings for the apartment days ago! I mean its ridiculous! That's double the original price they quoted us! Since we only checked in at 10.30pm, we decided it was too late to find another place to stay so we just decided to stick with the plan.

2. it took them almost A WHOLE HOUR to check us in! Since the parking areas are only for guests, we had to wait until the check in is complete before the guards allowed us to enter the designated parking lots. So all the drivers and passengers of the 5 cars (yes, we went there with 5 different cars) had to wait in the car in the drizzling cold night, while waiting for the staff to finalize our check in.

3. The whole Ria Apartment grounds are as dodgy as hell. While waiting to be checked in, we even caught a fight between 2 of the security guards with one of the guests. I don't know what was the cause of the fight, but don't you think it is unprofessional to start a fight in front of other guests????

4. The parking area, lifts, corridors, and the apartment units itself was rundown and disgustingly dirty! Dimly lit with the occasional cockroaches and lizards roaming around the place. The toilet in our unit had puke on the toilet seats!!!!!!! The place was dusty and dirty. The furnitures (especially the sofas) were damp and old.

5. You can hear people crying/laughing/shouting hysterically all throughout the night. No peace at all!

Conclusion: AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.5 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#5 of 12 in Genting Highlands
2,933 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 12 in Genting Highlands
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 12 in Genting Highlands
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tumike Hotel
Tumike Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bentong
15 reviews
3.6 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
0.3 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 12 in Genting Highlands
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Apartment

Address: Block B, 14th Floor No 415 Ria Apartment, Selangor Tower, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Genting Highlands
Price Range: $69 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ria Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing